We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for young people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bema Rentals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bema Rentals to your Saves list
Bema Rentals
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for young people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed there last weekend and we enjoyed our stay. Of course we are nearly 30years old, so if I was older this place will not be my choice :-) Other thing - this was my first stay in 1* category so it is not good to compare it with 3 or more stars hotels. This category has, of course, its problems and specifics

Location of the hotel is quite good - you are near the Van Gogh museum, direct line to/from the airport is right in front of the hotel and you are comfortably in 15 minutes by walk in the centre (and nearest spots of interests :-)).

Rooms were clean, we had a breakfast in the room rate, which was 3 toasts, 1 egg, 1 slice of ham and cheese, one marmelade and one butter. Coffee and juice included. Not so much, but you are in the low budget hotel don't you? :)

Toilets and shower in the hall for all the rooms. Showers were clean but definitelly need to repaint!

Staff pleasant, show us what we need, were polite and friendly.

STAIRS to the first floor - that was something! I've never seen stairs like this and hardly can imagin that I have something else exept my hand luggage with me :-) Trust me, if you have problems with your legs or knees, try to find another place. I think you can find some photos in reviews below.

So Hotel Bema is good low budget hotel for those, who want to be near the centre and who are finding a place only to sleep in.

Reccomend

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    45
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I've stayed at the Bema Hotel several times and really like it, so this time I thought I would pay a bit more and stay in their one bedroom apartment.
The apartment was situated near Overtoom which is fairly handy for Leidseplein, museums, and Tram 1. Inside there was a comfy double bed, mini kitchen, shower room and dining area. Everything was spotlessly clean and the decor was nice.
The main problem with this apartment was the noise levels. The trams and building work outside was very loud. Upstairs there was a family with small children who were very noisy. And next door seemed to have a party one one night which lasted until 3-30am.
I took ear plugs which was lucky as otherwise I wouldn't have got any sleep at all.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you like peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

To reach the main landing of the hotel enter a very narrow, step, claustrophobic staircase. Go up 40 treacherous steps. Turn and head up more stairs also curved and tight. Now add luggage and don't slip.

Other than the stairs this place is great. Breakfast delivered to the room was good - toast, soft boiled egg, jam, coffee, tea. Majority of hotel staff pleasant.

Hotel conveniently located near Van Gogh museum and easy to use bus routes.

Nice view, thin single pane windows so it was noisy. We heard all the noise all night on the street.

If traveling with anyone claustrophobic or just recovering from knee surgery skip this one because if the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Nice location, near the best museums and not far form the city centre -- 15-20 minutes walking and 5-10 by tram. The staff is very nice and courteous. The house is old, but has it charms. The double room is spacious ando cozy, however rather cold in the winter. The bathroom is dark and even colder than the bedroom, without heater, and the shower has weak water pressure. Good breakfast serverd in the room. Overall a good hotel, but could be better.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Perfect location(easy to get to-airport bus stops opposite the street ;in the museum area), tasty breakfast served in the room,quiet but communicative place. Thanks to the Trip advisor team who helped us to decide!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Was pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Hotel Bema. The staff was extremely helpful, even to helping carry our bags up the 59 stairs to the reception area. We had a large, quiet room with full bath, and the real surprise was the free breakfast inside our room. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The steep stairs at the entrance look daunting at first glance, but myself and gf never had a problem with them, even after all day walking and several drinks. The room was large, clean and warm. We were concerned about the shared toilet but never had to wait to use it, and it was always spotless...only negative would be that the toilet was rather compact.
The breakfasts were fine, nothing bad about them and were delivered into the room with no hassle. The hotel is located in the museum district with good tram stops working a 30 second walk, and a nice open park to walk around.
I would highly recommend the hotel and location to others wanting to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1071 LM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bema Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.