We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three and a half stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Lviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Three and a half stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I think that people greatly exaggerate the flaws of this hotel. Yes, if you're looking for 5 star accommodation, you won't get it here. But if you're looking for someplace to stay in the center of Amsterdam (and it really is as central as you can get), and you're not terribly fussy, you could do a lot worse. The location is 5 stars, the rooms are between 2 and 4 stars depending (at the end of the day, you're paying for somewhere to sleep, and that's what you get), and the atmosphere is 3 or 4 stars; people and staff are friendly, and there is a friendly feeling to the whole place. Yes, you may have to climb stairs. Yes, there is dust under the bed. No, there's no room service or ensuite jacuzzi. But if you're not terribly precious about such things, it's a pretty good deal. I wouldn't call myself the most die-hard when it comes to living conditions, and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    84
    53
    74
See reviews for
19
55
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've never wrote a review before but felt I had to on this occasion. I saw a lot of bad reviews and was dubious of my visit but it turned out to be perfect!
Location was incredible, in the centre of everything! 24 hour bar, pool table , clean beds!
Yes the rooms are small but it's amsterdam, how much time you gonna be spending in your room?
Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here Easter weekend, the Hotel/Hostel was better than expected after reading some of the reviews on here! The room was pretty basic but spacious, bunk beds, television, lockers and thankfully we had our own bathroom. Overall the room was very clean with clean towels! What more do you expect for the price! All the staff was helpfully and polite! The bar was cosy and served cheap alcoholic drinks, which was perfect before going out on a night. Would definitely stay here again with friends as the location of the hotel is perfect in the centre or everything which was surprising for the price!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

They charged more money than it was, no room service even that they make u pay 5 extras when u get there, very dirty, not towels, the bed was broken, they had mice or rats not sure what they were. Very unfriendly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days when I arrived the room I had booked was giving to somebody else so I had to stay in a very small room which was dark the bed was broken I had asked for clean towels and for the the room to be cleaned which was not done the staff are very unhelpful the stairs was very sleep and tricky to even walk up especially if you have luggage with you as there is no lift. The place is a total rip off and is a backpackers hostel not a hotel as advertised DO NOT STAY HERE worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.