We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect for 1 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bema Rentals

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bema Rentals to your Saves list
Bema Rentals
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What you would expect for 1 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early April. Amsterdam is an expensive city and for the budget traveller I can reccomend the Bema Hotel. The breakfast was very good although isn't served until 8:30-9am so we missed out on one morning, The facilities are clean and the staff friendly. The free wifi is always a plus. The bed in our room was very old and sank to the middle. The stairs are steep but thats what you get in Amsterdam. The location is good as you are close to the Van Gogh, Rijkmuseum and Concertgebouw and a short tram ride to the Dam. Overall good for a 1 star

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    71
    48
    6
    10
See reviews for
27
59
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Upon our arrival we were immediately upgraded a beautiful apartment suite! The staff explained that there had been a cancellation and that they "felt sorry because we booked the smallest room in the place." Despite the upgrade, we still would have had a great time at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and offered wonderful suggestions, such as bike rentals, and where to go in Amsterdam (no lonely planet needed). I would definitely stay here again, if only to support the small business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the apartment belonging to Hotel Bema, it was located near the Overtoom tram stop on Eerste Constantijn Huygenstraat.

It was a bit of a pain having to go to the Hotel in order to be taken to the apartment, if I was going again I'd ask if they could meet us there.
Although, it wasn't too bad as the hotel and apartment are only one tram stop apart. (If you're looking for the hotel, take the 197 bus from the airport, straight to Museumplein stop, it's really close to the hotel and saves about 50euros on a taxi).

The staff were friendly and gave us a map and also had a rack of minicards we could look through for attractions' offers. Then they took us on the tram to the apartment and showed us around.

The apartment was basic and a little old-fashioned, re-decorating would be nice. However, it was pretty clean, not much dust, no mould in the bathroom, clean sheets etc. The living room was a decent size but the sofa was tiny. There was a table and chairs for four to eat at. And a very tiny, but working TV. No hotel comforts like a phone or hairdryer.

Clean towels were provided, (3 small bath towels and two hand towels between three people).

There was a double bed in the bedroom, with no room for anything else! And a single we had asked for in the living room. There wasn't a wardrobe, just a coat rack.

The kitchen had everything we needed- a hob, fridge (with freezer shelf), microwave, kettle, coffee maker, pans, utensils and cutlery.

The stairs leading to the apartment make it only suitable for young and/or fit people who can climb a lot of steep stairs.

The location is great as you can walk to Leidseplein or Museumplein in about 10 minutes. There's also a tram stop outside if you're feeling lazy.

And a beautiful chocolate shop just nextdoor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

As we travelled with 2 small children, Hotel Bema offered us a two-bedroom apartment "...located about 10min away from the hotel", in reality it was apx 5 min by tram plus 5 min on foot. The guy who took us to the apartment had 4 travel cards with him and asked us to pay for 1 tram ticket ourselves which seemed a bit greedy. But otherwise he was very friendly and helpful. So was the lady at the reception.
The apartment is very basic but full of character and situated close to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, tram stops and a supermarket (they don't accept cards in the supermarkets, be aware!). There's a kettle, a coffee machine, a toaster, a very good shower that looks brand-new, a TV. But there was no toilet paper and no soap!
The heating in the apartment wasn't on when we arrived and it seemed that it had been off for quite a while before - it was absolutely freezing in the rooms that night. And though it warmed up and was fine afterwards, I wouldn't recommend you to stay there in winter - the gaps in window frames are unbelievably big. The toilet and the bathroom are particularly cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bema Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.