We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FIT FOR A DOG” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Impala
Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“NOT FIT FOR A DOG”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

For your own benefit please heed this warning........DO NOT BOOK AT THE IMPALA, unless that is you actually wish to stay in the filthiest and most overpriced hotel imaginable. We arrived at the the Impala having booked a standard room for 2 nights at 170 euro. A fairly cheap price agreed, but nothing could have prepared us for the standard of the accommodation that was offered to us at this rate. Despite being asked to pay immediately on arrival we asked to see the room, which seemed to be the biggest hassle in the workld for the slovenly young lady on reception. On entering the room we just could not believe how horrible it was. The room was barley bigger then the dirty sagging old bed, the carpet was filthy and covered in a multitude of frightening looking stains. WIth only a couple of feet to walk down one side of the bed there was no furniture at all in the room, nowhere to put clothes, bags etc, and the window frames where rotting away. A quick look around the bathroom door was enough to confirm a serious infestation of mould and general disgustingness! When we commented on the state of things, the carpet especially, we where told it was because they were fully booked everynight (forever) and could never have time to clean it properly.......for me they need to find time to insinerate it properly. Needless to say we did not stay here, despite being told we would be charged as we had made the booking using a credit card as reservation. Two doors along is Hotel King; Newly refirbished to a very good standards, and although our room was small it was perfect and cost only a little more (105 euro per night) than the filth pit that is the Impala.

  • Liked — Absolulety nothing
  • Disliked — Fear of disease
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

The hotel Impala is a good base for any party goer or sightseer to this beautiful city. I stayed in this hotel 3 times in the last 2 years. The hotel could do with a lick of paint and a better breakfast offering but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff by far make up for this. The best rooms in the hotel are the triple rooms, one of which even has a large bath. It is in a good location that is central to pubs clubs and the trams. If your looking for the Ritz then stay at the Ritz and pay their prices. The Impala is good value for money with great views and as most people travel here on a budget you could do much worse for your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2006

Having read some of the reviews on this site we came to this hotel with some reservations, but we had a reservation and went.
It is a fantastic location, the view from our room, which is at at T-junction of two canals, is fantastic. Open those windows and enjoy the sensory experience, the view, the sounds of the various boats and the people walking by. We tried not to look back into the room too much, the manager told us of the ways in which the cleaners use bleach to clean everything, including carpets.
The staff were really friendly; they went out of their way to find information about trains, tours, night events etc. I enjoyed my conversations over the generous breakfast.
Just round the corner you can hire a paddle boat. If you are feeling energetic enough it is a great way to see the canals without the commentary and crowds.
Travelling with Australian dollars with home prices in mind everything seems expensive, but compared with other places we tried the Hotel Impala was great value. it is a really nice budget hotel and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

We had reservations well before our trip. The first thing that happened when we arrived to check in to the Hotel Impala was that they charged each of us with an additional 20 Euros. They claimed that was something all hotels do but we weren’t told about that in advance. In addition, the room wasn’t ready. They did let us leave our luggage until it was ready.

When we got into our room, the handle for the hot water on the sink came off. They gave us a pliers to use and said the plumber would be there by 5:00. He never came.

The day we were leaving, we packed our luggage so that it would be ready at check out time, then we went out for an hour or so. When we returned to our room, our pass keys didn’t work. It was not past checkout time, and we hadn’t checked out yet, but they turned off our cards. The staff was courteous all the time, but they made no attempt to make up for all the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

We stayed at Hotel Impala for two nights to finish two months back-packing through Europe. It is a nice, clean hotel and our room had a great view of the canal. The bathroom was huge, which was a pleasant change from other budget hotels in Europe and the TV had lots of English stations. Breakfast was really nice too, definately worth waking up for.
The only negatives about our stay were some furnishings in our room were a bit out-dated and the stairs to the 3rd floor were a health hazard they're that steep!
The staff are extremely helpful though and they gave us some great tips for seeing the best of Amsterdam.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

