We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be cheaper” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    32
    15
    69
See reviews for
4
47
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best thing about Hotel Barbacan was the location-lovely, pleasant and close enough to dam city centre to walk. However the actual hotel is really not very good, we were greeted by a terrible smell in the hallway outside our room, and the smell was even worse inside our room! it was dirty and our room was dingy and depressing, service wasn't great as our TV broke and when we called to reception they seemed angry and not very bothered to help as they didn't even come up to see it!
Our bed sheets were not changed and the room was barely cleaned.
Overall-awful.

Room Tip: Really take note of reviews before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel has it all: bad smell everywhere (perhaps insecticide, which is better than bugs), no launch, narrow staircase, poor PVC balustrade, worn carpets, minuscule rooms with poor quality doors, dirty walls, minute bathroom, cheap sheet (yes, clean), old PVC windows... all these for about euro 80/night. Try Hotel Rembrandt at the same price, which is absolutely lovely! Adriana (PS Any positive review has to be written by the owner's friends!)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was a nice hotel close to city centre and all the famous touristy places. Easy to find. Clean place.

Dislike- No sitting room facilities for the travellers who arrived earlier then the check-in time. So you would need to keep your luggage in the hotel and wander around the city (without a showr) for half of the day.

I can recommend this hotel to the budget travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hotel Barbacan was clean, staffed by capable employees and in an ideal location for travel into the city. Many cafes and restaurants were within walking distance, and the nearby tram/bus stop provided round the clock access to wider Amsterdam. The only downside was that some of the communal showers were out of order.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff isn't helpful, they're not polite, or flexible.., from the moment my friends and I arrived, the guy in reception was rude.. The debit / credit card machine "wasn't working".. there was nothing they could do.. even though our booking said that we could pay by any card.. The carpet was dirty, dusty, ..in the reception and in the room.. we were sharing the shower and toilet facilities, but it was super tiny. Usually I'm not very demanding with hotels.. I prefer a good location and I expect what I pay for.. but really.. this shouldn't be called a HOTEL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.