We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but has seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel d'Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location but has seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As a few reviews already mentioned it is in a nice location, close to the museums and transit. There are many restaurants in the neighbourhood but some did not look all that inviting. It definitely has seen better days. There was some stains on the sheets but they did looked cleaned. Stairs were crazy steep and narrow. Not for small kids or anyone with mobility or balance issues unless you plan to use elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors at the back to lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    99
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
107
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lets start with the positives. Very clean bathroom with a good, powerful shower. That's pretty much about it. All downhill from here. Location is ok. Five minute walk from Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Leidseplein.
The price makes this review average, any more and it would be poor.
The price is economical but some standard aspects of cleanliness should still be expected. The room was very dusty and bed linen wasn't replaced during our three night stay. I couldn't say 100% it had been replaced since the last occupant!
Can't comment on staff friendliness as there was limited interaction.
I would recommend spending an additional £20 per night and getting somewhere further into the canal complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the small independently owned (we believe) hotel! Our room was clean, comfortable and it had a great little (Julliette) balcony with a side view of the canal. We loved the front desk's recommendation of "Ciro...Passami L'olio!" the Italian restaurant across the street, so much that we ate there twice! The air conditioner worked great and we even had accessable windows for fresh air! The bed was comfortable but most important was how clean the bathroom and shower were! Though some reviews state it is located far from the "hub" however, it is an easy walk to popular sites!

These happy Floridian's will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure to book the balcony room in advance because they are most popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated 5 minutes from several tram stops, convenient for getting around. Tram to Dam Square takes about 10 mins.

Several of the popular museums are within walking distance.

Good choice of bars not too far away and lots of Argentinian Steak Houses to choose from.

Room clean, shower powerful enough and good variation at breakfast.

Staff are really nice and helpful.

Wouldn't hesitate in re-booking or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After reading reviews about the hotel I booked through Expedia for a 2 night stay. I decided to book a deluxe double after hearing that standard double rooms were slightly small. The room was very big and had a balcony and lovely ensuite with a large shower cubicle.

Through the booking we had breakfast included, which was a great start to a day of exploring! It was the usual breads, croissants, cheese, ham, eggs, cereal, fruit and yoghurt and we could eat as much as we liked.

The staff were more than helpful in directing us to places we should visit and were very apologetic when the room wasn't ready to check-in until 40 minutes after we were told it would be ready.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We personally didn't feel the need to use public transport as everywhere was walkable.

I'd definately recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very sleek, modern, and comfortable rooms. Yes, they are rather small, but you must consider that Europeans are generally smaller than our American behinds and are much more efficient as using up space. The air conditioning units at Hotel D'Amsterdam were a godsend during the summer months and all of the electronic devices worked quite well. The Wi-Fi was excellent and the service was helpful and friendly.

This hotel is a mere 3 blocks from an excellent bicycle rental shop, which I recommend to get around town.

Room Tip: Ask for Room # 8...unless I'm there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.