We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not great everything else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, not great everything else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is good, I was on the bottom floor in the ten bed dorm, the room felt like it ran out of clean/fresh air within 10 minutes of people being in it as it only had a very small window at one end of the room for ventilation. Then on the second night, I saw 2 mice running through the room, so that wasnt great either. After 2 nights of my 4 night stay I decided to move hostels, I stayed a bit further away, but the room upgrade was well worth it. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont pick one in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    83
    53
    73
See reviews for
19
55
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean beds very basic. Amazing location. The bells ring every 15 mins and you can hear them all through the night but it becomes bearable... The room was a triple room is was very small but very clean we stayed 4 nights and didn't have any problems. However they refused to hold our luggage for us on the last day but central station has lockers so it was fine :) good accommodation for a short stay EXCELLENT LOCATION.!!!!!

Room Tip: Very near to nightlife and centre good location but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent 4 nights here after reading the reviews i was a bit weery and low and behold fifth floor i was told as he handed me my room key laughing! The stairs really are a joke though this added to the fun id say however by the forth day they were getting a bit much but if this place is only to get your gead down like it was for us youll love it, location cant be beaten, staff were very friendly even gave us free towels which your ment to pay 2 euros at reception for, we were in a 4 bed dorm met some nice people here so if its just to get your head down and adventure this is defo the place to go well worth the euros just for the location!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Literally 10 minutes away from the train station and meters away from the Grasshopper, Baba & Stone's coffee shops other than that it's just your standard hostel. However if you go in a big group you could possibly end up sharing the same room rather than with random people, you can use a locker for 5 euros to rent the padlock or if you bring your then it's all good. Me and my friend stayed in a 10 people room which wasn't so bad apart from the showers smelling and when you get out of it you can smell the the body odour in the room since we went in August for 3 nights. Luckily we can tolerate a lot of things so it didn't bother us I'd definitely return there again though for its location. It took a while to check as there was only 1 member of staff at the desk as there were other people waiting and the staff were helpful on where to go on the map too :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had fun here because of the great location and the fact that Amsterdam is a friendly, fun, lively city, but it was certainly no thanks to the accommodation or staff at Travel Hotel. Wifi only available in downstairs area where there are limited seats and power sockets. Staff were overall not friendly or helpful at all, with some being downright rude. Rooms were hot and small and badly set up. Bathrooms were tiny and there was only one toilet and shower per two levels in most cases. No elevator and stairs were brutal and actually pretty dangerous in some areas. Awesome location, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the only good things this hostel was its perfect location for being in the centre of Amsterdam, and perhaps its bar... We were on the ground floor, and looking at reviews I'm quite grateful for that! Unfortunately we were right next to the bar, which meant quite a lot of noise, quite late.
We were in a 10 bed room - it was very cramped in there and should probably have 6 beds, perhaps 8 beds max. 10 people sharing one bathroom, one shower (technically 2 but one of the doors didn't lock - not ideal in a mixed room.) was too much as well.
The female blonde (Australian?) receptionist was quite rude. It rained one night the roof started leaking - it was literally pouring through the ceiling onto my friend's bed - fortunately a male receptionist found a different bed for my friend to move to.
Overall we felt this hostel was overpriced, for a poor service.

Room Tip: Horrible steep stairs but a noisy ground floor. Just find a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

One toilet between a whole floor of other small poky rooms.. Zero air conditioning any where.. Church bells going off every 15 minutes from 8.55am, leaving zero chance of any kind of lie in! The steepest stairs I've ever had to climb to get to our floor, it was like being in a lighthouse!

Then to top it off the miserable staff are arguably on Meth!

AVOID

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd Floor next to bathroom.. Don't stay up late because you will be up late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.