We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel d'Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a very nice and quiet hotel not far from museums, centrum and the nightlife. Walking distance to almost everything. The staff on this small hotel was very caring friendly. We stayed for three nights in a fine and clean room. Having air condition during these warm days (28 degrees) was fantastic. Wd will stay here also during our next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is good value for money. In a former house, rooms are very small, but reasonably clean. It is conveniently located 5 minutes walking from Leidseplein, which is a major interchange for buses and trams towards the old city, central station and the airport, and it is about 15 minutes walking from the Rijks and Van Gogh museums. We found the wi-fi to be extremely weak in our room, being difficult to connect at all. Staff was kind, and they have a convenient bike rental scheme, with bikes in good condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are quite updated and seem clean. The room has fridge, waterboiler, TV and aircond. The room size was actually impressive. Quite central but because of rain we took the tram. If weather is nice: rent a bike from the hotel - really easy and great way to see the beautiful city! Only negative: housekeeping did not refill soap and cups, and some noise outside/thin windows.

Helpful?
Thank Solungen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Location and price were the positives. Within walking distance to just about everywhere (if you enjoy walking), otherwise public transport stops nearby. We found it was one of the cheaper options which was in the city and not in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were small with no real view but it was ok as we didn't spend much time in the room. If you need a place to crash at the end of a long walking and sightseeing day, which is within walking distance to many places and affordable, this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very close to Leidseplein square and all the bars and cafe's. Bus, train and canal boat stops nearby. Rooms were adequate, contained everything needed for a good nights sleep. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we booked our rather last-minute stay at Hotel D'Amsterdam because it seemed like a good location and it was so reasonably priced. We feel like we discovered a well-kept secret. Our room is small but no more so than the rooms in other major cities, and it is clean with a contemporary decor. The bed is quite comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. The location is wonderful with restaurants, coffee, public transportation, and tours within a 5 minute walk. Dennis and Linda are so friendly and helpful and gave several suggestions for restaurants and things to see. If we get a chance to come back to this great city, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#146 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing