We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky design rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dwars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dwars to your Saves list
Hotel Dwars
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Utrechtsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Quirky design rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a group of 10 girls for a hen weekend, all of our rooms were designed in slightly different ways but all really quirky and stylish. The rooms aren’t huge but they’re big enough, very comfy beds and pillows and nice big powerful shower and clean bathroom. Even on a 2 night stay our rooms were cleaned & fresh towels provided.

There isn’t a reception just a ‘cupboard’ with the computer/paperwork in, and the staff arrive to the hotel for check in/check out times. They do leave a number to call if you need anything & there’s a buzzer on the door in case of any problems too, we managed to get in touch with the staff easily each time we needed to. The hotel is located in a lovely area full of cafés and shops, a 10 minute walk into Rembrandt Square (so far enough away for it to be quiet). The only negative I’d say is the stairs are extremely narrow & steep, so it was tiring for the girls in the rooms on the top floors (if you’re elderly or have mobility problems definitely avoid this hotel or ask for a guaranteed ground or second floor room).

Room Tip: Stairs are very narrow & steep (no lifts), so ask for ground or second floor rooms if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Dwars in the loft room ie top floors. The Dwars has 9 rooms and this was on the top floor, narrow staircase makes it a challenge for some. But the staff was very helpful, even taking our luggage up the 4 floors. This building was a youth hostel, very nicely renovated to a boutique inn. There is a tram stop 50m from the front door, so getting around is very easy.

The room was actually the whole top floor - two rooms and a bathroom. Quaint, quiet, comfortable, trendy - a very nice place. There are plenty of restaurants, cafés, bakeries, grocers nearby. This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: if narrow stairs are not an issue, the loft is wonderful. If stairs are an issue,then asked for low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Myself and a group of friends took our first trip to Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel recently. It is a great place to stay, the rooms are modern, clean and decorated beautifully. Could not have asked for more. Pleasant staff, great location and worth every penny paid! Cannot complain at all!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent a weekend here and absolutely loved our room! Felt brand new, very stylish, clean and comfortable bed! Close to all attractions but not noisy, we felt very safe in the area. Hosts were welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is new and located in the most convenient location in Amsterdam city center. It is very close to the tramp stop and other attractions as well. The rooms are small but for us, it didnt matter because we just used the hotel to sleep and most of the time, we were touring around the city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

First stay at hotel. Three bed room was perfect for me and 2 daughters. I loved the decor and they loved the free wifi. Lack of restaurant wasn't a problem as so many great places to eat nearby. Location was great we walked everywhere. Great value

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

3 night leisure break sharing a room for 3. Excellent location with welcoming staff. Good quality room with well appointed bathroom. Would benefit from more wardrobe space and has no storage drawers or cabinets. Be prepared for excessive noise late into the night, especially at weekends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dwars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dwars

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dwars 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dwars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dwars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.