We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could do much better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Good but could do much better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The location was excellent, only a 10/15 minute walk through the park or main road to the tram stop that ca take you into the city and only a 2/3 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you straight to the airport doors. The staff at the front desk and at the restaurant are very friendly but unfortunately the cleaners were a let down. When we arrived back to the room after the cleaners had "cleaned" the room, they left my bed sheets from the night before on, all wrinkled and they left a half filled cold coffee still in it's cup and the water in the cups that we left for them to clean up. We discovered they no not clean under the beds as there is a thick layer of hair and dust under there. They left the face flannels that we had used there and just added a couple more onto the pile. The sheets do not fit the bed properly and there is only one thin one. On our check out day we had half an hour left to leave the room but we got a knock on the door from the cleaner saying she thought we were out when we still had the do not disturb sign on our door then when we eventually went out to leave the cleaner was waiting by the door on us leaving so it felt like we were being rushed out. We recommend it for the location but I do think they should inspect their hotel more to keep up with how their cleaners are doing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    246
    120
    55
    25
See reviews for
36
251
31
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was nice but as others have pointed out, it's a bit out of town. More suitable for a business trip than a holiday.However, one incident left a bad taste in the mouth.
When we were having breakfast, we saw one of the workers herding all the Asians to one side of the restaurant! There were plenty of vacant tables but he insisted that all the Asians sit at one corner.Also disappointed that it being a hotel situated in a business park, there's no free in-room wifi!

Room Tip: Stay here only if you have business to do here, not suitable for vacations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Artemis has convenient location in the middle of business park and close enough to Schiphol airport. All in all everything works: hotel is clean and service friendly but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was very basic. Gym room was small and not equipped well enough considering the overall level of the hotel. Overall a "just fine" experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe. UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here, two couples, for a long, holiday weekend break. The hotel itself was commendable but not ideal for a holiday to Amsterdam because of its location. (I endorse what previous reviewers have already said). The hotel is located on what is principally a business park, as a consequence the hotel is also, principally, designed for business people. On the Saturday and Sunday evening the hotel and bar were fairly quiet. On Monday night, however, it was chocker with delegates and quite noisy.
We also agree with the previous reviewers concern with the glass, un-lockable door to the bathroom/toilet. We were very impressed with the reception and restaurant staff but had concerns over the lady who looked after the room. Although there was a kettle the only thing to add to the hot water was sugar! Yes, we could have asked but it's not a facility we required, However after three nights you would have thought she would have checked on the situation. Also, on the second morning, returning from breakfast about 9.30 am we found our room was not only being cleaned but the bed linen was being changed!! We still had a further night to stay! We also had to wait about 15minutes before she had finished!

To sum up, we enjoyed a inexpensive trip to this beautiful city, we stayed in a lovely hotel. The price we paid was that the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you once again to Trip Advisor which helped me to book this lovely friendly hotel although not in the Amsterdam town itself the hotel has very easy access via trams or local bus service. The hotel staff are very attentative to your needs and have plenty of travel information about trips which can be booked there and travelling around locally. We managed very well with tram service and used the local bus. The hotel is very good quality, it is very clean and tidy and the full breakfast buffet is superb. Our hotel room was 601, an executive upgrade was provided to our delight as we had a problem with our booking with the hotel direct. Our room provided us a fantastic good night sleep, excellent bathroom facilities, complimentary room bar of daily Pringles, water and 2 cans of Heineken. Our nights sleep was enhanced by a comfy bed and of course peace and quiet, a luxury you would not receive if you stay central Amsterdam as the town is bustling with noise at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay prior to a Norwegian fjords Cruise and did not feel regret that we needed to travel to sightsee. I would recommend this light and airy and spacious hotel for business and leisure and recommend the outdoor seating area for a peaceful sunny spot of chilling with a drink after a day of fantastic sightseeing as Holland has so much to see and so much beauty to see. Hope you have a great time there too.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet. However a higher floor will provide better views. If you get a good deal on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice hotel with kind stuff and and amazing breakfast. When you are going as turist, position is not so great because you need to travel about 20 min with tram until you reach center. Parking place is 19 euro per day, that seems a bit too much but it is very easy to reach the hotel from highway. Rooms are clean , the only thing that a bit bothered me was the bathroom with milk glass door. That wasnt even a real door, so you can kinda see everything inside :) Anyway I had a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for 3 nights on a business trip to a company that was 3 minutes walk away so from that perspective, it was good. However, as per previous reviews, it isnt close to the centre of Amsterdam and there is little around it ie no shops, cafes, restaurants so you really are "out in the sticks"

I had the breakfast and while decent, there was no variety on any of the days. I ate one night in the restaurant and it was good food but quite pricey as they can charge what they want as you arent going to wander off anywhere else locally.

I travelled a couple of times into the centre via tram 2 (10 minute walk from the hotel) and if you are heading into the Dam square area, its a 30 minute ride. This route didnt appear to have as many trams on it as others so both times i used it, i had to wait at least 15 mins for a tram and it was then very crowded. Travel from the airport was easy - 5 euros on bus 195 and it stops just around the corner from the hotel - this seemed to run every 30 mins until 7pm.

The rooms were adequate for the price paid - some of the staff very helpful and friendly, others quite abrupt - same as everywhere really i suppose. If you are working at IBM, NCR or PWC and want to be local then this is the place. If i returned, i would head into the city and travel out each day to work so there were different places to eat/drink at night.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi like i did then definitely dont use room 201. I got put in here first and had to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.