We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
blackpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! My husband and i had never been to amsterdam before, we found a cheap deal on this hotel so decided to stay there. Id read the reviews and prepared myself for the worst.
When we arrived at 12:30pm they checked us straight in, even had smoking rooms availible, which was great for us! the staff were so friendly.
We then walked about 10mins to the nearest tram stop. the trams (number 2) come every 6mins so we were never waiting around. The journey was about 15-20mins into the city, but it was nice to see all the buildings and surroundings in amsterdam.
The rooms were lovely,clean and modern, and all rooms are en-suite, which is alot better than some grotty shared bathrooms you'd get in the centre.
We then jumped on the 195 bus to the airport which was cheap and quick.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    271
    136
    57
    26
See reviews for
39
275
33
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

we stayed at the artemis hotel for 3 days.we arrived quite fast and easily from schiphol airport. the bus left us in front of ibm building, and thats when we noticed that this was a large business area mainly.first impression :very large and trendy reception hall; but at the front desk we were asked to pay all the amount in advance and to make a deposit of 100 eur. the room we were given was nicely arranged and designed but it wasnt spotless clean like a 4star hotel and the wooden floor was all scratched up and looked very used and dirty. the whole room had a strange look, i mean that even that the design was very modern it was somehow used and didnt have that coziness feeling that you would normally expect from a 4 star hotel.plus little by little i realized that the materials used didnt only look cheap but also were very poor quality, the bathroom door knob came off as well as the fixture for the toilet paper, the bathroom door also didnt close all the way, so we had to give it a little help with a towel on the floor. we went downtown for dinner but when we came back with the bus (we were given the directions to take by the staff), we got lost, because the directions were not right. and that is an area where you dont want to get lost because there is no one arround to ask any directions. so all we could do was walk in all directions and try to find the hotel. on our way , strangely we run into anonther group of people who were also doing the same thing. surprinsingly there are no signs to follow to get to the hotel. so even though we knew we were nearby, it took us forever to circle the large business building and try to see artemis hotel, and dioing that in the dutch wind,rain and cold is not very pleasant. the next day we ordered breakfast in the room which was very poor for its price, so we had to order extra items which led us to the price of lunch or even dinner.
the next day after coming back from downtown we found our room uncleaned.
it was only the 3rd day that they finally cleaned the room.

the only positive things i can say : the hotel is very quite and so you can rest far away from the city noise. the staff was also quite helpfull and polite but only when asked. the overall look and view of the hotel was nice compared to others that i saw.
unfortunately i couldnt recommend this hotel to a friend nor i would stay there again. i forgot to mention that this is at least a 20-25 mn tram ride from the center. and thats too bad because it has potential, all they have to do is take care of some details and review the comfort of their guests

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I just spent nearly a week in the Artemis Dutch Design Hotel in Amsterdam while attending a trade show at the RAI.

First of all let me make it perfectly clear. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Its in the middle of a business park that is deserted after about 5pm. There are no shops nearby, there are no restaurants nearby. There is one bus which can take you to the center (your best option), and the nearest tram and metro stations are a good 10-15 minute walk. A taxi to the center will cost you 20-25 euros depending on traffic and time of day. This hotel should be considered ONLY if you are visiting one of the companies in the immediate vicinity, or if you have no other option.

Having said all that, its actually a very nice hotel. It seems to be fairly new, its very modern and has a theme of featuring Dutch designers (hence the "Dutch Design Hotel" moniker).

The rooms are quite spacey, nicely furnished, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.
There is free internet, breakfast has a good selection and the room service hamburger was OUTSTANDING.

All in all, its a very nice 4 star hotel. Just heed my warning on the location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The rooms are lovely! This is a new and fresh hotel, great breakfast area, spacious meeting rooms and a relaxing garden area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hi All,
I stayed at Artemis hotel with my wife. We knew in advance that it is not in the downtown but Booking.com gave us a good offer and we decided to stay there moreover, at the photos it looked nice enough and high tech.
There are a couple of reasons I did not liked it and would NEVER reccomend it to anyone. My review all in all would say - if they put all the personnel away - they would earn more money.
1. The description how to reach the hotel was not written correctly. I was coming by car from Belgium and used their recommendations but it leaded me to the wrong direction.
2. The area around the hotel is ok, but there are just some office buidlding and that's it but as I wrote it was not a problem for us but it might be important for somebody.
3. We used a car to get itto the downtown and met no problems at all, but as I understand - metro station is quite far from the hotel and it is not nice enough to walk.
4. This item is number four, but I have had to make it first. Extremely BAD and TERRIBLE staff.
4.1 They were very rude when we came. They are very slow and there were a lot of people standing at the reception and I took my time to see how Artemis staff is doing their job. I saw a lot of European hotels but I NEVER met such an attitude even in Etap hotel. During my last years I staid all over the Europe and I know what is ok for the hotel reception but those people are absolutelyfar away from the service.
4.2. The kettle inside the room was dirty when we came. I visited the reception (not called them, but visited peronally!) and asked them to solve the problem. They promised me to replace the kettle. When we returned after 14 hours - the kettle was dirty!! Could you imagine that for 4* european hotel?! Me not.
4.3. The room is dirty, floor is very (!) dirty. Bathroom is dirty too.
4.4. The water temperature is constantly changing (does not depend on day or night time)
4.5.The show cabin is not closed properly so it is wet in the whole bathroom after you take a shower.

So, all in all I would like to inform all of you to avoid this hotel if you want to be served and treated in the right way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The only reason to stay here is if you are working in one of the office buildings nearby. The Artemis is a nice enough hotel with clean comfortable rooms at a decent price but there is NOTHING around it except a few office buildings for high tech companies.

The next time I go to Amsterdam I will stay in the city and take the #2 tram for the 15 minute ride out to this location for work. The closest stop is Louwesweg which is a 5 min walk from the hotel and nearby office buildings. As of Aug. 2010 the one way fare (payable on the tram) is 2.60 Euro. At least I'll have somewhere to go for dinner after work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked this hotel, to be close and in easy reach with the RAI, where we attended a Fair. The hotel is situated in a business park, but you can rent bikes, or take a bus to the city center. The rooms, are small but very well equipped. The hotel is calm, and the annex restaurant is a real plus. set downstairs, it has an outside terrace, where you can have diner along a canal and you have a view on trees and bikers...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.