We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Town Good Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of Town Good Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hi there,

We had a little fun finding the hotel, due to taking the wrong turn from the metro station, it's a 10 min walk. however when we did it was great, the breakfast was first class, lots of choice, the staff were very good and the rooms modern generally well kept. We stayed 3 nights early Jul 14.

Your getting a business hotel and a good one, although it's not near the centre of Amsterdam. To get in take the bus either in front of the hotel 35 mins or a 8 min walk to the tramlines and then a quick 20 min journey into town, the trams were excellent and quick and frequent.

You have the option of metro but that wasn't as good apart from going to the Airport.

Nice rooms, good staff.

Room Tip: If your a couple ask for a double bed, they do have them on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    284
    139
    59
    27
See reviews for
40
292
33
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Artemis for a 3 night city break to Amsterdam which we booked using Travelzoo. We reached the hotel using the train from the city airport to Central Amsterdam and then getting onto the Tram No.2. If you use the tram system you will get acquainted to using this tram as you will need to get onto it every day to reach Amsterdam, as the hotel is located on a quiet business park. This did not cause a problem but it would have been nice not to have had to use the tram twice a day. We were going to hire some bikes from the hotel but they only offered hire for the day at 16 euros each, when we only really wanted to use them for a few hours.

The hotel room was very well equipped and the food was excellent, hot pancakes, waffles with warm cherries, cooked breakfast and continental choice.

We had an evening meal on our first night which was one of the best meals I had during our stay. I went for the fixed 3d menu at 35 euros. Sushi to start, sea bream and couscous main and a very unusual 3d praline dessert and coffee which I thought was really good value, ooh and also a prosecco!

You can choose to sit outside and dine or have a drink overlooking the water. A small beer was 3.5 Euros and like the rest of Amsterdam we didn't feel the prices were extortionate.

I wouldn't return to the hotel due to the location but I did not have a bad experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The location was excellent, only a 10/15 minute walk through the park or main road to the tram stop that ca take you into the city and only a 2/3 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you straight to the airport doors. The staff at the front desk and at the restaurant are very friendly but unfortunately the cleaners were a let down. When we arrived back to the room after the cleaners had "cleaned" the room, they left my bed sheets from the night before on, all wrinkled and they left a half filled cold coffee still in it's cup and the water in the cups that we left for them to clean up. We discovered they no not clean under the beds as there is a thick layer of hair and dust under there. They left the face flannels that we had used there and just added a couple more onto the pile. The sheets do not fit the bed properly and there is only one thin one. On our check out day we had half an hour left to leave the room but we got a knock on the door from the cleaner saying she thought we were out when we still had the do not disturb sign on our door then when we eventually went out to leave the cleaner was waiting by the door on us leaving so it felt like we were being rushed out. We recommend it for the location but I do think they should inspect their hotel more to keep up with how their cleaners are doing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was nice but as others have pointed out, it's a bit out of town. More suitable for a business trip than a holiday.However, one incident left a bad taste in the mouth.
When we were having breakfast, we saw one of the workers herding all the Asians to one side of the restaurant! There were plenty of vacant tables but he insisted that all the Asians sit at one corner.Also disappointed that it being a hotel situated in a business park, there's no free in-room wifi!

Room Tip: Stay here only if you have business to do here, not suitable for vacations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Artemis has convenient location in the middle of business park and close enough to Schiphol airport. All in all everything works: hotel is clean and service friendly but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was very basic. Gym room was small and not equipped well enough considering the overall level of the hotel. Overall a "just fine" experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe. UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here, two couples, for a long, holiday weekend break. The hotel itself was commendable but not ideal for a holiday to Amsterdam because of its location. (I endorse what previous reviewers have already said). The hotel is located on what is principally a business park, as a consequence the hotel is also, principally, designed for business people. On the Saturday and Sunday evening the hotel and bar were fairly quiet. On Monday night, however, it was chocker with delegates and quite noisy.
We also agree with the previous reviewers concern with the glass, un-lockable door to the bathroom/toilet. We were very impressed with the reception and restaurant staff but had concerns over the lady who looked after the room. Although there was a kettle the only thing to add to the hot water was sugar! Yes, we could have asked but it's not a facility we required, However after three nights you would have thought she would have checked on the situation. Also, on the second morning, returning from breakfast about 9.30 am we found our room was not only being cleaned but the bed linen was being changed!! We still had a further night to stay! We also had to wait about 15minutes before she had finished!

To sum up, we enjoyed a inexpensive trip to this beautiful city, we stayed in a lovely hotel. The price we paid was that the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thank you once again to Trip Advisor which helped me to book this lovely friendly hotel although not in the Amsterdam town itself the hotel has very easy access via trams or local bus service. The hotel staff are very attentative to your needs and have plenty of travel information about trips which can be booked there and travelling around locally. We managed very well with tram service and used the local bus. The hotel is very good quality, it is very clean and tidy and the full breakfast buffet is superb. Our hotel room was 601, an executive upgrade was provided to our delight as we had a problem with our booking with the hotel direct. Our room provided us a fantastic good night sleep, excellent bathroom facilities, complimentary room bar of daily Pringles, water and 2 cans of Heineken. Our nights sleep was enhanced by a comfy bed and of course peace and quiet, a luxury you would not receive if you stay central Amsterdam as the town is bustling with noise at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay prior to a Norwegian fjords Cruise and did not feel regret that we needed to travel to sightsee. I would recommend this light and airy and spacious hotel for business and leisure and recommend the outdoor seating area for a peaceful sunny spot of chilling with a drink after a day of fantastic sightseeing as Holland has so much to see and so much beauty to see. Hope you have a great time there too.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet. However a higher floor will provide better views. If you get a good deal on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.