We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bema me up Scotty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bema Rentals

Save Saved
You added Bema Rentals to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bema Rentals
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boise Idaho
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Bema me up Scotty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are in Amsterdam for the location for the museums and not the prostitutes then this hotel is fine. It's easy to get to and does the job. The rooms are large the breakfast is adequate the staff is fine. The shower didn't "feel" clean and the sink dripped. If we were going back, we would stay elsewhere. The price + location do not = a value for Amsterdam.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    65
    45
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great value for money. Good sized room with comfy beds. We appreciated the breakfast included, and how heavy it must be to carry up the stairs! we had four of in the room with bathroom in the same room. Bathroom is small but very clean and tidy. great that we had towels, and they were even replenished. little walk from city, but could get the tram, but we didn't mind walking.
the room could use a lick of paint, but for the price, we would recommend, and would stay again. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at Hotel Bema's 3 bed apartment as an alternative to hostels. Although we did go out partying, we also wanted to take in Amsterdam culture beyond the coffee shops and didn't want to be kept awake, which often happens in 'party cities'.

The room was spotlessly clean and the cupboards were stocked with essentials like tea, coffee, sugar etc. We really liked having the kitchen as it meant we could save money by cooking our own evening meal and then buying other food while we were out an about exploring Amsterdam. There is a supermarket nearby which is very handy.

The shower and toilet were out in the hallway, but nobody else seemed to be using them. Not a great shower but it was clean.

The apartment was in a great location, the Museum Square is very nearby and the city is easily walkable or the tram stops nearby too.

Overall, the price was great and it was a pleasure to stay there. The lady at the main hotel was lovely and the guy who drove us from the main hotel to the apartment (although it was probably quicker to walk!!) was great, giving us a little tour on the way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed there last weekend and we enjoyed our stay. Of course we are nearly 30years old, so if I was older this place will not be my choice :-) Other thing - this was my first stay in 1* category so it is not good to compare it with 3 or more stars hotels. This category has, of course, its problems and specifics

Location of the hotel is quite good - you are near the Van Gogh museum, direct line to/from the airport is right in front of the hotel and you are comfortably in 15 minutes by walk in the centre (and nearest spots of interests :-)).

Rooms were clean, we had a breakfast in the room rate, which was 3 toasts, 1 egg, 1 slice of ham and cheese, one marmelade and one butter. Coffee and juice included. Not so much, but you are in the low budget hotel don't you? :)

Toilets and shower in the hall for all the rooms. Showers were clean but definitelly need to repaint!

Staff pleasant, show us what we need, were polite and friendly.

STAIRS to the first floor - that was something! I've never seen stairs like this and hardly can imagin that I have something else exept my hand luggage with me :-) Trust me, if you have problems with your legs or knees, try to find another place. I think you can find some photos in reviews below.

So Hotel Bema is good low budget hotel for those, who want to be near the centre and who are finding a place only to sleep in.

Reccomend

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I've stayed at the Bema Hotel several times and really like it, so this time I thought I would pay a bit more and stay in their one bedroom apartment.
The apartment was situated near Overtoom which is fairly handy for Leidseplein, museums, and Tram 1. Inside there was a comfy double bed, mini kitchen, shower room and dining area. Everything was spotlessly clean and the decor was nice.
The main problem with this apartment was the noise levels. The trams and building work outside was very loud. Upstairs there was a family with small children who were very noisy. And next door seemed to have a party one one night which lasted until 3-30am.
I took ear plugs which was lucky as otherwise I wouldn't have got any sleep at all.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you like peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

To reach the main landing of the hotel enter a very narrow, step, claustrophobic staircase. Go up 40 treacherous steps. Turn and head up more stairs also curved and tight. Now add luggage and don't slip.

Other than the stairs this place is great. Breakfast delivered to the room was good - toast, soft boiled egg, jam, coffee, tea. Majority of hotel staff pleasant.

Hotel conveniently located near Van Gogh museum and easy to use bus routes.

Nice view, thin single pane windows so it was noisy. We heard all the noise all night on the street.

If traveling with anyone claustrophobic or just recovering from knee surgery skip this one because if the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bema Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.