We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel d'Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a very nice and quiet hotel not far from museums, centrum and the nightlife. Walking distance to almost everything. The staff on this small hotel was very caring friendly. We stayed for three nights in a fine and clean room. Having air condition during these warm days (28 degrees) was fantastic. Wd will stay here also during our next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    111
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
119
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is good value for money. In a former house, rooms are very small, but reasonably clean. It is conveniently located 5 minutes walking from Leidseplein, which is a major interchange for buses and trams towards the old city, central station and the airport, and it is about 15 minutes walking from the Rijks and Van Gogh museums. We found the wi-fi to be extremely weak in our room, being difficult to connect at all. Staff was kind, and they have a convenient bike rental scheme, with bikes in good condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are quite updated and seem clean. The room has fridge, waterboiler, TV and aircond. The room size was actually impressive. Quite central but because of rain we took the tram. If weather is nice: rent a bike from the hotel - really easy and great way to see the beautiful city! Only negative: housekeeping did not refill soap and cups, and some noise outside/thin windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Location and price were the positives. Within walking distance to just about everywhere (if you enjoy walking), otherwise public transport stops nearby. We found it was one of the cheaper options which was in the city and not in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were small with no real view but it was ok as we didn't spend much time in the room. If you need a place to crash at the end of a long walking and sightseeing day, which is within walking distance to many places and affordable, this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very close to Leidseplein square and all the bars and cafe's. Bus, train and canal boat stops nearby. Rooms were adequate, contained everything needed for a good nights sleep. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we booked our rather last-minute stay at Hotel D'Amsterdam because it seemed like a good location and it was so reasonably priced. We feel like we discovered a well-kept secret. Our room is small but no more so than the rooms in other major cities, and it is clean with a contemporary decor. The bed is quite comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. The location is wonderful with restaurants, coffee, public transportation, and tours within a 5 minute walk. Dennis and Linda are so friendly and helpful and gave several suggestions for restaurants and things to see. If we get a chance to come back to this great city, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.