We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobby, poor maintenance in the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lobby, poor maintenance in the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The lobby is well designed, with a lot of exhibitions that change regularly.

Being in this hotel often, i can only see the decline of the rooms. No more minibar since a couple of years, the bathroom tiles are not always cleaned properly (that's what happens when you putt fancy black tiles), and the shower head sometimes doesn't work.

The quality of the staff completely offset the above, and you'll easily forget about the small details.

Overall experience is positive.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    301
    145
    61
    27
See reviews for
41
308
33
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in the middle of a business park but is a mere 5-10 minute walk away from the tram stop which takes you straight to the centre - the reception staff will give you a map and direct you to the stop.

The tram tickets work on an hourly rate so it's generally cheaper to buy the longer tickets if you're staying a few days. We stayed for 3 days and bought a 72 hour ticket which cost around 36 euros each, these can be used all day any day on any tram!

Breakfast in the hotel is reasonable with fruit, bread, meats, cheese, cereal and a hot breakfast choice. It is all buffet style with coffee and juice machines - pretty standard from my experiences - though the hot food was a little over cooked with streaky bacon rather than back bacon, if you're a fussy eater this may be a problem.

The rooms were very well kept with lovely bathrooms with shower. Shower gel and soap is included along with a hair dryer and TV. The beds were very comfortable, with a safe in each room too. There are also mini fridges in the rooms with ice machines in the corridors.

All in all the hotel was lovely, the staff were friendly and so long as you are mobile and able to walk the 5 minutes to the tram stop the location isn't too much of an issue - especially as the trams run into the night and then less regularly through the night.

Room Tip: If you're afraid of lifts ask for a low level room - the lifts are quite small and there are man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As others have said it is in a bit of an odd location on a business park but we knew that when we booked so can't complain on that front. We actually found it worked ok for us to spend the whole day in the city and then catch the tram back in the evening as the stop is not too far from the hotel.

As for hotel itself the room we had was nice and clean and staff were friendly so overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's in the middle of a business park about a half hour tram ride from Amsterdam central station. Nice decor and helpful staff but food and drink very expensive for the location. For the prices they charge I would expect it to be in central Amsterdam. We had the burger wich was ok but nothing fantastic. ?6.75 for a pint of larger. Daylight robbery! Shower not very powerful and I couldn't alter the temperature so it was a little disappointing. Not a good place to stay if you want to go back and forth into amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights at the start of February and couldn't fault it. From the check in, all staff were very accommodating and helpful with directing us to the tram stop and bus stops. Room was relatively simple but very clean and tidy. Not much of a view due to it's location but pleasant decor. Bar was good, and again the staff were lovely. Didn't have lunch or dinner there but the breakfast was good with a good choice of food. If we were to return to Amsterdam, we would most probably return unless we could find somewhere slightly closer to the centre, but at just a 10-15 minute journey on the tram it wasn't a great problem. Overall, a very nice hotel.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is far from the centre and public transport is available however there are a few changes.. The rooms are huge and the decor is lovely. Very cold in room. Staff are discrete and polite.. Food is mediocre and the breakfast is extensive but lacks flavour. Housekeeping are quite noisy in corridors but it is a smoking friendly hotel

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe traveller
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our three night stay and once we had understood the bus , tram and metro systems were impressed by the regular public transport. We bought a 72 hr tickets for 16 euros from the information centre at the airport. They were invaluable and made travel around Amsterdam effortless. The hotel is a clean modern business hotel and although the staff are very helpful the facilities appear geared to the busy buisness/ conference centre. Breakfast was hectic although the staff worked hard to make the large variety of breakfasts avaliable.The room was large but the coffee stains on the walls of room were unfortunate.

Room Tip: We thought that we had paid for an upgrade but looking at other comments we didn't get one. Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.