We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a beer, smoke and burger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog

The Bulldog
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 90, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 625 98 64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 168 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside this building covered in psychadelic paintings is the first coffeeshop in Amsterdam, started by Henk de Vries in 1975.
West Bromwich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for a beer, smoke and burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Visited with my boyfriend, we wanted somewhere we could smoke, drink and eat. We ordered a couple of beers and burgers, food was great, beer was cold, can’t ask for more. I did have to wait for the waitresses to stop talking for a few minutes before I was served but not speaking Dutch I don’t know if they were gossiping or talking about work, it wasn’t really long enough to complain about but a few negative reviews have mentioned staff so I was looking out for it. Only downside was had to have the herbal mix instead of tobacco in joints.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    137
    77
    30
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“First experience with Coffee and Muffin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This time we went to Amsterdam with friends. We have enjoyed going there many times, but this time we all fancied a coffee with a Muffin. We all non smokers so the wheat was not in interest for us.
It was a first time experience. i did not know what to expect. It says after 30 min it can kick in . We all had beer after woods and after while we all felt tired. Going back to the ferry gave us time for a snooze in the coach......arriving at the Ferry Port we all started to giggle and laugh........For a good while.
We enjoyed the experience from being chilled to fun actions.
worth while

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“ace place had a rite laff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

nice chilled place and the guy selling the herb has some cool stories about the ball in the case down stairs haha i come here every time im in amsterdam grab a nice coffee roll a fat one and chill we met some ace people in here so if your into your coffee and herb i would recommend you visit this place its tip top ;-b

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bit too quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went here based on a friends advice. Probably not a great idea if your not in to smoking the herb. Chap n the lower stairs flogging herb was a bit of a condescending as we were no "hardened smokers". Not over friendly and everyone including bar staff were off their chops.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zeland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“by far one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

take it for what it is, a coffeeshop that also sells weed, and you'll enjoy some of the best 'free' times in Amsterdam. Leave any attitude outside and enjoy the coffee, which is actually very nice, the fresh juice and some of the strange customers ! magic !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulldog also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Bulldog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.