Just got back from our 1st visit to amsterdam. Had a great time but I don't think we'll be staying here again. Don't get me wrong.... the staff are friendly and helpful but the place is filthy! It needs Kim and Aggy in it urgently!
When we arrived we were told our room was ready. As my friend entered the room she found someone sleeping. so we left out bags and went for a walk whilst waiting for our room to be cleaned. When we went back we lugged all our luggage upstairs to find it was a double bed. Now i love my friend to bits but there is no way we could have a double bed.... we are both biggish girls so it just wasn't right! We tried to explain to the girl working on reception that we had booked a twin room but she explained that tein means double in the netherlands.....??! So then we were put on the phone to the manager who was really nice but said we should have phoned to confirm that we wanted a twin room and if we wanted to change we would have to pay another 45 euros! So my friend calmly explained that she had done this 2 weeks before and all was in order. We got the room in the end but make sure you confirm if you want a twin room as there is only 1!!
The room itself was tiny but we had a canal view which was great. The floors were dirty though so make sure you take slippers. Also the curtains looked they were about to fall down.there isn't much room for suitcases but if you're on a budget its ok to lay your head.... don't expect tea and coffee in your rooms. There are plenty of plug sockets and there's a hairdryer in the batroom, towels are provided but they weren't the cleanest.
Breakfast consisted of cheese, ham, bread, jam, cereal, juice and hot drinks. Very basic but for the money we couldn't complain.
the hotel itself is easy to find. take the 370 bus from the airport (can't remember the stand number). the bus takes to to Liedesplein. when you get off the bus you need to cross the road to the other side and head left, just before the bridge take a right (american hotel) and the impala is about 300 yards down there. If you arrive in the middle of the night make sure you have made arrangements to be let in as it's on a card security system.
If you're there for the tourist sites your 1st stop should be the VVV. It's on Liedesplein just after the square and they'll tell you all about the tickets you'll need, you can also pick up a map here (you'll definatelt need it!!). If you're going to the Anne Franks house, make sure you get tickets before. the qeues were horrendous but if you have a ticket you get to walk right in!
So all in all we had a great time though I do't think we'll be staying at the Impala again, ok if you're on a really tight budget (travelling or a student) but if you like the finer things it's not for you. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

We are a couple aged 42 and 46 who know how to enjoy ourselves and are up for most things. Amsterdam is one of our favourite places in the world. We like to travel on a budget but don't put up with crap just to get the cheapest price.

We stayed at the Hotel Impala for the 4th night of our 4 night stay. We're not generally fussy but this was the 4th different room in 3 different Hotels. The first was disgustingly dirty with 'surprises' under the bed, the second was ok but after one night they moved us to a room with a waterbed which was deflated and didn't help with a nights sleep despite an extra dose of Super Silver Haze to get us off ?

Then we came accross the Hotel Impala. The first thing that struck us was the friendliness of the staff, yes I know all the Dutch seem to be friendly but these were particularly nice. The Hotel was clean enough and, after we had climbed the 2 flights of narrow stairs to our 4 bedded room (it was all they had available for the two of us), we were pleasantly surprised.

The carpets on the way up and in some of the other rooms left a lot to be desired but they seemed clean. Our room, however, had a laminate flloor, a reasonably comfortable bed, a very nice clean bathroom and a stunning view.

The walls could do with a coat of paint, there is a balcony with 2 big opening doors that you can't walk out of because it's not safe, an old fireplace which could be lovely, nowhere to hang your clothes or make a cup of tea but a window that fully opens up to leave what must be one of the best Canal views in Amsterdam.

After a hard days exploring it was lovely to get back to the room, open up the windows and sit having a drink and a smoke whilst watching the world go by. Then, when we got in after a night out we'd open up the windows and enjoy the serenity.

If you're travelling on a budget, you don't expect luxury and can put up without being able to hang your clothes up then this could be the place for you. Even the American Hotel, 100m down the road hasn't got a view like this one which is Worth the stay on it's own.

We'll be going back and asking for the same room !

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Impala Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.