We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place in Amsterdam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    84
    59
    79
See reviews for
19
57
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Most disgusting place I've ever been. We got bed bugs. So gross, I'm freaking out. Theres boogers wiped on every wall. The staff aren't friendly. Theres no kitchen or fridge so a bunch of our food went bad and it was hotter than hell even in mid-sept. I got this place because it was a good location but I failed to make the connection that this location meant either sleeping with the window open and listening to drunks screaming in the streets all night or close the window and melt. Ten thumbs WAAYY DOWN!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmi'el, HaTzafon, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked one room for 4 with private shower and toilet. We got this room while it is very very small and narrow,only one small window,no tv remote,only 2 electric sockets, no wi fi in room(only on the bar downstairs). The space between every pair of beds is 25cm(10inch) and it is not a joke,you move in room like if you were lame.Trust me, I was in my room only to have a shower and sleep, but why it supposed to be like in a prison cell?!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Na
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fairly basic but had everything you needed for a budget hotel. The price was good and was in a fantastic location which is why I've given 4 stars. Some of the staff could be a little cheerier though.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a rule of thumb i don't like writing reviews on hostels that i don't spend more then 3 nights at. This allows me to fully experience the hostel and not judge it too rashly if i were to have one bad experience on the first night.

I spent 4 nights at the Travel Hotel in Amsterdam in September 2014. The hostel is in a good location right next to the red light district however it lacks a social atmosphere which makes it harder to meet people outside of your own dorm.

The staff are reasonable. They aren't rude but they also don't make any attempt to make you feel more at home in the hostel and they didn't enquire as to whether this was my first time in Amsterdam and whether i wanted to know where the points of interest were.

Big warning there is no elevator in this hostel so if you have a heavy bag prepare to lug it up some typically dutch ladder like stairs.

The rooms themselves have a decent amount of space and the toilets are respectable. I stayed in a mixed 6 dorm with an ensuite and had no issues with storing luggage and accessing my belongings.

There is also a 10 AM check out so be aware, they will come up and get you.

Overall an average hostel with a great location but no atmosphere.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty rooms, unfriendly staff, dark place. I found rats in my bedroom and the front desk told me it was normal laughing at me. The atmosphere of the place is weird too, actually, I would say creepy. The smell of the place wasn't pleasant either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.