We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a great stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, gave us our the tourist information required regarding day trips and maps etc. Our room was great and the bed amazing and so big. The shower was amazing and never a shortage of hot water and the under floor heating the bathroom was a bonus! The breakfast was amazing and we had dinner in the hotel one night, the food was good but we felt a bit overpriced.

One thing, the hotel will ask for a 50 Euro deposit either in cash or on your card, to be returned once you leave so make sure you budget for this.

The location perhaps for some is not ideal but if you plan to make the trip into town once and plan your day we found this the best thing to do. The tram stop was easy to use and buying a 3 day travel pass saved us money and made taking public transport so much easier.

Do make sure you stock up on milk, juice etc before returning to the hotel as there is not alot around it but a fridge in the room helps to keep it chilled.

When you head to the tram stop, leave the hotel at the back and cross over a little bridge; there are some houses, walk through this area and you will come to the main road and the tram stop. 10 minute walk at the most.

Do you research though for your day trips generally as alot of them you can do yourself, for less money and you are not stuck to someone elses timetable.

Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Renee P,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience in our hotel. It is good to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the room facilities. Your clear explanation of the short walk through the green area is the nicest way to get to the tram stop. We have a lot of touristic information available at the reception and we are always happy to assist you planning your trip or booking a guided tour. We are looking forward welcoming you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    286
    139
    59
    27
See reviews for
41
292
33
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

In short - Hotel reached all my expectations, especially with the deal we got. However, like other reviews its location can be an issue for some but it wasn't for us. Hotel reception furnished us with all the transport details and using the three day tram pass and detailed map, we were mobile. Had a great time - check out the acts on the Paradiso!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear PaulHC,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that we have reached your expectations and you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.
We hope we are able to welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn,Denbighshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.It's only 10 mins from the airport and about 20 mins from the town centre.The public transport is excellent and it's only 10 mins walk to the tram stop.The room was very spacious and we had comfortable beds.My partner smokes,so we asked for a smoking room and we got one on the 8th floor.We didn't get any breakfast because it was quite expensive but everything else was excellent.We would go there again.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ,you can get a nice room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear viduska,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to read you have enjoyed the different public transport connections to the city centre as well as to the airport. We have a few smoking rooms available and we do our utmost to meet your request to book a smoking room.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Lincs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After couple of bad experiences with hotels nearer city centre tried further out this time and was pleasantly surprised.
For about same price got a modern,clean and comfortable hotel with very pleasant staff.
Food good and prices reasonable for a hotel. Facilities in hotel may be a bit sparse but that is not what we wanted it for.
May be a bit out of city but the efficient tram and metro system meant anywhere in city could be reached easily.
Will use again if i9n city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear dippydennis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are happy to read you have enjoyed your first stay out of the bustling city centre of Amsterdam. With the different public transport connections all day you are right in the middle of the city centre in approximately 25 minutes. We are looking forward to welcome you in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis when you visit the city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay here, it is a very modern stylish hotel (think posh ikea) & you will get the picture! Room was great, comfy beds etc & very clean. BUT, this primarily a business hotel, stuck right in the middle of high rise office blocks. As such the bar/ lounge area is very clinical & impersonal, no atmosphere at all, we had a pint & half of lager (9 euros), & stayed 20 minutes. Breakfast was well presented with good selection of hot & cold food on offer.

As this a business hotel, it is too far out of town for day trippers like us. It was 10 mins walk to Tram station, but we found the best way into town was to get the 145 bus at the back of hotel, which runs every 30mins. Get off at Leidesplein, then get tram into town. Best to get a Tram pass, one,two or three day passes available, then you can travel on any tram all day long. Having said that, it is a good half hour trip to town centre. This means we had to stay out all day & evening! Otherwise it would have meant 4 trips backwards & forwards if we wanted to go back to hotel during the day & out again in the evening.
Don't get me wrong, it was a great deal for the price, and if you don't mind trekking about on buses & trams it is absolutely fine, but for the older age group like us it is a bit gruelling, we would probably pick a hotel nearer the centre next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mikeyb21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel.
The hotel is indeed located in a business area, with several public transport connections to the city centre of Amsterdam. Thank you for your clear explanation how to get easy to the city centre.
We hope we can welcome you again at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis when we have another great deal available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently for a conference. The people at check-in were friendly. Other than that it was not a great stay. They claim to have free wi-fi but the wireless was almost non existent. When I called down to the front desk one night to ask about it the guy told me that it worked on his phone. So I guess for him that was good enough customer service for him. The lobby is decorated with alot of art, however the rooms look like the furniture is from IKEA. THey also have a security hole in their conference rooms because the presentations of the group next door showed up on our screen when they used the wireless to present. So you info may not be confidential if you stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear diamondHH,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We regret that the WiFi connection was not reliable during your stay. There were a few problems with the connection for a couple of days. Because of this situation we have informed our receptionist about the right settings for a fast WiFi connection, so they can help every guests to get the right settings at their device. Our apologies for not informing you about the wireless internet.
We have updated our beamer system a few months ago. One of the new options includes a button that synchronise the screens, this is helpful when there are multiple screens in the meeting room. Unfortunately the function of this button is not very clear, so guests can synchronise the screens by accident. We apologise that this situation occurred at your presentation. We take the privacy of our guests very seriously so therefore our maintenance team has taken measures.
We hope we are able to welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had a pleasant stay. The hotel looked very nice from the outside, and even more so inside. The room was very spacious and had a lot of storage space. Stylishly designed, the room was a pleasure to stay in. The bathroom was large too which was a nice change from standard European hotels. However the highlight was most definitely the beds. Although we requested a double room, we were actually given a twin room with 2 large single beds, although we just pushed the 2 beds together. The beds were exceptionally comfortable - the best beds I've slept in to date! It was definitely a struggle getting up in the mornings!

The issue I had was only really with the location. It was about an 11 minute walk to the nearest tram stop which gets you to the city centre in 15-20 minutes, but we took a short cut through grassland which didn't feel particularly safe or well-lit. However there was never anyone around, and there were lots of rabbits at night hopping around which my partner and I found very endearing!

As such, this hotel would be good if you're a business person as it's in the business district, or if you're someone who doesn't mind that the hotel isn't right in the centre of town. For us it was fine, but it would have been nicer to have slightly closer/better transport links.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear katandko,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our comfy beds and the room facilities during your stay. To get to the city center of Amsterdam, you can take the tram or bus. To take tram #2 you can indeed walk through a grassland or at the street. Bus #145 stops right behind the hotel and takes you twice an hour in 25 minutes – depending on traffic – to different squares in Amsterdam. So a longer walk in the dark evenings is not required!
We hope we can welcome you another time in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis so you can enjoy the best beds you slept in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.