We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in a central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    100
    67
    87
See reviews for
21
63
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice and clean helpful staff good bar area with pool table shower and toilet were totally fine and our room was nice and clean and warm and amazing location near to all the good coffee shops and places you wanna go!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights and I definitely won't be going back. To start with the few positives, the hotel benefits from a very good location very close to Amsterdam Centraal station and on the edge of the red light district. But because of this location it means that the hotel is very noisy all the time. Our room was at the back of the hotel and the church bells were extremely loud. It is a good base for a short stay and quite cheap. However, the lady on reception was not welcoming at all and was not willing to look after our bags for a short while before we left Amsterdam. There are also very steep steps and no lift available. We stayed in a room for 8 people and the room only had 1 plug which is hardly ideal. There was an ensuite bathroom which was reasonably clean and had a good shower. The room was also extremely hot which was very strange due to it being January and very cold and windy outside. There was supposed to be internet available on computers in the bar which didn't work and wifi which was very sporadic and only accessible in the bar area. Overall, I'd only recommend this hotel is you have a very low budget and don't intend to spend a lot of time there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend, it is typical dutch style, lots of stairs so if mobility is a problem go elsewhere.

It was as clean as anywhere we have stayed for that money (140e for 2 nights), the location is so central to everything and 2 min walk from centraal station.

I would happily stay here again, there is a vending machine for snacks and a pool table and cheapish bar, the staff were all polite and allowed us to check in early.

I love Amsterdam and this trip was no different, we done lots of xmas shopping and being so close to everything it was not a problem to drop our new purchases off at the hotel, as my wife overdone the xmas shopping lol.

Thanks to all staff at the hotel, be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: lower floors = less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights, worst hostel ever, Hostel means hospitality, make a comfortable stay to guests, this woman on the reception is simple a bad host! she is not willing to help you with anything, she has bad attitude, and if you need help she will look at you with her palid annoyed face.
Look for something else, there are many hostels in the same area!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, as bad as hell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This was a really good option because it was in the center of Ámsterdam main city, closer to the coffee shops, the canals and the main train station, cheap prices like 11 euros per night, a little dirty but very useful if you want to make sightseeing, and have a good time, use key cards that are really useful if you are going in and out all day, has Internet in the 1st floor and a bar, highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Just stayed for a couple of days, very clean and basic. It is very warm in the rooms but as it was so cold outside it was perfect! Beware that even though it says no smoking, it really smells strongly of smoke!
If you need somewhere to stay for a couple of nights and you have a tight budget, I would recommend!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Budget Places and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.