We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much worse than expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Marsascala, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much worse than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I found this hotel through trip advisor and since it had a four star rating and a reasonable pricing for Amsterdam I decided to book it up. The room was quite clean but there were incredibly large stains on the bed frame and torn curtains. The cooling system does not work at all, so avoid in summer especially in a heat wave period as it would be much better off to sleep in the lobby than in your room. More over they will ask you for a 50 euro deposit which is unlikely to be returned. Minibar is also kept empty. The location of the hotel is good if you are driving, but not so good if you are using public transport. The tram to the centre of Amsterdam is just 10 minutes away but it may take up to 40 minutes to get to the central station. Breakfast is good. Parking fees in the hotel are definitely WAY too expensive, there are some free parking places in Karlmarx street area off the back of the hotel. There is a bus to the airport that stops nearby the hotel and its very convenient BUT it does not operate on weekends.....

To sum it up, I will be avoiding this hotel in this future.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor at all costs in heat waves. I am not so sure about winter either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Kevin_B1975,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We regret that the facilities in our hotel did not meet your expectations.

As per our previous correspondence which we had with you regarding the complaints above we apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are shocked at your experience in our hotel and we did not have the knowledge that your room was in such a state when you checked in. Obviously all the issues you had should have been dealt with during your stay.

The 50 euro deposit was a reserved amount on your credit card, a standard procedure of the receptionists. Depending on your credit card company the deposit releases automatically in about two or three days after check-out.

We do hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel. Please contact us at the same email address as we communicated before when you are planning to visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    308
    145
    61
    27
See reviews for
41
313
34
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I spent 3 days at the Artemis. This was our first time staying outside the central. The hotel itself was very nice with some wonderful artwork (Art & Design students should visit this hotel for ideas). The room was clean, the shower was a bit confusing to use, but we got there in the end. We were provided with useful information e.g. bus schedules from one of the staff. There was a lot of choice for breakfast and I must say we had 2 helpings :) The staff were pleasant and polite apart from our last day, we had to leave early i.e. 7.00 to catch our flight back. The Reception said we could sit outside in the garden until the taxi arrived and one of the waiters (tall and miserable - did not see face properly :) ) told us that the area was closed until 8.00. I told him that the Reception gave us permission to sit outside and he did not respond.

Travelling from the hotel to the Cental was between 15-20 mins which gave us time to observe the surroundings. We loved the 3 days were were there - we had a wonderful time. The weather was fantastic - hot, hot, hot. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations_team, Guest Relations Manager at Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Sunra28,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your first stay in a quiet area outside the bustling city center. Especially with the nice weather you had – and hot summers are rare in Holland! It is nice to read you liked the art and design in our lobby. Every three months we have a different exhibition with a different theme, we have actually had a exhibition in cooperation with Art & Design students.
Our terrace is officially open from 8 a.m., but of course we are happy to make an exception in the days you can enjoy the morning sun! We hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms where clean and had some nice art. How ever the one staff member we seemed to have deal with are rude and almost snotty. Which is very odd as all the other ppl in Amsterdam r very pleasant. If u put the "do not disturb" sign on ur door they will start calling ur room to see when they can clean. What part of do not disturbs don't they understand as I was trying to sleep with a really bad headache. About a 10-15 min walk to the tram n 25 min ride in. Just a lil to far for my likening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of university students as we were visiting Amsterdam for an educational visit. We stayed here for one night as we were flying back to England early that morning. After staying in student accommodation for the past few night, this place was a palace. The rooms were a good size, they were clean and up to date, i could not fault it. We got internet to use the wifi which was quick and reliable, and the staff were polite and helpful at reception. The food was nice, both hot and cold; although it is not worth the price you pay. This hotel is nice, but the bus and tram journies are long, irritating and boring, so it is not good for people who want to be going to town all the time. Also it is quite isolated, so expect to be eating at the hotel all the time as there ia nowhere to eat or do anything nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights; arrived at Schipol airport in time for the number 145 bus which would have taken us to the hotel (2 mins walk) however our luggage was not on the plane with us so we were delayed; filling in info at the desk which was fairly quick to be honest.. anyhow this done we missed the last bus 10pm and waited 30 mins for the number 69 bus which took us within 10/12 mins walk away from the hotel. We booked in quickly; note they block 100 Euro on your credit/debit card just in case you run up a bill so make sure you have 100 spare.
Room was very nice; everything you would need and the reception desk man gave us toothbrushes and toothpaste. Book bed and breakfast as breakfast is expensive if you pay as extra; plenty of choice; as much as you like; really good fresh food; lovely breads; meats; hot and cold food; I'm sure nobody could complain; big choice of hot/cold drinks too.
Staff are very helpful and friendly; buy a gvb card for the tram/bus (calculate hours you will be there and buy accordingly) and you can travel round hop on/off all day, make sure you scan it when you get on and off; the assistant in the middle of the tram will help you with directions/stops. very good value and very helpful.. the hotel is out of the city but this is not a problem at all, you see more and have more choices for eating etc. our luggage arrived on the second eve which was a relief; 3rd night we got caught in a freak downpour which drenched us to the skin, thank goodness for the trouser press and iron/board located in the wardrobe; easy to slide out and use and dried our trousers. We booked the taxi for aiprort run; could have got a bus but left early, shuttle was more expensive as they charge per person. Taxi driver was very nice and took us to our departure gate. Charge was 25Euro. It would have been nice to sit outside for breakfast, watching the ducks but as it was raining a lot we didn't..We would use this hotel again and would go for longer next time and hopefully the luggage will be on the same plane; at least I didn't have much washing when we arrived home..
Oh; when you go to the tram stop, leave the hotel walk to the back and over the little bridge; there are some houses across, walk through this area and you will come to the main road and tram stops; this is a short cut; there is also a bus stop when you get over the bridge.

Room Tip: it's a quiet area so don't think the location of the room matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel was excellent. The rooms very clean and well ordered but needed more coat hangers. Tea and coffee making facilitities supplied and replenished daily. Rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. An empty fridge was available for use if you want to store fresh milk etc. The prices of food and drink seemed on the high side particularly breakfast. The menu choice for dinner was limited and the luncheon menu was rather expensine. If breakfast is booked on the first day for throughout the stay a generous discount is available. We tried with and without breakfast but found that we actually spent more money throughout the day when breakfast wasn't taken. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us.

The location is a little too far out for tourists but the bus stops outside and is very reliable. We did not find the 15-20 minute journey a problem at all. Avoid taking the hotel shuttle bus from the airport as it is far too expensive for a short journey. The bus runs straight from the airport to the hotel and costs 4 euros.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back seating area and was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

It was a late lunch, the menu was read in advance. The food and service was as hoped for, but we also came for the "art part". Residential art was all around, this for a second term in their continious exhibitions. We liked it, we loved walking around between dishes.
We are regular guests. The best we have seen here was the "paper art" from Marian Smit, only a few years ago.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.