We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel a little out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel a little out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived to Artemis after a 19 hour plane ride and it was a welcome sight.
Great Things about Artemis:
- Very Clean and comfortable rooms
- A/C
- Great WIFI connection
- Beautiful Grounds
- Helpful staff that new english and several other languages
- Good prices

We gave up location, but the tram into town was a 10 min walk and gave us a glimpse of all areas of Amsterdam which made our next day plan easy to find.

We saved about 60 euros on cab fare from airport since the Artemis in only 10 mins from the airport. We did not see the location as such a negative after our stay,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    265
    134
    56
    25
See reviews for
39
271
33
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was in this Hotel with other 8 colleagues as we were participating to a Trade-show in Amsterdam.
This Hotel is not safe as you risk to be face to face with people that enter in your room to stole valuable things and especially money. This is the way in which it happens: you go to have your breakfast, you are forced to give your room number. While you are spending your time having Breakfast somebody enters in your room and stole valuable things and money. This happened to me, to two other colleagues and other persons in the same day. By surfing the web I found that other people had similar problem with this hotel. To another person stole a MONTBLANC pen, but for me and my wife was even worse. In fact they stole two MAC 15" retina, one iPAD and 550 euro and to another colleague 190 euro.
Here is the link with the POLICE REPORT:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46598171/artemis.pdf

I did the report to police, but I am sure that other persons have been stolen of money, but they did not did any report to Police as they realized the theft happened only later and probably they did not connect to the hotel. In fact in the Hotel they are so good that, after having stolen the money, they put everything in very good order; the result is that you go to Tradeshow (in our case) or to town (if you are a tourist) and you will discover about the theft only very late and much probably you will think that your money has been stolen in the Tradeshow or in the restaurant, etc.

This Hotel is NOT SAFE.
Escape this hotel. can you imagine if you or your wife or you child find somebody in your room with your wallet in his hand?

Finally

Two of my colleagues reported that their room was not cleaned and was not cleaned even after their complaint.

Room Tip: escape this hotel. can you imagine if you or your wife or you child find somebody in your room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is far from the center but very comfortable. The room was bigand clean. It had a coffe/tea set.
Near the elivator there was an ice machine
The only thing was that it didn't have any supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel and have got to say we couldn't fault it at all. We booked directly through the hotel website and got a package for £140 for friday and saturday night which included breakfast on both mornings and a meal at there sister hoter Dee poort brassiere in Amsterdam. We arrived at the hotel at about 9.30am after getting the bus number 195 from the airport. We was just hoping to leave our bags but they actually let us check into our rooms then.
The tram line is easy to walk to and it only takes about 15 mins to amsterdam. The breakfast at the hotel was very good with lots of choice cheeses, meats,streaky bacon, various eggs veal sausages, fruit and lots of breads. The free meal we got was excellent we had a soup as starter and we got a steak chips and pepper sauce. This was the best steak we have had in a long time.
When we was checking out we had to leave at 6 in the morning so we arranged for a taxi to take us which was 25 euros which i didn't think was to bad. As we was going so early we would miss breakfast so they do a breakfast box which we asked for and there was lots in there and you can take it in the airport with you.
overall I couldn't fault this hotel at all the staff was all helpful the rooms where excellent only advise would be to take your own iron as theres wasn't good at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here, the breakfast was very good the staff were super helpful and it was only a short bus, tram or taxi ride into town, the bus and tram being very much cheaper. The hotel is very modern and is also very clean and tidy. The beds are nice and comfortable, the actual bedrooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are very clean and functional.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The bus stop is 2/3 minutes walk from the hotel lobby and they leave about every 30 minutes, 1.5-3 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there for a City Trip and enjoyed it very much.
The rooms are nice, clean and in a good shape.
Breakfast buffet offers wide choice and the terrace is just great to have the breakfast there.
Only the rush of the asianleisure groups during breakfast was little inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? I booked this hotel to be out of the hustle and bustle and as a result a quieter experience. However, it was probably too far out! There is a tram that takes about 25 minutes to get in the centre (line 2). However, I can see that coming in and out for leisure purposes a real bind! Be aware there is Nothing local to the hotel, so whatever you choose to do will be by Taxi or Public transport! If you chose this hotel with this in mind you cannot fault it, clean, tidy, helpful staff and a quiet location all made this trip worthwhile! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;