We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky-but charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky-but charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend. It was a 15-20 minute walk (10 minute bike ride) from the main train station. It is on the water and is a quiet area. The workers were very helpful and allowed us to keep our bags before check in. We stayed on the 5th floor and shared the bathroom and shower. The towels and the robes were wonderful. The room used to be a cell so it was small but the beds were very comfortable. I suggest buying breakfast in advance since it was an expensive last minute purchase. It had a nice museum in the hotel explaining the extensive history of the hotel. Great value for the money. They offer different rooms for every budget. I know the larger rooms must have been wonderful!! Oh, bring earplugs...some loud drunks may stumble in after hours

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel. My friend who I was travelling with had stayed here previously and highly recommended it. Therefore we returned hoping to be put in a room similar to those advertised on the website. Not so. Our first room was in the attic with one small window and tiny bathroom. We were moved to another with the least amount of fuss, but wonder if we would have paid 120 euros for a dungeon.
The second room was bigger but still a long way off from the designer furniture described so often on their site and in leaflets.
Breakfast was not included and they charge 17 euros per person for a buffet option. We didn't eat in the hotel.
Service wise reception is very slow and when we ordered drinks at the bar we waited 20 mins before asking again. The waiter had clearly forgot, then tried to charge us for dinner that we hadn't eaten! In the morning the room didn't have a hairdryer so phoned down for one and it never arrived. Upon checkout waited in a long line of other guests who had several complaints. Sadly the idea of the hotel is better than the reality, and it could be a really cool place if they were a bit more honest with room descriptions and improved on service/more staff. Location-wise it's nice to be away from Centraal Station and getting a tram is easy enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My first room was very very poor, small, dirty and smelly, Second room was like the first but had seen some paint in the past few years but for 100 euro's a night it was still a rip off. Third room was in the part which had been renovated and was acceptable, all I would say is be careful in this place as the rooms on left hand side are OK but the one's on the right are very very grim - Remember this was a prison once !!! Breakfast was 17 euro's

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went to our first room and it was so bad that I thought my friends had given us the wrong key as a joke--it was no joke. We then requested a second room. It looked like the first with a clean coat of paint. So we then got a 3rd room which was still nothing great. The restaurant is beautiful but it was 15 euros for a continental breakfast.
The place was a prison until 1989 and had a creepy feeling to it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed in both the basic rooms as in the so called 4 star rooms. The basic room is with a shared bathroom in the hall, which looks like an old school shower. The room itself does not even have a sink. It is very noisy because of traffic outside. The room looks extremely basic, still they charge you 90 euro a night plus tax. A rip off.
The 4 star room sells for about 200 euro, depending on the season. It's also basic and noisy and there are many much better options around. Notice that you pay and extra 20 euro a night to use the parking garage. On a positive note: the staff is friendly. The restaurant is ok. There is free wifi. It's definately not a trendy or comfortable place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Very special hotel with much character in an old but renovated building of the immigrant autority in Amsterdam. The fact that this is an historic site and that the building has been renovated with respect for its history of course has some implications: lots of stairs, small corridors, every room is different...those who like the big chains perhaps will have some difficulties in appreciating this hotel. Our rooms where large and clean, the bed was very comfortable, but - and this is a big but - the bathroom was INSIDE the bedroom, no partition at all. We used the rooms as singles, but I can image that if you have to share a room, of even with your partner, this lack of privacy will not be appreciated. Nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor with good quality products.
The location is good for those who do not like to be in the inner center of the city. The neighbourhood is safe and quiet, but you have to take a bus or a tram to the center (takes about 10').
This is not a cheap hotel, we had a 2* star room for 150 euro, but this does not include the city tax (7 euro) and breakfast (17.50). All in all, special but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed here for 2 days at the 2 star rooms. The reviews were good but in reality, it is really not worth it to stay here at all. The rooms were Euro 150++ and we stayed at the lower ground floor, which is like a dungeon. The rooms were small (elongated rather than square areas), the carpet is very rough, the cupboard is extremely old & musty, the bathroom is an open concept (meaning no doors, so its freezing) and mostly, it gives out a really scary aura. Definitely won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.