We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in a museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Ranked #122 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home in a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Lloyd hotel was a pleasant surprise for the experts from 6 differnt countries from three continents who participated iint the Expert meeting organized by the Royal Tropica lInstitute(KIT),Amsterdam between 13th and 18th.Septemebr,2010.

It had all the comforts of an extremely well managed hotel along with the luxury of avant garde ambiense and surroundings.

Strongly recommended for visitors with any budget in view of all thedifferent tiers of packages available with superb hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    340
    127
    76
    78
See reviews for
111
308
71
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed in a three star room. My room layout was OK, after I rejected the first room offered. First the good news. The bed was great. End of good news. Now the bad news. I found the room very traveller unfriendly. No safe, no mirror except a small one in the bathroom. No note paper and pen. TV had a broken housing and the TV reception was very bad. Both bedside table lights didn't work. No bar fridge. Towels were very old and threadbare. The bathroom comes complete with a mop to clean up after you shower, because the design is so dysfunctional. I found the hotel staff to be poorly trained and at times abrupt and rude. Room service, which is advertised as 24 hr, did not exist late at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed in a '4 star' room, on the positive side the bed was comfortable and the room clean. The room however was open plan and with no wardrobe, just hooks on the wall for clothes, all of which hang in the bathroom area - so you could sit on the loo and see your shirts hanging on the wall in front of you!!. the shower was good but always left a puddle on the floor.
Sleeping was also a problem, the shutters were insufficient to keep the room dark (no curtains) and the noise throughout the night (particularly on saturday night) meant sleep was almost impossible. If you do have the misfortune to stay, ask for a room at the back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel and rooms looks very nice on the web abd they claim they are located in the centre of Amsterdam City. They are located OUTSIDE of town as far from 'leidesplein' (where you want to be) as possible. We came and got a room in the basement. It was actually the basement and it smelled that way and looked that way. Another word is BUNKER. With a free view from the outside and down on the bed. We complained but with the rude response from the staff we decided to not stay. Then the staff wanted money for having reserved the BUNKER/ROOM to us. This is a SCAM.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Finn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Travelling with a baby in a pram, we saw before we ordered our rooms online that the hotel was handicap-friendly with an elevator. Turns out that to get to the elevator, one has to walk up 20 or so steps to reach the hotel entrance. The HC-elevator on the side of the building (where one has to call for someone from the staff to come and unlock it), is for employees only, we were sternly told as we tried to enter the building that way with the baby pram.
We got a rather large room in the basement. It had a large bath tub, a small table with two chairs, a sofabed and a regular bed in an opening in the wall. No door into the bathroom. We were happy until we discovered that there was no ventilation whatsoever. After a shower, the whole room was damp for a long time, because we were just below ground, we didn't feel like having the windows open when we were out. We returned every day to a damp room, and the bedsheets felt/smelled moist because the room never got time to dry entirely.
Everything else looked nice, beautiful building, fancy restaurant (the breakfast was too expensive for us, so we bought breakfast in the supermarkets right outside). A nice part of the city, too, but a bit too far to walk.
It was an interesting stay, but next time I am going for something more central, without moist /damp bedsheets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a 3 star equivalent room, which from reading some of the other comments must have been one of the better ones. We had requested a water view, but when we arrived early afternoon to check in, the room was not available. We were given the choice of another room which we could have immediately or a couple of hours wait. We opted to take the available room as we had walked from central station having been given some very poor advice and directions on the proximity of the hotel by 2 red shirted city guides "helping" people outside the station. Whatever you do, if your coming from the station make sure you catch the tram 26 (IJtram) and get off at stop Rietlandpark!! The room we were given was basically a bed and a huge bath - it was nice in a quirky sort of way but way too small and we didn't intend to spend the next 2 1/2 days in the bath! We went back to reception and after a short wait were put in our original room with water view. This room was everything the other wasn't - it was spacious with table and chairs, an alcove for bags, queen size double bed. It also had shuttered windows, funky carpet, and of course the river view. The only odd thing was that there wasn't a door on the bathroom/toilet, but overall we were very happy with the room. Otherwise, the staff were friendly and helpful, there was wi-fi in the room and there were tea/coffee facilities available in a hall cupboard. As noted, the hotel is well away from the city centre, so buying the 2 or 3 day travel pass is worth it. There is also a supermaket across the road from the hotel for picking up any supplies. As explained by another reviewer, the continental breakfast in the hotel restuarant is expensive at 15 euro per person, but there was plenty to eat and it was very tasty (the freshly baked baguettes were to die for!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Englad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed in various rooms at the hotel while I was working in the city for a couple of months in early 2010. This is certainly not your usual hotel, but the rooms are spacious and warm. The beds are amazing with superb linen and are always made up to a high standard.

The restaurant menu is limited and expensive, breakfast was almost £20. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby which were great though.

The hotel itself is a little out of town, but you can get a tram to Centraal Station literally right outside which takes about 10minutes. If you get a cab back make sure the driver DOES NOT take the freeway! It adds about 10Euros to the cost!

If you're feeling like something different to your usual hotel experience then Llyod would definitely be worth trying out, I had a very enjoyable stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.