We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will get the job done!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bema

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bema
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Concertgebouwplein 19 B, Amsterdam 1071 LM, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It will get the job done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. Because it was cheap and did the job. We where there to party and only slept and ate breakfast at the hotel (maybe had a few beers as well). I liked the breakfast. The man who worked there must have seen a lot of crazy stuff because he comes knocking on the door at 09:30 with breakfast... Who's awake then??? I opened the door in my underwear really hangover and asked him to put the tray on the table, no problem! So we enjoyed it a few hours later. It was a good meal, 3 slices of bread, an egg, tea and juice, each (might have forgotten a thing or two)! Took 20 minutes to walk to city. The bathroom was in the room with low walls and no roof, it was a blast to jump in the shower to great your friends laying on their beds. But the toilette was shared, not as funny to take your hangover poop when the hot girls from floor 2 wanted to get in... Almost forgot to add one thing! We had a empty can of beer in the room when we arrived, and some hair on one of the beds. That's Basic cleaning 101, right? And the walls must be made of superduperthin paper, because a woman in the room next to us complained about us being noisy at 15:00! Having a normal conversation, I didn't get so found of her, that *^!=¤"!%(!%.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    53
    7
    9
See reviews for
24
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights in September. The employees were all extremely nice and helpful (carrying our luggage up the crazy stairs). The rooms were large for European standards and beds super comfortable! The breakfast in the morning was great as well.

The showers/toilet were not in the room but this was not a problem for us. We were skeptical at first but it turned out just fine.

Although not in the city center, it was easy to catch a cab for a few bucks and get to the center or you can just walk if you have enough time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

PROS
Good location near a tram line, but difficult to find at first, since its a small door on the footpath
Breakfast was served in the room, but quite basic
2 Bathrooms OUTSIDE the room were a blessing, so 3 could bathe at a time
Large reception with 2 PCs & internet.

CONS
Long, narrow steep winding staircase, just to reach the reception, then another narrow steep winding staircase to reach the room. Avoid, if U got heavy luggage.or seniors.
The quad room is small with 4 beds occupying most of the space, with little space for 4 to walk around.
Attached bath has a TINY wash basin (sink) --v. diff to shave or wash your face.
2 Bathrooms OUTSIDE the room were a blessing, so 3 could bathe at a time
V, diff to find at first, since its a small door on the footpath on a side road, off the main road.
Entrance is like an entrance to a private house, rather than a hotel.
Not worth the price we paid, but we couldnt find anything cheaper!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the best value we could find in Amsterdam for our one night layover. The room we stayed in had three beds and was antiquated but worked for us. Our room faced the opera house across the street, we had a great view. There are lots of stairs to get to the rooms and the stairs are precariously narrow. The staff is very friendly. And the hotel is located close to quite a few cafes, and a short walk to the south side of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bema

Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Concertgebouwplein 19 B, Amsterdam 1071 LM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bema 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bema to your Saves list