We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Mr”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Modern comfortable rooms but beds very soft and uncomfortable. Reception attitude was no one else has complaint. No bed boards available. Room cleanliness especially bathrooms could be better. Bus and train access to city centre excellent but take 15 minutes

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    324
    160
    64
    28
See reviews for
43
334
35
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a beautiful hotel !!! This hotel was everything we need for a group of friends for a weekend . It's close to the airport which ypu can get a cab between you for 20 pound do not pay anymore you are getring ripped off if you do !

Modern hotel, rooms had nice decor and spacious. It is about 15 minutes from the city centre and a tram is easily accessible, a 5/10 minute walk . You can buy a tram ticket for 3 days at reception and they are very helpful to explain how to you access the tram.

The breakfast was lovely, everything ypu need and a great variety for all ages. We did not have dinner here but we heard from other guests ut was lovely . Trams run until 12am and after that there is a bus or a taxi ypu can get for 15/20 pounds depending how could of a haggler you are :)

Overall it was perfect and a bargain for us as accomadation in the centre was extremly expensive ! Would definitely recommend

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the hotel is ok overall, but there are small things that makes the difference between an average hotel and one that you will remember. the fact that the heat does not work after a set temperature, that is kind of low for some people, the hairdryer was in a drawer in the room and not in the bathroom (weird) , the water pressure which was lower than the rain outside, just a tv channel in English, and for the price that you pay no breakfast that is a bit expensive. but that was my overall impression of Amsterdam, expensive with no justification. just to add is a bit far from the city center (i knwe that when book it) but just as a info for anyone who will want to get a room here , be prepared for a 10 min walk and 20 to 30 min with the tram.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quiete area, quiete rooms, friendly staff and a good bed, what can you ask more? Everything was fine. If I need to state a negative point I'dd say the wifi. We didn't use the food facilities so we can't argument on that.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival our room was not ready and there had been an error in the room type given, compared to what was booked. This was resolved with absolutely no fuss within minutes and turned out to be the only blip in a wonderful stay. Although the hotel is a little out from the city center, the tram stop is less than 10 mins walk away and the transport system is cheap and easy to use and the tram route (No2) takes you through most of the central tourist hubs in the city which means everything is really easy to get to. The staff are so friendly and incredibly helpful, the rooms are huge and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. We also had no problems at all with the wifi during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel, the surrounding area is in a sort of business district and is very quiet,
with lots of canals and wildlife, we went in the summer and around the streets rabbits run around and water birds nest.
Its a slight walk to the tram stop to go to the city center, but the areas the tram passes are lovely and we got of for a look around, there are plenty of shops and lovely cafes.
Also this hotel has smoking rooms, the breakfast was nice, the room service was expensive but also nice.
Definatly recommend this hotel to anyone willing to see the proper side of Amsterdam and not just the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll start with the good points of this hotel; The staff are lovely and friendly, the premises is impressive and the room has a great bed. The real highlight of the hotel is the staff and I hope the owners realise this. They are consistently courteous, friendly and helpful.

On the negative side (of which there are quite a few), The free wifi is awful and drops all the time, sort of worked on 2 android phones but would not work at all on iPad.

The restaurant and bar is WAY overpriced... Although the food is well portioned, it lacks flavour and is too expensive. I had a burger for 15 euro and it was by no means a 15 euro burger, the seasoning was bland and it lacked anything to stand it out from the crowd. My colleagues all had different dishes and agreed that the restaurant is NOT as good as they think it is.

The Bar is just ridiculous, 6.75 euro for a pint of beer! I asked the barman why the drink was so expensive and shrugged 'City Hotel prices!', I said 'yeah, hotel prices 12km from the city!'...

In this hotel is,there is a constant feeling that they are exploiting the customers for more money due to the isolation of the location, in other words, you have no other choice to pay for the goods, because your miles away from any amenities! There are no vending machines anywhere and you have a 8-10 minute walk to a tram stop, there is a bus stop at the back but is of no use to you if you are using an 'I Amsterdam' card, which we were (this card gives you free travel with GVB, the bus stop is a different company).

When enquiring about the shuttlebus to the airport,I found out that the price is €17.50 each. ridiculous to travel 8 or 9 kilometres one way. A taxi is €25... I think the hotel is geared towards businessmen who are travelling alone, hence this is a saving for them. This hotel is a business hotel, not an Art hotel by any means.

The Bank machine is not VISA compatible, so its about as useful as a hand brake on a boat!
The air con in the room isn't great and seems to have no effect on the temperature of the room.

There is also a charge for car parking for those who might have a rental car.

I'm not one for whinging about things in normal circumstances, but I couldn't help feel that this hotel is not what they are pretending to be. It is very frustrating because this place has the potential to be a fantastic hotel, but they need to gear the pricing and experience to suit the customer more than the bank balance... The whole place lacks atmosphere and there is no sense of a 'home away from home' that you tend to feel in most hotels when you are there for a while...

As I said, we were a couple and perhaps this place suits businessmen more, but we will not be going back anyway...we'd be willing to pay more just to stay IN the city... I hope this helps any of you guys who are travelling to the beautiful city of Amsterdam!!!

Room Tip: Look around and thoroughly read the reviews, because this hotel is 8-10km away from the city... and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#113 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.