We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the young and delirious” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hostel Centre to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Leidsekruisstraat 13-1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
On the Road
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For the young and delirious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As what felt like the only budget level tourists to visit Amsterdam and NOT want to get stoned and wasted 24/7, we figured we’d be fighting a losing battle finding a good hostel to begin with.
There wasn’t too much to fault with the hostel itself, yes the stairs were like a ladder, and there was a level of ‘student sharehouse’ type grime to the place that only a full renovation could fix… but from the other reviews on this site, I gather unless you pay a fortune this is the norm in Amsterdam.
There were pro-active cleaners around the hostel each day, so besides residual wear-and-tear tattiness it was reasonably clean, and the linen seemed clean enough too. Beds were comfy and shower was always hot. Staff seemed friendly and helpful enough, and though wifi was at times patchy, we were able to get on the free network from the restaurant downstairs resulting in non-stop access.
The biggest downside to this hostel is the other clientele. It was packed out with the kind of obnoxious Australian party kids that make us embarrassed to admit our nationality in cities like Amsterdam.
First couple of nights were fine, but on our last night our room was overtaken by a group of Gold Coast bogans who were young and self-centred enough to think that the fact they were in a youth hostel meant they could have total disrespect for everyone around them and no-one else should care.
If you want to get simultaneously wasted and stoned, deliriously assure your friends that their odd miniskirt and beanie combo is ‘totes stylin’ ‘, party loudly in your dorm room until midnight, before you go out to seek some ‘bangin’ ‘ members of the opposite sex … then come home at 3am to strew bottles and tomato sauce smeared chip packets across the floor of the room then this is the place for YOU!
If not, perhaps reconsider this hostel. Trams are so frequent and quick that taking the compromise of staying a bit out of the inner city is worth it if you’re actually in Amsterdam for the art, architecture and culinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    12
    12
    27
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it's the perfect location if you want to go out at night in Amsterdam - less than a 5 minute walk away from the best nightlife. Friendly staff. Wifi only worked in reception. Rooms were very small and our dorm for 5 was very cramped and the toilets and showers weren't very clean. However if you're planning to go out this is a good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We went on interrail, and this was definitely the worst hostel we've stayed at during our trip. Being 5, we booked a 6 people dorm, but then we found out we would have been 7 and a mattress had been placed on the floor for the new guest. Then, the lockers didn't work with our normal locks and if you wanted to use them you had to rent a lock at the reception (obviously paying). We couldn't pay with a credit card but only cash and the receptionist gave us no receipt at all. Then when we left we asked if we could leave our luggage there for the afternoon (as you do in every hostel in the world) and they said no...crazy. So, my advice is to book in another hostel and STAY AWAY from this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel had lovely and helpful staff, who even happily replace your key card for you when you loose it at 3am on nights out and wake up the whole hostel trying to find it. Tiny winding stairs also make being drunk difficult, but youre going to get that everywhere in amsterdam. proper tiny toilet but its frequently cleaned. warm showers. cosy bed. we had a balcony! right next to loads of restaurants and bars, including a veggie place. right next to a tram stop. one problem, no kitchen, and if you want a mug of hot water you have to pay 50c, which was ridiculous. hot water should obviously be free. free wifi which reached my room which was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay here was two nights, but had trouble getting in Paris and arrived early the morning after we were meant to arrive. The hostel manager let us into our room at 6am because we had to pay for the night before, they were not rude about it and extremely helpful.

The room itself is small, but clean. The rooms can be stuffy but the manager came and turned on the fan to air the room out!

The staff were lovely, friendly an helpful.

We enjoyed our stay, the beds comfortable, there are lockers to put your valuables (bring a padlock though) and the doors are secure!

For your travelling backpackers, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

So first, the hostel rooms are tiny. Too tiny for an average sized person. Bathrooms are also tiny, there's about 5 inches from the toilet to the door, which is not enough at all. The showers flood, and are basically closets with tiles on them. The place was quite dirty, and didn't feel very hospitable. There are no common areas and no kitchen. It's a decent location, around a 20 minute walk to Amsterdam center. I had no incident with the staff, though I only interacted with them once.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, but for the price you pay you don't get a kitchen, the shower is basically a cupboard and so are the toilets. There's also no communal area (well except for the reception) but that's tiny and you wouldn't wanna hang out there. Rooms are tiny and overcrowded, staff were ok to me but I fully believe the other reviews. So many better places if you shop around !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13-1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.