We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom with a strange design” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bema Rentals

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bema Rentals to your Saves list
Bema Rentals
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bathroom with a strange design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed not in a hotel itself but in an apartment associated with this hotel, so we have not seen the hotel rooms. This comment is about a particular apartment that we stayed in. It is located at 78 1e Con.Huygenstraat.

Location was excellent. The room itself was reasonably comfortable, the kitchen was functional. The heater was not adequate enough and we were a bit freezing there. The bathroom strongly smelled with the cat's urine (maybe from a previous tenant?) but as long as we had the bathroom door closed and didn't spend much time there, it was survivable.

But the main issue was with the design of the shower and its curtain. No matter how hard you try, it would flood the bathroom floor every time you take a shower and, unless you are extremely careful and fast, the rest of an apartment as well.

Once again, the hotel rooms themselves may be great, and the other apartments may be great but I am writing specifically about this apartment, and in this particular case, unfortunately I can NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    45
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

great hotel friendly staff and nicely decorated. room slightly damp and cold. but overall a good stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Long steep flights of stairs. Friendly staff. A good breakfast served to the room on a tray each morning. If you want a double room don't stay in Room 2 - it's tiny - apart from the bed a small table and a washbasin there was barely enough floor room for our luggage. We asked to be moved after a couple of nights and went to Room 6 which was lovely - much bigger with an en-suite shower room and lots of space. For the money we thought it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I spent one night here recently and for what you pay (€40) it is great value if you just want somewhere decent to crash in Amsterdam. The neighbourhood is nice with great tram and bus connections and adjacent to museums and a pretty little park . The bus to / from the airport drops you right outside the door and takes about 30 minutes. As previously reported, the hotel is old with basic facilities and extremely steep stairs in the typical Dutch style (think climbing a ladder) so not for the mobility challenged. I had a room with a wash basin and shared toilet / shower but there was never a problem acessing the bathrooms that were kept clean and presentable. I had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was fine and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - top marks to them. Leaving luggaage is also not a problem after you check out, so you can come back later, collect your bag and hop on the airport bus outside - all very efficient and convenient. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed 4 nights on a double room, with privat WC and shower, which I advise everybody that choses this hotel. The hotel is clean and smell like fresh painting. The stairs are very narrow but I guess that used to be a house, and in Amesterdam most houses have stairs like those ones. The bed was very confortable, and I enjoyed the breakfast being served at the room. It's a shame that the room does not have other curtains, because my boyfriend used to wake up at 4 AM with the sunlight...so I guess you should take some eyepads...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I very recently spent the night at Hotel Bema on a trip to Amsterdam and I am very impressed, the hotel was a perfect part in a perfect trip.

I booked the room a few weeks in advance via one of the generic hotel booking websites and was very very impressed to receive an email directly from staff at the hotel offering extra information and making themselves available to answer any questions or queries, a very nice touch and only one you'd ever get from a small personal hotel like this one.

We first got to the hotel around 10 to drop our bags off in the manned reception area before exploring the city. Check-in is not while 12. The hotel is easy to find, being a quick walk from Vondelpark, Van Gogh Museum, Concertgebouw and Rijksmuseum, Leidesplein is also a short walk away. Dam Square and Central station though are a fair walk, I'd guess 45 minutes - however tram routes 16 & 24 run from Central station and Dam Square to Museumplein stop which is directly outside the hotel with cheap fares and a frequent service. A two day ticket cost around 11Euro, well worth it for the travel opportunities available! The other main thing to mention about the hotel, which has been mentioned before is that there are a good few stairs to the reception and a further flight of stairs to most rooms. The stairs are steep in traditional Amsterdam style and there is no lift/elevator so not one for those with limited mobility, for most people it is fine though.

The service in the hotel is superb, all the staff are friendly and all speak perfect English. As well as queries about the hotel they are more than happy to recommend things to see, places to eat and provide information on how to get around.

This being Amsterdam I was expecting a tiny tiny room but our room was huge, with a comfortable double bed, a built in en-suite complete with a decent shower, toilet and sink, a TV (even some English channels) and a nice view to the street below. I had one of the best nights sleep for a long long while in the bed, although possibly influenced by lots of walking and some local beer! Breakfast is continental style and served in the room around half 8, with a selection of toasts and jams, some meat and cheese and a hot and cold drink. Whilst its not a massive breakfast it is a good start to the day, all in the comfort of your room and included in the price too. There is also extras available such as snacks and drinks available from the reception which are also delivered to the room and very reasonably priced.

Check out is around 11 but we left earlier, again leaving our bags in the manned reception to be picked up later in the day, it is fantastic being able to leave bags somewhere secure without paying or towing bags around the city all day.

All in all the stay at Hotel Bema was perfect, next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll be staying here for sure. Certainly a little hidden gem in busy bustling Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

This hotel gives great value for money. The hotel is spotless and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is inculded in rate and is delivered to the room each morning. Hotel is in great location and very close to all public transport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bema Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.