We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most experiences in my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montmorency, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the most experiences in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Don't go there!
It's very expensive, ugly, dirty, noisy...my stay in Amsterdam was ruined by this very sad experience.
The staff was not nice at all. We wanted to cancel one night, the lady refused. She wasn't polite at all, and I heard her yell at French people who couldn't speak English fluently...
DISGUSTING
just run away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    34
    17
    82
See reviews for
6
56
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

As a group of young travellers, this place was more than ideal! It was cheap, which for Amsterdam is very difficult to find! We were given towels and a really comfy bed each. There wasn't much space in the hotel room as there were five of us, but we didn't mind. The ensuite was basic and small but you get what you pay for. We did see a small mouse dash along the skirting board but that didn't bother us. The windows were slightly temperamental and the curtains didn't block much light out but you can always bring an eye mask. The bar was never open but it wasn't really a problem. Everything was in walking distance. It was clean and we enjoyed our stay, we would all recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I were less than impressed with this hotel. The share toilet on our level was out of order. The swipe key cards locked us out of our room on a number of occasions. The smell of smoke was potent. The location was reasonable, but be prepared to rough it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

went as a group of students and after reading the reviews expected the worst but it really isnt that bad. the room was clean and its a half hour walk from central station and the zoo is very close. great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Smelly, and something bites my leg in the midnight I opened the light and have a quick check still do not know what was that... overall prices for this kind of room its not worth it, do not believe on any online offer or discount even though 5 or 10percent off it is not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After reading the reviews I was dreading the Hotel just a tad! The Hotel was easy to find (Number 9 Tram from Centraal Station and off at Plantage) and we were able to drop our cases off at 10am as Check In isn't until 2pm. Staff seemed friendly enough. Bar wasn't open on the Friday night so we just had a drink in our room. We were in Room 17, 5 girls there for a 30th Birthday Bash. Dim light in the bathroom, not a lot of storage space (at all), 2 double beds and 1 single and only 1 mirror in the bed area. But saying that if us 5 girls can have a blast and have enough room etc then surely anyone can. I found the small mattress topper beds to be comfy and we all had a good sleep (maybe something to do with drink lol). Out our window was a ledged roof so we just hopped over that for a wee smoke. There was Tram stops right up the street and its a really close by all the major tourist attractions. We went to Anne Franks House, Heineken Museum (brilliant), a canal trip and the Red Light District (you've just got to do it). Overall if I needed another cheap hotel then yeah I'd consider going back to this one. Stairs are narrow and steep up to your room but then thats just Amsterdam for you. Luckily we were on the first floor, wouldn't of fancied being any higher up. Loved Amsterdam and would def go back. Don't listen to reviews here, as long as you're not fussy, only there for a place to sleep then this is fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For the money I cant really understand what other reviewers are moaning about! We stayed in room 23, it was clean, fresh, comfortable and secure. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the cat was lovely! I would definitely recommend it as a base for anyone who wants to enjoy a break in Amsterdam and would definitely return! :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#210 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#275 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#219 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#137 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.