We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra travel for a little bit of luxury!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the extra travel for a little bit of luxury!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A friend and I stayed here for two nights as part of a groupon deal, we paid a little extra for a better hotel and it was worth every penny!
Rooms and beds were spacious and clean and the staff were incredibly helpful. Not the closest to the city centre (1/2 an hour on the tram to central and 15 minutes to the museum quarter) but the staff provided us with a very helpful map that showed all available routes into town.
Extra pillows provided for both of us with no fuss and we were even allowed to grab coffee in the morning from the restaurant despite not having paid for breakfast!
We both slept incredibly well (though some of that was tiredness from wandering around the city!!) the beds were spacious and very comfortable

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    309
    146
    61
    27
See reviews for
41
314
34
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a depressing area on the outskirts of Amsterdam, easy to get to from the airport but a bit of a pain to get in to Amsterdam.
Our room was comfortable and the beds were lovely and soft and clean, but the floor was filthy, I did ask the cleaning staff to wash the floor but nothing was done.
Breakfast was great with a good variety of food available, the food was fresh, tasty and hot, it was buffet style so you could eat whatever you wanted to, the staff did come around the tables and gave us plenty of warning when the buffet was about to close.
We used the restaurant in the evening, but when we asked for a table we were told we would have to wait, so we sat down in the lounge however as soon as we sat down another couple asked for a table and were seated immediately, the bar man did speak to the waitress and we were seated as soon as he spoke to her.
We had the set menu. Our starters did not arrive for 45 minutes, it was a salad and the lettuce was dirty and slimy in parts.
More than an hour after the starters arrived we got our main meal, it was a lovely steak but it was spoiled by the chef cooking the mushrooms with rosemary of all things, I can only ask why?
The sweet ( a necklace of sweets) took another 40 minutes to arrive and was the most bizarre thing that I have ever been served, I cannot even describe what it was because whatever it was, was unidentifiable.. We were offered a complimentary drink whilst we were waiting because we were waiting for so long, I did say that I would like a cup of tea, this was brought to me, however I was then NOT offered the tea/coffee that was supposed to be included at the end of the meal so it wasn't complimentary, it was a part of the meal. The meal took two hours and fifty minutes from start to finish, I have never had a meal take so long .
There are some lovely and unique pieces of modern art around the hotel and although expensive you can purchase them if you want to.
Overall the hotel was quirky, comfortable but has some serious flaws, and there is absolutely nothing around the hotel, not even a corner shop.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington- cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was booked for us as part of a p&o mincruise, it''s a nice hotel with a huge comfy bed,modern bathrooms with under floor heating, toiletries and towels supplied .
It had a mini bar that bizarely was empty??? And no milk for the tea / coffee.
Very firendly helpull staff, but it is a bit ot the way aound 30mins on tram from city centre and then another ten minute walk ( if you know they way!!)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night as part of a P & O mini cruise. We were checked in to our clean and sizeable room 3 hours early by a friendly receptionist. Although a 20 minute tram ride from the city centre, the tram stop was only a 5 minute walk from the tram stop. Lovely and quiet, clean and good value for money. Room safe that didn't work and locked fridge were the only downsides. Good quality budget hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

fantastic hotel. Based about 20 minutes outside Amsterdam, but easily accessible via tram travel. Rooms are beautifully appointed, spacious and clean. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to help. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the front - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great & clean hotel in Amsterdam. A bit far from center but 10 mins.walking distence from public transportation. Very helpfull reception. Overpriced (20 euro) strong open buffet breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was very quiet due to its position, but had easy access by bus or tram to the city centre. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with underfloor heating in the bathroom. It had everything you would expect in the room except a coffee maker. Although there was a kettle and coffee, there was no milk - this was the only negative otherwise would have given five stars.
Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. There is also an excellent website which gives clear detailed information on how to find the hotel, which tram to catch etc.
The hotel is located near to a large residential estate and we felt safe walking from the tram stop even late at night. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.