We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“insistent room check wakes you up every morning!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“insistent room check wakes you up every morning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel with my boyfriend and our first impression was fine. Despite the fact that the hotel is far away from the city centre, bus and tram connections are available. The worst thing about the hotel was the rude room service! Every morning the room service knocked our door and even entered the room at 10 am, and they kept coming in every 15 minutes! Every morning we had trouble with the room service and a lady who was also knocking the door to check the room. We were supposed to be on holiday but they didn't allow us to take a rest because of their insistent ambition for room check in the morning, and there was not any sign in the room to hang on the door in order to stop them entering the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    257
    120
    55
    25
See reviews for
38
259
31
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

hotel fully booked, and only had a single sofa bed room left for two people, despite booking a double...... poor service...... avoid!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Despite having booked a double, I got a twin. When I called reception, they gave me a triple, or a double with a field bed in the room. Room is fine but nothing special. Only black tea, no herbal. No milk. The breakfast was said to be €15 at reception, however I was told to pay €19 at the resto. The promotion apparently was only when you booked brekkie through reception. Ridiculous. Even €15 would have been expensive for a very average selection and cold coffee from a machine. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to non-business visitors?

Well my partner and I spent a weekend as part of our anniversary. We were put up in a twin room because they had no doubles left, even though a request was made 3 months ago when I booked the room. So it was two single beds we had to push together ourselves.

The room itself is very nice. The view, not so nice. The bathroom is beautiful, spacious, clean with a lovely shower and all the usual ammenities. The room has a safe & free wifi, TV with a range of European Channels, Coffee & Tea with a kettle, and an Iron.

The big let down on the room is the beds... They are not very good at all. Very old mattresses make for an awkward sleep, they dip in the middle from the years of other sleepers. The pillows are as flat as pancakes.

The hotel is very expensive to eat at too. E19 euro for BREAKFAST?! ... I suggest taking the nearby tram 2 stops west (away from the city) there are two decent supermarkets and a few places to get food.

Travel to the city is about 40-odd minutes by the tram. The tram is a 5min walk away if you cut through the back streets. There is a bus that stops right near the hotel straight to the airport, and on a Sunday-took us 15/20minutes.

Service, was... average, nothing spectacular. The hotel inside is nice, its kept well, its kept clean.

If you're a couple wanting a romantic break, its probably not for you. If you're on a budget, and 19 euros for breakfast is out of your reach, its also probably not for you; if you want a comfortable bed, its not for you; but if your company is paying and you couldn't care less about the sleep quality-I well recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

this hotel is stunning, the art is lovely, rooms are clean and bright and the staff wonderful.
I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiterstadt
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Very conveniently located for business purposes. The hotel was good: rooms and bathrooms were very clean and breakfast and dinner were enjoyable. The reception could do with some more staff for check-in/-out and we unfortunately had a waiter apparently working his first day who proceeded to pour out our wine to the adjacent table! We were recompensed with a free bottle of wine to make up for it! Breakfast was a little chaotic - the first day I was not charged for breakfast and the second day I was requested to fill out a form for breakfast. The hotel rooms all have the ubiquitous notice saying that we should save water and washing powder and use our towels again: I duly hung up my towels to be reused but they were changed anyway - what is the point of that? However, will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I was shocked to see the quality of bed and room. The AC was throwing dust and next day they did not even made the bed just covered it as it is with bed cover.
Very basic Gym, bad food.
Overall hotel design looks nice but devil is in details. avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.