We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, quite far from the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, quite far from the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2012. We took public transport from the airport to the hotel and ended up getting lost! Would recommend getting a transport pass but get a taxi from the airport to save messing around with trams/buses!

Comfortable beds and clean rooms, lovely breakfast too!

The Hotel is a 5/10 minute walk to the nearest tram stop and the tram journey is around 15/20 mins to Leidseplein.

We felt that the distance from the hotel to the city centre was worth it to be out of the loud/busy centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    265
    134
    56
    25
See reviews for
39
271
33
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business purposes and all the cash I was carrying was stolen from my hotel room. When I raised this with the duty manager he said that there was no record of anyone entering my room on the hotel system and refused to help any further. I filed a report with the police who confirmed that someone else had been a victim of exactly the same crime the very same day. I would definitely not recommend that anyone stays in this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here two night and had two rooms, one for me and my husband and one for my two teenagers. They hotel staff were very welcoming and put us in rooms quite close to each other. The rooms were of an average size and the bathrooms had good facilities. Everything was very clean and modern. The wifi was not very reliable and better in one room than the other.
The hotel calls itself an art hotel and the lobby and restaurant are dotted with works of art, both paintings and sculptures. Our breakfast was included as a deal in the price we paid, which was good because it was very expensive otherwise, although there was plenty of choice.
The staff were very helpful.
If this hotel was nearer to the center of Amsterdam I would definately stay again, but it is at least a ten minute walk to the nearest tramstop and then a half an hour ride to get anywhere near the center of Amsterdam, longer if you want to go to the trainstation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. It is very modern and a fun place to stay. Public spaces are light and airy and the art work is colourful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The rooms are quite large and the beds are really comfortable. Although it is located on a Business Park (near IBM Centre) it is more leafy than we imagined. Plenty of trees around and some very pretty water features. The area is semi-residential - lots of apartments and it is very peaceful. The walk to the Tram was quite pleasant - ducks in the waterways - someone was even fishing! It is a safe area to stay - families out of their bikes and dog walkers gave the place a relaxed feel. Service in the hotel was excellent and all staff spoke English. Breakfast was really good - lots of choice hot and cold. There is a small fitness room and you can hire bikes from reception. There are lots of quite cycle paths to enjoy - not like central Amsterdam where cycle lanes are busy. There are no shops, restaurants or pubs nearby. Prices for food and drinks were ok - average for 4 stars. TRANSPORT: there is a 195 bus from Airport that drops you off at IBM Cente at stop John M Keynesplain - it costs 4 euros for a single. It is a 3 mins walk from the bus stop. Do note that there is NO AIRPORT bus on a Sunday. Only sensible route is to get a Taxi - it cost 30 euros. OTHER BUSES - there is a 145 bus that stops outside the hotel (it does not run at the weekends) It stops near the side of the hotel that has a water feature and outdoor seating. Do note that is runs every 30 mins. It will take you into central Amsterdam - we got off at Museumplein. Tip: Amsterdam is so compact you can walk most places. so we did not bother with day ticket which is 7.5 euros. A single to Museumplein was 2 euros - we found this was best for us. The bus takes 20 mins to get to Museumplein and it goes through the suburbs - very pretty! Lots of nice small shops to see. TRAM - No 2 runs every 10 mins to the Centre - fare is 2.80 euros for a one hour ticket single. Again we found it cheaper just to get 2 singles and then walk the rest. It is a really easy walk to the Tram - max of 10mins. Bus is better for when it rains (it did). It took a little time to work out transport but hotel is so good it was worth the extra time travelling. We would return!
Only problem we had was that we could not get sound on TV - despite seeking help from staff. It was not a problem - not much time to watch TV! There is plenty to see and do in Amsterdam and no shortage of nice places to eat! Great time had despite the wet weather!

Room Tip: Rooms are great - nicely decorated and they have tea and coffee facilities. Bathrooms are good. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived to Artemis after a 19 hour plane ride and it was a welcome sight.
Great Things about Artemis:
- Very Clean and comfortable rooms
- A/C
- Great WIFI connection
- Beautiful Grounds
- Helpful staff that new english and several other languages
- Good prices

We gave up location, but the tram into town was a 10 min walk and gave us a glimpse of all areas of Amsterdam which made our next day plan easy to find.

We saved about 60 euros on cab fare from airport since the Artemis in only 10 mins from the airport. We did not see the location as such a negative after our stay,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was in this Hotel with other 8 colleagues as we were participating to a Trade-show in Amsterdam.
This Hotel is not safe as you risk to be face to face with people that enter in your room to stole valuable things and especially money. This is the way in which it happens: you go to have your breakfast, you are forced to give your room number. While you are spending your time having Breakfast somebody enters in your room and stole valuable things and money. This happened to me, to two other colleagues and other persons in the same day. By surfing the web I found that other people had similar problem with this hotel. To another person stole a MONTBLANC pen, but for me and my wife was even worse. In fact they stole two MAC 15" retina, one iPAD and 550 euro and to another colleague 190 euro.
Here is the link with the POLICE REPORT:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46598171/artemis.pdf

I did the report to police, but I am sure that other persons have been stolen of money, but they did not did any report to Police as they realized the theft happened only later and probably they did not connect to the hotel. In fact in the Hotel they are so good that, after having stolen the money, they put everything in very good order; the result is that you go to Tradeshow (in our case) or to town (if you are a tourist) and you will discover about the theft only very late and much probably you will think that your money has been stolen in the Tradeshow or in the restaurant, etc.

This Hotel is NOT SAFE.
Escape this hotel. can you imagine if you or your wife or you child find somebody in your room with your wallet in his hand?

Finally

Two of my colleagues reported that their room was not cleaned and was not cleaned even after their complaint.

Room Tip: escape this hotel. can you imagine if you or your wife or you child find somebody in your room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is far from the center but very comfortable. The room was bigand clean. It had a coffe/tea set.
Near the elivator there was an ice machine
The only thing was that it didn't have any supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.