We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“original but too far from downtown” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“original but too far from downtown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I often go to this hotel for work, I would never stay here on vacation because it is too far from downtown and it is too expensive for what it offers. We can say it is not dirty but neither is really spotless, the breakfast is way too expensive (about € 19), althought the selection of food is good.
I have tried dinner once or twice but it is not good and expensive. There are no bars or other activities in the areas so it you stay there on vacation the only thing you can do is taking the bus nr 2 and go to downtown. for the same price you can get a way better hotel in a central area of Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    347
    169
    65
    32
See reviews for
47
356
36
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good hotel, spacious guestrooms, modern design, clean, extensive breakfast, big underground parking... Everything you may want from the hotel in Amsterdam. Among minuses - location: business and resedntial area, far away from city center. Direct connection by tram (approximately 30-40 minutes) + around 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the tram stop. Please note that there is free of charge bus, leaving every 10-15 minutes from this business area to nearby subway station. Unfortunately his bus operates only during business hours, as it provides services to the companies in this business area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in June 2012. It's located in a business area close to Schiphol. We took a bus from the airport for 4 euros per person and it took about 15-20 minutes. A cab takes about 10 minutes and it costs about 20 euros. The area is very calm and it felt safe. The room was ok, a normal size and normal standard. The only thing I can complain about is that the door to the toilet is not a regular door that closes, it's a see trough kind of glass door and you cannot lock it. I didn't feel comfortable to use the bathroom with all it needs when the door was like that.

The bus to central Amsterdam takes about 20 minutes and costs about 2 euros per person.

The breakfast was kind of expensive, about 18 euros per person but it was worth it. The have a large outdoor restaurant and bar.

I would definitely stay here again, I don't mind living a bit outside the central city. It's convenient to take the bus and you get a much more higher class hotel for a smaller amount of money rather than staying in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice enough hotel - well furnished with some nice looking (and pricey!) contemporary art pieces but to be honest if I wanted to view art in Amsterdam there are some pretty well known museums in the city! As a hotel it has some massive failings. Firstly the manager. It absolutely astounds me how such a hapless individual can land a managers job in a 4* hotel. Trust me this guy could not run a bath and his customer relation skills leave a lot to be desired. For me the fact I am not a business customer is maybe part of the problem as I actually have to pay my own way (and at 5.75 a pint and 17 euros a burger its a bit of a stretch!) and expect better. Wouldn't care if it was decent - but it was average at best. The breakfast isn't bad (even though 'Dracula and 'Brigitte Nielson' are 2 of the most miserable looking staff I have ever encountered in any hotel and could not get the food away quick enough). Breakfast is HIGHLY recommended as the hotel is NOWHERE NEAR any other food outlets/pubs/bars. In fact its not near anything really and if its a leisure/tourist visit you are on then I highly suggest you look for somewhere nearer the city as a taxi back late at night will stand you £30. Bottom line is its OK if you are on an all expenses business trip but forget it as a base to see.the wonderful city that is Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

we visited in june this year and found this hotel to far from city centre. first night a man appeared in our room at 1am in the morning as we are in our seventies this was alarming second night was over charged in the bar and the staff had no idea what they were doing no apoligy was given on both events hotel rooms great and room staff very good would not revisit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is situated next to both IBM offices which was a walking distance. The room was clean and they give you FREE and unlimited Internet vouchers, maybe this has changed, but this was good for me.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is very modern, rooms a great size, small gym but location is not good if you want to sightsee. This hotel is ideal for business as it's a bit out of the way and you have all the large corporate clients hq locate around you. The food is very very nice and great selection for breakfast. If staying more than 1 night don't book breakfast until you reach the hotel and then ask for a discounted rate for breakfast..works every time.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a few and all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
7.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#208 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.9 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#265 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#121 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
#148 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
1.3 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel Amsterdam

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#112 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Artemis Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.