We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the job!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It did the job!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As a group of young travellers, this place was more than ideal! It was cheap, which for Amsterdam is very difficult to find! We were given towels and a really comfy bed each. There wasn't much space in the hotel room as there were five of us, but we didn't mind. The ensuite was basic and small but you get what you pay for. We did see a small mouse dash along the skirting board but that didn't bother us. The windows were slightly temperamental and the curtains didn't block much light out but you can always bring an eye mask. The bar was never open but it wasn't really a problem. Everything was in walking distance. It was clean and we enjoyed our stay, we would all recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    30
    13
    70
See reviews for
4
49
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I were less than impressed with this hotel. The share toilet on our level was out of order. The swipe key cards locked us out of our room on a number of occasions. The smell of smoke was potent. The location was reasonable, but be prepared to rough it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

went as a group of students and after reading the reviews expected the worst but it really isnt that bad. the room was clean and its a half hour walk from central station and the zoo is very close. great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Smelly, and something bites my leg in the midnight I opened the light and have a quick check still do not know what was that... overall prices for this kind of room its not worth it, do not believe on any online offer or discount even though 5 or 10percent off it is not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After reading the reviews I was dreading the Hotel just a tad! The Hotel was easy to find (Number 9 Tram from Centraal Station and off at Plantage) and we were able to drop our cases off at 10am as Check In isn't until 2pm. Staff seemed friendly enough. Bar wasn't open on the Friday night so we just had a drink in our room. We were in Room 17, 5 girls there for a 30th Birthday Bash. Dim light in the bathroom, not a lot of storage space (at all), 2 double beds and 1 single and only 1 mirror in the bed area. But saying that if us 5 girls can have a blast and have enough room etc then surely anyone can. I found the small mattress topper beds to be comfy and we all had a good sleep (maybe something to do with drink lol). Out our window was a ledged roof so we just hopped over that for a wee smoke. There was Tram stops right up the street and its a really close by all the major tourist attractions. We went to Anne Franks House, Heineken Museum (brilliant), a canal trip and the Red Light District (you've just got to do it). Overall if I needed another cheap hotel then yeah I'd consider going back to this one. Stairs are narrow and steep up to your room but then thats just Amsterdam for you. Luckily we were on the first floor, wouldn't of fancied being any higher up. Loved Amsterdam and would def go back. Don't listen to reviews here, as long as you're not fussy, only there for a place to sleep then this is fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For the money I cant really understand what other reviewers are moaning about! We stayed in room 23, it was clean, fresh, comfortable and secure. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the cat was lovely! I would definitely recommend it as a base for anyone who wants to enjoy a break in Amsterdam and would definitely return! :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel is nothing like what the website describes or the pictures show. There is no lift and the staircase is narrow so not suitable for carrying large suitcases up. The room was small and dirty, it was like an attic room and the walls were so thin that we cpuld hear other doors opening and closing and water pipping. The hotel staff were so grumpy and rude, there was absolutely zero customer service. There was a cat in hotel too which made it smell. Completely not worth the money that we paid.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.