We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hostel Centre to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Leidsekruisstraat 13-1, Amsterdam 1017 RE, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not what expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff were all really friendly and guided me in the right direction as to good places to go in town. The rooms are very small and some of the lockers didn't work properly so I always had to keep my valuables with me throughout the trip. It was hard to get onto the top bunk without a ladder when trying not to wake anybody up. I woke up on my last day covered in bites so would suspect bed bugs which wasn't pleasant. This said, the location is excellent for restaurants, night life and city sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    12
    11
    27
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Sat watching a mouse run across the room where you are supposed to be sleeping isn't what I had in mind when I thought about staying here. Dirty toilets, dirty rooms, with a nice view of a restaurants bin shed. Stinks. Not impressed at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

if you're looking for a family hostel-this is not the one to go for with it's rooms a similar size to a sleeper trains dormitories HOWEVER if you are looking for a cheap and easy place to spend the night with no curfew and a window to throw up out of after a heavy night it was perfect. The staff were useful and very friendly especially a young man named Benny who let us keep our luggage at the hostel after check out time until our flight later that evening. although the stairs are a little risky and it is pretty hard to find we had a wonderful stay, were given a free map and were pointed in the direction of the nearest Albert Heijn! if travelling again I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Road
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As what felt like the only budget level tourists to visit Amsterdam and NOT want to get stoned and wasted 24/7, we figured we’d be fighting a losing battle finding a good hostel to begin with.
There wasn’t too much to fault with the hostel itself, yes the stairs were like a ladder, and there was a level of ‘student sharehouse’ type grime to the place that only a full renovation could fix… but from the other reviews on this site, I gather unless you pay a fortune this is the norm in Amsterdam.
There were pro-active cleaners around the hostel each day, so besides residual wear-and-tear tattiness it was reasonably clean, and the linen seemed clean enough too. Beds were comfy and shower was always hot. Staff seemed friendly and helpful enough, and though wifi was at times patchy, we were able to get on the free network from the restaurant downstairs resulting in non-stop access.
The biggest downside to this hostel is the other clientele. It was packed out with the kind of obnoxious Australian party kids that make us embarrassed to admit our nationality in cities like Amsterdam.
First couple of nights were fine, but on our last night our room was overtaken by a group of Gold Coast bogans who were young and self-centred enough to think that the fact they were in a youth hostel meant they could have total disrespect for everyone around them and no-one else should care.
If you want to get simultaneously wasted and stoned, deliriously assure your friends that their odd miniskirt and beanie combo is ‘totes stylin’ ‘, party loudly in your dorm room until midnight, before you go out to seek some ‘bangin’ ‘ members of the opposite sex … then come home at 3am to strew bottles and tomato sauce smeared chip packets across the floor of the room then this is the place for YOU!
If not, perhaps reconsider this hostel. Trams are so frequent and quick that taking the compromise of staying a bit out of the inner city is worth it if you’re actually in Amsterdam for the art, architecture and culinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it's the perfect location if you want to go out at night in Amsterdam - less than a 5 minute walk away from the best nightlife. Friendly staff. Wifi only worked in reception. Rooms were very small and our dorm for 5 was very cramped and the toilets and showers weren't very clean. However if you're planning to go out this is a good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We went on interrail, and this was definitely the worst hostel we've stayed at during our trip. Being 5, we booked a 6 people dorm, but then we found out we would have been 7 and a mattress had been placed on the floor for the new guest. Then, the lockers didn't work with our normal locks and if you wanted to use them you had to rent a lock at the reception (obviously paying). We couldn't pay with a credit card but only cash and the receptionist gave us no receipt at all. Then when we left we asked if we could leave our luggage there for the afternoon (as you do in every hostel in the world) and they said no...crazy. So, my advice is to book in another hostel and STAY AWAY from this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel had lovely and helpful staff, who even happily replace your key card for you when you loose it at 3am on nights out and wake up the whole hostel trying to find it. Tiny winding stairs also make being drunk difficult, but youre going to get that everywhere in amsterdam. proper tiny toilet but its frequently cleaned. warm showers. cosy bed. we had a balcony! right next to loads of restaurants and bars, including a veggie place. right next to a tram stop. one problem, no kitchen, and if you want a mug of hot water you have to pay 50c, which was ridiculous. hot water should obviously be free. free wifi which reached my room which was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13-1, Amsterdam 1017 RE, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.