We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away xx” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Weekend away xx”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have been to Amsterdam a few times as we LOVE it there.... We are so pleased that we decided to book the Artemis, the location of the hotel was great, the staff were so helpful, Room was a normal spacious standard room and breakfast catered for all needs (i'm a fussy eater)!!!
We actually didn't want to come home!

This time we decided that we wanted to stay outside of Amsterdam centre in a quiet location, this was the best decision as it was so easy to get into the Centre of the city at any time of the day.

Already looking at dates for us to come back!!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    296
    138
    64
    26
See reviews for
36
251
31
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in January with my partner. I have to say I was very impressed. We were greeted by the hotel staff and made to feel very welcome from the outset. Our room was ideal for what we needed, beds were very comfy - just what you need after a day walking around the city!

Ok so the hotel may not be in the city centre but this does not matter its only 20 or so minutes away, the trams run every 10 mins and they are cheap! In fact getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city at the end of the night is actually quite nice.

I paid £260pp for 3nights (including flights) and I have to say it was one of the best city breaks I have done- for the same money I have previously stayed in some aweful hotels in the centre. I would rather have a nice clean, tidy and comfortable hotel and grab a tram!

Its the first time I have been on a City Breack and not felt like I need another break to get over it!

This hotel will not dissapoint!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel rooms our modern, spacious and comfortable, perfect for relaxing in after being out all day. We found 3 days to be just the right amount of time, we checked out Museums, went shopping, went on the canal tour and enjoyed long walks around the city. There is so much to see you won't run out of things to do. Hotel is a short tram ride from town but worth it due to the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Like many others I stayed here only briefly for a business trip, so not really long enough to try all the hotel offers. That said the check in and out was efficient, the taxi arrived on time, the room was clean and nicely decorated, and the hotel itself placed well for local business.

Nothing that wowed me, but at the same time nothing to be negative about...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip as the Amsterdam offices for my company are very close. It is quite far from the centre and not an easy journey so not really a tourist option. The hotel itself is quite stylish and the rooms are fairly clean but show some signs of wear, perhaps a refurb is due soon. The breakfast was not included and at 25 euros, it was a very expensive option for business users with very little time to have more than a quick bite.
Evening meal - we had an evening meal there as a group of 40 staff, most of which had travelled in from various European countries. Recognising the difficulty in feeding such a large group, the trip organiser from our company arranged a choice of 3 options for each course. As a vegetarian, this left me only one option. The starter was a creamy soup, served in a coffee mug, with no bread. My main course consisted of, one medium sized mushroom covered in tasteless melted goat's cheese, sprinkled with salad leaves and very sour cherry tomatoes. Colleagues who had ordered the stroganoff or the burger waited 30 mins for the side dishes of fries and salad to arrive. Most of the burgers were uncooked, and one colleague had to return his to the kitchen. Some time later it was represented, the same burger warmed up in a fresh bread, still with raw meat in the centre. Despite the notice and very limited other diners, the staff were over stretched and inefficient. A bad option for food, an ok option if you need a box room in that area of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything Is very good, convenient place next to the office where we did have our meetings, rooms are well decorated, simple but I felt immediately well is this atmosphere. Breakfast well prepared with a lot of choice, the restaurant is also good but need more choices if you stay in this hotel more than 3 nights. A small point: I waited for more than 30 mn my main course but this was just because the waiter forgot to order it so!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nothing wrong with the hotel inside. Room was fine, spacious and clean. But it's so so far from the centre of Amsterdam. 10 minutes walk to the tram stop then half an hour on the tram to the centre. The car park is expensive at €17.50 for 24 hours (that's a normal price for the centre of Amsterdam but this is not the centre). But on the other hand my room was cheap. I didn't try breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.