We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was great to stay at. I stayed in 2003. At the time there was only one room available, the other was under construction. The owners were very helpful with directions on how to get to the B&B and how to get around the area. It's a pretty quiet area but close to the subway system which doesn't take long to get to the downtown square. From what I remember there was a children's school behind the B&B - was surprised by the school bells. The breakfast provided was also very nice and made to order. Loved that! I would definitely stay again! -- and loved the steep staircase, added to the Amsterdam experience.

Room Tip: No need for concern over the rooms - they are very well kept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederikshavn, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are going to Amsterdam, this is a perfect place to stay. If you are going to attend a seminar at the university, this is absolutely the place to stay. You are so close to the campus, in a really nice neighborhood with nice restaurants . You have an entire apartment fully equipped and the best breakfast in town!
This is also and excellent place to stay, without going to the university, the Metro is a few minutes away and three stops you are in the center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We adore Amsterdam, and this was around the 12th visit from my partner and I. We have slept in nice hotels, not so nice hotels, some Bed and Breakfasts, all unique and enjoyable in their own way, however, Dumas and Considine bed and breakfast was by FAR the very best.
In true Amsterdam style it has a steep staircase, which leads to a really clean, comfortable and homely bedroom, with a nice bathroom and great shower attatched. The suprise however is all in the wonderful second room, which really isnt a room at all but a lovely bedsit! It has a fridge, microwave (and other cooking options) a sink, tea and coffee making facilities at one end. The other half has a double bed, then a sofa, table, and television (with DVD player). Its all perfect when you return home from a busy day walking or cycling the city, its definitely a home from home, with grand ceilings and wonderful wooden flooring, and even a balcony that you can stand on and take in the view. (Not really at all like my home, much grander). There has been alot of work put into making this Bed and Breakfast not only look amazing, but able to cater for every need one would have whilst away.
Kevin is wonderfully knowledgable about Amsterdam, and very welcoming, his breakfasts are amazing, and he even went to the trouble of making us a 'takeaway' breakfast when we were leaving early for the airport, which was so appreciated.
This really is a perfect retreat in which to stay, and we couldnt have asked for more, perfect for couples but also for families too, we will certainly be back for more in the future. Although its a little way away from the central area of Amsterdam its easy to find, and in a wonderful area, very quiet, yet lots to do around, as its close to the University, a cinema, and the theatre.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Almost a year after visiting Amsterdam, i bring to my mind beautiful pictures and memories from my stay in Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast. The fresh tulips in our room, the delightful breakfast , the friendliness of the host and the beautiful room itself made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

September 4 to 6, 2009. We spent a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We truly appreciated the comfort, peace and quiet, cleanliness and coziness of this B&B. We had not stayed there previously, so of course we didn’t know how it would be – but as soon as we met Kevin at the top of the stairs, we knew we would have a great stay – and we did. Kevin is the perfect host – helpful when asked, but discreet.

Breakfasts are delicious, the beds are very comfortable, and while the B&B is in a residential neighborhood, it is close to everything.

We can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

From the moment you enter the back room, the fragrance, elegance, and comfort of this place welcomes you. My wife and I spent three wonderful days there and highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
661 helpful votes 661 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you want to feel like an Amsterdam local, stay here.

The B & B is in a historic Amsterdam town house with the usual steep staircase. The suite is located on the second floor. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood on leafy Roetersstraat right in the city center with good connections to tram and subway.

The spacious, bright and airy suite sleeps four and features living room (with small balcony), bedroom, bathroom with shower and seperate restroom. It is equipped with all amenities like DVD player, kitchenette, PC and W-LAN. We especially liked the super comfy beds and the fluffy towels.

Breakfast is served in-room and is prepared to your likings. Every day, we were surprised by a new breakfast variation (omelette, pancakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit...)

Our hosts, Kevin & Sonny, perfectly took care of us and gave dinner tips and directions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Address: Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant comfort and convenience in central Amsterdam. Enjoy your own beautifully appointed private floor in a lovely, restored 19th century Dutch townhouse. Conveniently located within walking distance to all the major attractions, our green and historic Plantage neighborhood borders the Amstel River in the center of Amsterdam. Free unlimited broadband internet usage and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list