We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three and a half stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Three and a half stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I think that people greatly exaggerate the flaws of this hotel. Yes, if you're looking for 5 star accommodation, you won't get it here. But if you're looking for someplace to stay in the center of Amsterdam (and it really is as central as you can get), and you're not terribly fussy, you could do a lot worse. The location is 5 stars, the rooms are between 2 and 4 stars depending (at the end of the day, you're paying for somewhere to sleep, and that's what you get), and the atmosphere is 3 or 4 stars; people and staff are friendly, and there is a friendly feeling to the whole place. Yes, you may have to climb stairs. Yes, there is dust under the bed. No, there's no room service or ensuite jacuzzi. But if you're not terribly precious about such things, it's a pretty good deal. I wouldn't call myself the most die-hard when it comes to living conditions, and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    80
    120
    75
    106
See reviews for
25
69
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I've never wrote a review before but felt I had to on this occasion. I saw a lot of bad reviews and was dubious of my visit but it turned out to be perfect!
Location was incredible, in the centre of everything! 24 hour bar, pool table , clean beds!
Yes the rooms are small but it's amsterdam, how much time you gonna be spending in your room?
Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here Easter weekend, the Hotel/Hostel was better than expected after reading some of the reviews on here! The room was pretty basic but spacious, bunk beds, television, lockers and thankfully we had our own bathroom. Overall the room was very clean with clean towels! What more do you expect for the price! All the staff was helpfully and polite! The bar was cosy and served cheap alcoholic drinks, which was perfect before going out on a night. Would definitely stay here again with friends as the location of the hotel is perfect in the centre or everything which was surprising for the price!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

They charged more money than it was, no room service even that they make u pay 5 extras when u get there, very dirty, not towels, the bed was broken, they had mice or rats not sure what they were. Very unfriendly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days when I arrived the room I had booked was giving to somebody else so I had to stay in a very small room which was dark the bed was broken I had asked for clean towels and for the the room to be cleaned which was not done the staff are very unhelpful the stairs was very sleep and tricky to even walk up especially if you have luggage with you as there is no lift. The place is a total rip off and is a backpackers hostel not a hotel as advertised DO NOT STAY HERE worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.