We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
661 helpful votes 661 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you want to feel like an Amsterdam local, stay here.

The B & B is in a historic Amsterdam town house with the usual steep staircase. The suite is located on the second floor. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood on leafy Roetersstraat right in the city center with good connections to tram and subway.

The spacious, bright and airy suite sleeps four and features living room (with small balcony), bedroom, bathroom with shower and seperate restroom. It is equipped with all amenities like DVD player, kitchenette, PC and W-LAN. We especially liked the super comfy beds and the fluffy towels.

Breakfast is served in-room and is prepared to your likings. Every day, we were surprised by a new breakfast variation (omelette, pancakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit...)

Our hosts, Kevin & Sonny, perfectly took care of us and gave dinner tips and directions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My family of four just got back from a stay at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We could not have chosen a more comfortable, convenient and thoroughly delightful place to stay. The accomodations consist of the entire floor of a small house near the University. There is a large living room with kitchen, computer access, dining table and a lovely small balcony with a view of a canal. This room also has two twin beds. The second room has a queen/king bed and overlooks a schoolyard. There is also a large room with shower and a separate toilet room. Everything is cheerfully decorated and pristinely clean. Our host, Kevin Considine, was extremely helpful and even packed us a delicious breakfast for our early trip to the airport. I heartily recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Amsterdam. My only caveat is that there is quite a long staircase so this would be imappropriate for anyone who cannot climb stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we didn't want to stay in a large hotel. I contacted the B & B direct in December and with no fuss made the booking.

Set in the Plantage neighbourhood and in the old Jewish Quarter it's ideally placed for most attractions but with the peace and quite that comes from being in a mainly residential area. Dam Square is walkable, but it is 20 mins away. Public transport, buses, Metro and taxis are plentiful, and with the exception of taxis fairly cheap.

The breakfast is delightful, the owner polite but approachable and with extensive knowledge of the area pointed us in the direction of several excellent restaurants. We ate Tibetan for the first time, it was great.

The B & B was clean, kingsize bed, large room, shared bathroom with adjoining room not a problem as our friends were staying there.

I would stay there again if I went back to Amsterdam which was a great long weekend break with lots to do and see.

  • Liked — Clean, airy and bright
  • Disliked — Very Very steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

This B&B is really nice and welcoming. Our room was very spacious, everything extremely clean and fresh looking. We had access to the whole floor and I can say we really enjoyed our stay. How lovely to have fresh fruit for breakfast in the morning, strawberries, pineapple, grapes, melon along with croissants, toast, eggs if we wanted them, tea and coffee.
Kevin was very helpful, providing any information we needed as to where to go and visit, how to get there and the best way to do it.
There are 38 stairs to climb to reach this accommodation so if you have trouble climbing steps this may not be for you but for the fit amongst you I would fully recommend this Bed & Breakfast and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

This is a wonderful place to stay! It was like staying with family! My breakfast was brought to my room every morning! There were movies in the room and a full kitchen with a packed refridgerator to meet my needs! I was attended to with great care! I cannot say enough good things about the experience! It has a great location as well! I was alone and felt very pampered! There was a family there that seemed as content as me. It would be a great experience for anyone!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

We stayed for a long weekend in October and were very impressed. Kevin, our host was very helpful and available to us when we needed him, without being an overbearing presence. We were close enough to walk to all the major attractions and far enough away to avoid the neon commercial areas of Amsterdam that you probably want to avoid if you are over 30!!

We had great breakfasts and the run of 2 rooms and a bathroom which were very comfortable and tastefully decorated.

I have recently contacted Kevin for some help in sourcing a Xmas pressie which he has shopped for and posted to me - that's customer service!!

We will definately recommend and will go back if we are in Amsterdam again.

  • Liked — decor, host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam at this great Bed and Breakfast. The owner, Kevin, was most welcoming. He gave us great tips/advice and served a delicious breakfast. The suite was perfect for a family of 4 such as ours. We had plenty of space, the rooms were bright and cheery and the gratis use of the Internet was very helpful. The B&B is located in a quiet and picturesque part of the city, yet close enough to walk to either the Metro or a little longer walk to the main sites (we had thoroughly enjoyable walks to the city center). We highly recommend the Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast. Thanks!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Address: Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant comfort and convenience in central Amsterdam. Enjoy your own beautifully appointed private floor in a lovely, restored 19th century Dutch townhouse. Conveniently located within walking distance to all the major attractions, our green and historic Plantage neighborhood borders the Amstel River in the center of Amsterdam. Free unlimited broadband internet usage and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list