We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel d'Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    112
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
120
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Location and price were the positives. Within walking distance to just about everywhere (if you enjoy walking), otherwise public transport stops nearby. We found it was one of the cheaper options which was in the city and not in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were small with no real view but it was ok as we didn't spend much time in the room. If you need a place to crash at the end of a long walking and sightseeing day, which is within walking distance to many places and affordable, this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very close to Leidseplein square and all the bars and cafe's. Bus, train and canal boat stops nearby. Rooms were adequate, contained everything needed for a good nights sleep. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we booked our rather last-minute stay at Hotel D'Amsterdam because it seemed like a good location and it was so reasonably priced. We feel like we discovered a well-kept secret. Our room is small but no more so than the rooms in other major cities, and it is clean with a contemporary decor. The bed is quite comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. The location is wonderful with restaurants, coffee, public transportation, and tours within a 5 minute walk. Dennis and Linda are so friendly and helpful and gave several suggestions for restaurants and things to see. If we get a chance to come back to this great city, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2013..Great value for your money, rooms were a good size and very clean. Its location is great also as you are only a short walk away from Leidseplein.. Stairs were a bit of a shock for us lol but that's to be expected in Amsterdam :) (lift is available in hotel) Overall we were happy with our room and found the staff to be nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I feel a bit sorry for hotel staff that was very helpful and kind, but there are issues with this hotel need to be seriously taken into consideration before booking this hotel :
Tiny rooms - the smallest we ever been and so is the bathroom (airplane feeling) .
The matters is awful!! very soft like it saw better days... so sleep quality is poor .
no water pressure in shower (maybe because we stayed on the 4th floor)
The room wasn't clean during our stay at all. I only noticed that the trash can was unloaded once.

Besides that , as I wrote the staff is very friendly and helpful , the location is good, around 5 minutes from leidseplein area and there are also nice trendy restaurants and cafes near by at Overtoom st.


Bottom line: If you looking for good location hotel and don't mind you night sleep this is a decent value .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.