We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms with beautiful view and perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bema Rentals

Save Saved
You added Bema Rentals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bema Rentals
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Enschede
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms with beautiful view and perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days. From the outside it looks like an old dutch warehouse but when you walk in its like WOW. Low budget for such big rooms with high ceiling and venetian style decorated. The location was perfect, its very close to the Van Gogh museum and Vondelpark and you can easily take any tram from the hotelstreet to amsterdam centre. The service is good, well variated breakfast on bed, more than you can eat. View is amazing and the rooms are clean and i cant stop saying how big they were.. The only thing that could bother people staying here is that the bathroom is very small. When you arrive you get the key of the entrance and you will not get bothered when you come in, so its a nice and private feeling you have here. Overall you will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    65
    45
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

It had the perfect location. Walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and the park near it had the best view: very relaxing and "I AMsterdam" was within my grasp. =) The Fatboy burger sold by the park was VERY good! =) Good breakfast and good value for the money considering that it is Amsterdam. =)

The flight of stairs though was quite a challenge! =)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed not in a hotel itself but in an apartment associated with this hotel, so we have not seen the hotel rooms. This comment is about a particular apartment that we stayed in. It is located at 78 1e Con.Huygenstraat.

Location was excellent. The room itself was reasonably comfortable, the kitchen was functional. The heater was not adequate enough and we were a bit freezing there. The bathroom strongly smelled with the cat's urine (maybe from a previous tenant?) but as long as we had the bathroom door closed and didn't spend much time there, it was survivable.

But the main issue was with the design of the shower and its curtain. No matter how hard you try, it would flood the bathroom floor every time you take a shower and, unless you are extremely careful and fast, the rest of an apartment as well.

Once again, the hotel rooms themselves may be great, and the other apartments may be great but I am writing specifically about this apartment, and in this particular case, unfortunately I can NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

great hotel friendly staff and nicely decorated. room slightly damp and cold. but overall a good stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Long steep flights of stairs. Friendly staff. A good breakfast served to the room on a tray each morning. If you want a double room don't stay in Room 2 - it's tiny - apart from the bed a small table and a washbasin there was barely enough floor room for our luggage. We asked to be moved after a couple of nights and went to Room 6 which was lovely - much bigger with an en-suite shower room and lots of space. For the money we thought it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I spent one night here recently and for what you pay (€40) it is great value if you just want somewhere decent to crash in Amsterdam. The neighbourhood is nice with great tram and bus connections and adjacent to museums and a pretty little park . The bus to / from the airport drops you right outside the door and takes about 30 minutes. As previously reported, the hotel is old with basic facilities and extremely steep stairs in the typical Dutch style (think climbing a ladder) so not for the mobility challenged. I had a room with a wash basin and shared toilet / shower but there was never a problem acessing the bathrooms that were kept clean and presentable. I had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was fine and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - top marks to them. Leaving luggaage is also not a problem after you check out, so you can come back later, collect your bag and hop on the airport bus outside - all very efficient and convenient. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed 4 nights on a double room, with privat WC and shower, which I advise everybody that choses this hotel. The hotel is clean and smell like fresh painting. The stairs are very narrow but I guess that used to be a house, and in Amesterdam most houses have stairs like those ones. The bed was very confortable, and I enjoyed the breakfast being served at the room. It's a shame that the room does not have other curtains, because my boyfriend used to wake up at 4 AM with the sunlight...so I guess you should take some eyepads...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bema Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.