We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Almost a year after visiting Amsterdam, i bring to my mind beautiful pictures and memories from my stay in Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast. The fresh tulips in our room, the delightful breakfast , the friendliness of the host and the beautiful room itself made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

September 4 to 6, 2009. We spent a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We truly appreciated the comfort, peace and quiet, cleanliness and coziness of this B&B. We had not stayed there previously, so of course we didn’t know how it would be – but as soon as we met Kevin at the top of the stairs, we knew we would have a great stay – and we did. Kevin is the perfect host – helpful when asked, but discreet.

Breakfasts are delicious, the beds are very comfortable, and while the B&B is in a residential neighborhood, it is close to everything.

We can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

From the moment you enter the back room, the fragrance, elegance, and comfort of this place welcomes you. My wife and I spent three wonderful days there and highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
651 helpful votes 651 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you want to feel like an Amsterdam local, stay here.

The B & B is in a historic Amsterdam town house with the usual steep staircase. The suite is located on the second floor. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood on leafy Roetersstraat right in the city center with good connections to tram and subway.

The spacious, bright and airy suite sleeps four and features living room (with small balcony), bedroom, bathroom with shower and seperate restroom. It is equipped with all amenities like DVD player, kitchenette, PC and W-LAN. We especially liked the super comfy beds and the fluffy towels.

Breakfast is served in-room and is prepared to your likings. Every day, we were surprised by a new breakfast variation (omelette, pancakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit...)

Our hosts, Kevin & Sonny, perfectly took care of us and gave dinner tips and directions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My family of four just got back from a stay at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We could not have chosen a more comfortable, convenient and thoroughly delightful place to stay. The accomodations consist of the entire floor of a small house near the University. There is a large living room with kitchen, computer access, dining table and a lovely small balcony with a view of a canal. This room also has two twin beds. The second room has a queen/king bed and overlooks a schoolyard. There is also a large room with shower and a separate toilet room. Everything is cheerfully decorated and pristinely clean. Our host, Kevin Considine, was extremely helpful and even packed us a delicious breakfast for our early trip to the airport. I heartily recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Amsterdam. My only caveat is that there is quite a long staircase so this would be imappropriate for anyone who cannot climb stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we didn't want to stay in a large hotel. I contacted the B & B direct in December and with no fuss made the booking.

Set in the Plantage neighbourhood and in the old Jewish Quarter it's ideally placed for most attractions but with the peace and quite that comes from being in a mainly residential area. Dam Square is walkable, but it is 20 mins away. Public transport, buses, Metro and taxis are plentiful, and with the exception of taxis fairly cheap.

The breakfast is delightful, the owner polite but approachable and with extensive knowledge of the area pointed us in the direction of several excellent restaurants. We ate Tibetan for the first time, it was great.

The B & B was clean, kingsize bed, large room, shared bathroom with adjoining room not a problem as our friends were staying there.

I would stay there again if I went back to Amsterdam which was a great long weekend break with lots to do and see.

  • Liked — Clean, airy and bright
  • Disliked — Very Very steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This B&B is really nice and welcoming. Our room was very spacious, everything extremely clean and fresh looking. We had access to the whole floor and I can say we really enjoyed our stay. How lovely to have fresh fruit for breakfast in the morning, strawberries, pineapple, grapes, melon along with croissants, toast, eggs if we wanted them, tea and coffee.
Kevin was very helpful, providing any information we needed as to where to go and visit, how to get there and the best way to do it.
There are 38 stairs to climb to reach this accommodation so if you have trouble climbing steps this may not be for you but for the fit amongst you I would fully recommend this Bed & Breakfast and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Address: Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant comfort and convenience in central Amsterdam. Enjoy your own beautifully appointed private floor in a lovely, restored 19th century Dutch townhouse. Conveniently located within walking distance to all the major attractions, our green and historic Plantage neighborhood borders the Amstel River in the center of Amsterdam. Free unlimited broadband internet usage and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.