We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...not close to city though...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel...not close to city though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It takes half an hour to get to the city so if you are planning a city trip...maybe not the best idea. But if you are having a quick stop over before/after a flight then it's great!

The rooms are very nice and modern and the beds are very comfortable. I like the bathroom and the staff were all super friendly which is unusual for The Netherlands in my experience with the country.

One little thing disturbed me...my towel had a lipstick mark on it on the edge closest to the sink, obviously from the previous inhabitant who used it to wipe her (or his!!?) finger clean after applying... as I do too. The cleaners should have seen this...

The mini bar is stocked with beer, water and pringles and included in the room rate!

Parking is ex-y. 19.50 euros per night!! Also the breakfast is expensive too so we didn't even take it.

Also, they said there was Free wifi...well in my room there was no reception what-so-ever...and even in the reception area I couldn't log on....

If you are staying a while zip down to Belgieplein to the Albert Heijn and pick up some food.

Room Tip: Room 201 has no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    246
    120
    55
    25
See reviews for
36
251
31
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was located very close to the place of my meeting but quite far from city center of Amsterdam .
Not a 4 star hotel bathroom require a good cleaning ,like the rest of the rooom .
No minibar if you want a bottle of water you hve to go at reception ,in breakfast i did't have too many choises the only good part was cofee .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was quite nice but was in the middle of nowhere, it was a 10 minute walk then another 20 mins on a bus/tram to get into town.
The bathrooms have weird glass doors which don't block out noise, so when my friends on the toilet i could hear every little noise, which would of been very uncomfortable if i was staying there with a girlfriend.

The breakfast was horrible and cold, we both took a few bites then left it, and our bathroom sink was blocked so we asked if someone could sort it, we was told someone would be up within 20 minutes but nobody came until the next day after we enquired again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean modern pleasant hotel. Room & bathroom very nice. Comfy beds. Pleasant breakfast sitting next to manmade lake. You will need a Taxi to get to the centre of Amsterdam which the hotel receptionist booked for us. Not too far from airport by taxi. Great city to visit, friendly people, lots to see, watch out for crazy cyclists tho...they don't like you walking in cycling paths even tho you can't get on pavement because of cafe tables chairs. Had a great time, took trip down the canals, red light district, great shops, cafes and bars., cant't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Check travel arrangements too and from hotel, may be cheaper getting local transport rather than tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I chose this hotel basing on its price, with comparison to others available in Amsterdam. The hotel is located in the business zone and is a bit away from the centre. Area does not look appealing and rather empty but seemed safe. There is nothing in the vicinity that tourists may want – bars, shops, restaurants etc. But there was a bus/tram stop nearby and I guess it enabled an easy access to the centre. Since I was there in a very cold February we opted for taxies (to the centre and to the airport).
The hotel itself looks new, with a modern, clean and spacious, and so do the rooms. Rooms are nicely decorated with all the facilities needed. We managed to catch wi-fi in the room too. The one thing that stuck in my head where the too soft bed mattresses, and I am very picky when it comes to hotel beds.
Overall recommended for its price, style and the comfort of the rooms. However, bear in mind it is away from the centre and one needs public transport/taxi to get anywhere. But if you do not mind it is a good choice away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Schipol airport on Sunday which meant we had to take a 25EUR cab instead of the 4EUR bus. Hotel is clean and very spacious, staff very friendly & helpful. Free WiFi in lobby and rooms is a bonus but was very weak in our room. The room was quite large, nice bed, air cond worked well even though temp was 30+ degrees! Restaurant food looked a little expensive so we only ate in the town, where there is a huge variety of cuisines to suit all budgets. We bought a 72 hour GVB travel card each for 16EUR which allowed us unlimited tram travel for the duration. Highly recommend this, the trams are fast & regular, although stifling hot during the heatwave. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the tram stop & about 25mins ride to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Am at the Artemis hotel now and I must say we have had a very pleasant stay. The staff have been more than helpful and friendly.

The hotel is around 15 minutes from the airport, very very close. This does however mean it is a 20 minute tram ride away from the city centre. This is very easy to use though and is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We used the trams for the whole holiday and were a god send to get us from place to place.

The breakfast in the hotel was excellent. I am very fussy and was worried but there is cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and cold meats. Something for everyone.

The rooms are big and spacious and always kept clean. Cleaners were really friendly and didnt mind coming

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.