We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is just perfect for my business trips, close to the tram station and even closer to the 145 bus station.
Excellent breakfast service, average restaurant (pretty slow service).
My room was quite big and clean.
The fans are pretty noisy so I switched them off.
Minibar is empty, no way to get water in the room, you have to go down and buy some at the reception!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear dalmata22,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel and your compliments about our location and breakfast.
A few months ago we have decided to empty the mini bars in the rooms, because the items in the mini bar were not used enough and we had a lot of waste. Instead of a filled mini bar we are now selling a larger variety and mini packages at our front office and the guests have the option to store their own drinks or food in the fridge. If you would like to have a drink and do not feel like going down at the reception, we offer a 24/7 room service as well.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    271
    136
    57
    26
See reviews for
39
275
33
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My fiance and I booked this hotel as part of a deal including flights through lastminute.com.

Yes it isn't in the centre of Amsterdam however if you do your research and plan properly then you really won't have any problems getting into Amsterdam. We both enjoy hotels in quieter areas so this was perfect. Very modern and all the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this standard. There are more amenities than some of the hotels I stayed in with higher classifications.

We ony had breakfast on our last morning and it was great with a wide variety of choice for both continental and cooked breakfasts.

Our only niggle was that the taps in the bathrooms didn't indictae hot or cold but once you figured it out then it wasn't an issue. The staff were great and made sure our room was ready for us earlier than usual on the day of arrival.

We have both decided that when we go back to Amsterdam we will most certainly be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear redbear81,

Thank you for your feedback about your experience in our hotel. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed the quiet area of our hotel, away or the bustling city center.
You can take bus 145 or tram 2 to the city center of Amsterdam, the receptionist are happy to provide you with schedules and maps with the different directions.
We hope to welcoming you again soon in our hotel if you decide to go back to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

my partner and i spent 3 days here had a great stay,room was very clean and tidy,the hotel is very "ARTY" SOME GREAT STUFF THERE,breakfast was superb loads ao choice and eat as much as you wanted,only bad point thought it was only 10 to 15 mins from dam square but sometimes it took 25 to 30 mins on the tram it also took a little time to get to the nearest tram stop,all in all had a great time what a great city.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
It is good to read that you liked the current exhibition. Every three months the ground floor of the hotel is changed in a different setting and each exhibition has its own theme.
Indeed, the tram takes you in about 25 minutes – depending on traffic – from the quiet area of the hotel to the bustle city center of Amsterdam. The bus stop of bus 145 is right behind the hotel.
We hope we can welcome you back again in our hotel, with a different exhibition and other art and design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I found this hotel through trip advisor and since it had a four star rating and a reasonable pricing for Amsterdam I decided to book it up. The room was quite clean but there were incredibly large stains on the bed frame and torn curtains. The cooling system does not work at all, so avoid in summer especially in a heat wave period as it would be much better off to sleep in the lobby than in your room. More over they will ask you for a 50 euro deposit which is unlikely to be returned. Minibar is also kept empty. The location of the hotel is good if you are driving, but not so good if you are using public transport. The tram to the centre of Amsterdam is just 10 minutes away but it may take up to 40 minutes to get to the central station. Breakfast is good. Parking fees in the hotel are definitely WAY too expensive, there are some free parking places in Karlmarx street area off the back of the hotel. There is a bus to the airport that stops nearby the hotel and its very convenient BUT it does not operate on weekends.....

To sum it up, I will be avoiding this hotel in this future.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor at all costs in heat waves. I am not so sure about winter either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Kevin_B1975,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We regret that the facilities in our hotel did not meet your expectations.

As per our previous correspondence which we had with you regarding the complaints above we apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are shocked at your experience in our hotel and we did not have the knowledge that your room was in such a state when you checked in. Obviously all the issues you had should have been dealt with during your stay.

The 50 euro deposit was a reserved amount on your credit card, a standard procedure of the receptionists. Depending on your credit card company the deposit releases automatically in about two or three days after check-out.

We do hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel. Please contact us at the same email address as we communicated before when you are planning to visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I spent 3 days at the Artemis. This was our first time staying outside the central. The hotel itself was very nice with some wonderful artwork (Art & Design students should visit this hotel for ideas). The room was clean, the shower was a bit confusing to use, but we got there in the end. We were provided with useful information e.g. bus schedules from one of the staff. There was a lot of choice for breakfast and I must say we had 2 helpings :) The staff were pleasant and polite apart from our last day, we had to leave early i.e. 7.00 to catch our flight back. The Reception said we could sit outside in the garden until the taxi arrived and one of the waiters (tall and miserable - did not see face properly :) ) told us that the area was closed until 8.00. I told him that the Reception gave us permission to sit outside and he did not respond.

Travelling from the hotel to the Cental was between 15-20 mins which gave us time to observe the surroundings. We loved the 3 days were were there - we had a wonderful time. The weather was fantastic - hot, hot, hot. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sunra28,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your first stay in a quiet area outside the bustling city center. Especially with the nice weather you had – and hot summers are rare in Holland! It is nice to read you liked the art and design in our lobby. Every three months we have a different exhibition with a different theme, we have actually had a exhibition in cooperation with Art & Design students.
Our terrace is officially open from 8 a.m., but of course we are happy to make an exception in the days you can enjoy the morning sun! We hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms where clean and had some nice art. How ever the one staff member we seemed to have deal with are rude and almost snotty. Which is very odd as all the other ppl in Amsterdam r very pleasant. If u put the "do not disturb" sign on ur door they will start calling ur room to see when they can clean. What part of do not disturbs don't they understand as I was trying to sleep with a really bad headache. About a 10-15 min walk to the tram n 25 min ride in. Just a lil to far for my likening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of university students as we were visiting Amsterdam for an educational visit. We stayed here for one night as we were flying back to England early that morning. After staying in student accommodation for the past few night, this place was a palace. The rooms were a good size, they were clean and up to date, i could not fault it. We got internet to use the wifi which was quick and reliable, and the staff were polite and helpful at reception. The food was nice, both hot and cold; although it is not worth the price you pay. This hotel is nice, but the bus and tram journies are long, irritating and boring, so it is not good for people who want to be going to town all the time. Also it is quite isolated, so expect to be eating at the hotel all the time as there ia nowhere to eat or do anything nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.