We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Hotel to your Saves list
Travel Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights (July 3 & 4) at the Sleep Inn in Hattiesburg MS. While we had checked out the site before booking, we were still pleasantly surprised at the good quality of the amenities (with the one exception being the small thin bath towels). The room was nice and spacious, included wi-fi, good sized flatscreen tv, in room coffee maker, etc.
The ample breakfast and breakfast area was also a nice plus. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    96
    66
    85
See reviews for
21
61
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very pleased with the location of this hostel, right near the central station and close to the red light district however the staff were incredibly rude and made it seem like a effort to help out with anything.
The rooms are very small and not well ventilated. The room lockers are so small that our backpacks barely fit inside them. However there was a nice little bar area. Wifi only strong in bar area, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very nice place to spend the night in Bellingham. Nothing fancy, just quiet, clean, and inexpensive. It's near some good restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, and the Interstate. If you need a place to spend a night or more while in Bellingham, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One morning In May my husband and I were picked up at our hotel in Edinbourgh by Matthew Wight of Discreet Scotland. To our delight Matt was wearing a kilt and greeted us right on time with a smile and a warm welcome. One of the reasons we chose Discreet Scotland was the promptness and throughness with which Matthew always answered our e-mails and we were delighted with his services. We found him to be informative, knowledgable, and friendly. He was also flexible and very willing to make last minute itinerary changes. We highly recommend Matthew and Discreet Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have never experienced a hotel room as bad as that!!!! the moment i stepped foot into the hallway to find the room an employee was rude. then i walked in to my room and the smell would have knocked you down and thats not exadgerating!!! The moisture in the room in the air was so damp as well as the carpet.There was mold on the window curtains. And it was difficult to even stand the smell. i have never made a review that was negative about any hotel, but this one deserved it. I know they are renovating and i can accept that, but they needed to burn that room! I expected so much more from a hotel at that cost. I felt like i was in a cheap $20.00 a night run down, back alley hotel..

Room Tip: I don't really know what to say about a room, I just hope they arn't all like that in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is very central, rather inexpensive and has a bar. However, rooms are tiny and not very clean. Same with the showers and the toilets. Moreover, after one night we were told to change rooms. As it happened before the housekeeper cleaned everything, we were left without a room where to keep our stuff and we had to pack again. Windows did not really open, while lockers were very narrow so that we couldn't really put our stuff in there. I recommend it for few nights stay only.

Room Tip: Lower floors have better access to wifi and less walking upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travel Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Budget Places, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.