We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, nice and one-of-a-kind hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Ranked #129 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, Nederland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique, nice and one-of-a-kind hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Unique hotel with nicely designed rooms in a building full of history and culture.
Actually, I did not myself to this hotel but since I live in the neighboorhoud, often friends and family are staying at this hotel. It is a one of a kind hotel, good for business and solo travellars, and couples. I think it is not recommendable for family.
On walking distance you have one of the better clubs of Amsterdam (Panama) and restaurtants (Jamie Olivers Fifteen) and with the tram or bycicle your are in fifteen minutes in the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, yesterday
Great to read that our neighbours choose us as a "home-away-from-home" for their guests. I am glad you are happy with the hotel and that your guests have a good stay here.
We look forward to welcoming even more of your guests!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    356
    129
    79
    80
See reviews for
117
312
75
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreuil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place in a great city,
even with our 2 years old child it was great
the place is really dedicated for familly.
Even if its a little out of the center, there is tram very close but it s also possible to walk as we made every night to go back to the hotel. It s not so far

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you and your child had a great stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

last minute weekend trip to amsterdam in april 2015.
we were very happy with this hotel. super comfortable and clean beds. nice area, 10 minutes to centraal with a bike. we had a 1 star room with shared bathroom. totally okay, hot shower and fresh towels.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am glad to read that you had a great stay! Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to go to Amsterdam at the last minute for the bank holiday weekend. We looked at different hotels and chose The Lloyd Hotel based upon price, availability, and that its dog friendly. Plus, the Lloyd Hotel was an old prison turned into an art project and 1-5 star hotel - who wouldn't want to stay there?

Location: The hotel is located in east Amsterdam in the docklands. This area is an up and coming area. There's not much other than a couple of grocery stores, other household stores and a couple of restaurants.

Arrival: It's a very simple arrival process. The hotel entrance is very non-descript and could be missed if you're paying attention. There's no place to park your car in front of the hotel except for the street.

Bellman: There are no bellmen at the hotel to help you. So be sure you can carry your own luggage.

Parking: There is a parking garage separate from the hotel. You have to push the "Lloyd Hotel" button upon entrance for your ticket since they share the garage with other offices in the area. Follow the "Lloyd Hotel" signs all the way down to the end of the garage to park. There's a stairwell that leads up to the ground level and the backside of the hotel across from the restaurant terrace. You have to pay for your parking at the hotel reception.

Reception/Front Desk: It's a very small front desk which has two people. Very friendly and knowledgeable.

Lobby: The "lobby" area is small, long and narrow with some couches spread out in a couple of areas. You can sit in the restaurant/cafe which is right across the reception.

Room: There are 117 rooms which range from 1-5 star rooms and every room is different. We decided to go with a 4-star room and ended up with room 217. The room was long and rectangular at the end of the building. You walked into a small entry room with a table for two and a couch. You then walked into the bathroom and then into the bedroom.

View: We had massive grand windows in the bedroom which looked upon a walkway.

Bed: There were two twin beds which were pushed together to make a queen. The bed was comfortable.

Bathroom: The bathroom was big and simple with a shower which had good pressure, sink and a toilet.

Hair dryer: The dryer wasn't very strong. I'm particular about hair dryers because I have a lot of hair.

Products: They had their own products and only had two bottles of shampoo and a small bar of soap. If you're staying in a 4-star room you should at least receive the basic toiletries of shower gel, conditioner, q-tips, etc.

Closet: There wasn't a traditional closet in the room, but along the wall of the bathroom there were hooks with hangers you could hang your stuff.

Safe: There was no safe in the room.

Control Panel: N/A. Just a remote for the TV.

Minibar: There was no minibar in the room.

Mirrors: There were two small mirrors in the bathroom.

Housekeeping: Poor. This is where I had the most complaints. 1) They didn't change the sheets and 2) They only have us one bath towel on day two. When I asked for another one they said they ran out, but very rudely said "we gave you one big towel and two small ones" and 3) We had an empty bag of potato chips and they left of on the floor.

Wifi: The wifi was free and the speed was ok.

Dining: We tried all three meals at the hotel restaurant cafe which were all fine. Please see my separate review of the restaurant.

Spa: There was no spa at the hotel.

Concierge: There isn't a traditional concierge at the hotel, but reception/front desk is very helpful and can answer any and all questions you may have.

Style: The hotel is very quirky and artsy.

Pet friendly: Dogs are welcome at no cost. This is the first hotel we've stayed at where our dog wasn't charged a fee. There is no bed, bowls, etc for the dog in the room, but you can't expect that since you don't have to pay. One thing though, dogs are not allowed in the room unattended which is good and bad. Good because your dog is allowed everywhere in the hotel, but bad because you have to find dog friendly places to go (other restaurants, cafes, etc) to on your trip. Luckily if you go to Amsterdam when the weather is good there are plenty of places with outside seating.

Service: Overall the service is excellent (minus housekeeping) at the hotel. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Two instances: 1) Robin from reception was not only super helpful with all of our Amsterdam questions, but also found us another bath towel and delivered it personally after I shared the information I received from housekeeping. 2) Ann from the restaurant tracked me down before checking out and found a t-shirt I wanted to purchase from the hotel store when we thought they were sold out.

Would I go back? Yes, depending on the price since the pricing of the rooms fluctuate. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, but I do think it depends on your room. One thing you do have to be aware of and know before staying at the Lloyd Hotel is that since it's a 1-5 star hotel, you get a diverse crowd from true backpackers, hip Asian kid travelers, older couples and families. It is a nice way to mix the community of travelers, but if you're thinking you picked a 4-5 star room and are paying those prices, the rest of the hotel and services such as the bellman, toiletries, etc are not available.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your extensive review. I am glad to read that your overall stay was enjoyable. I will definately pass on your comments concerning Housekeeping.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just spent 3 nights at this hotel. They try to convince everyone that the design is a form of art and very trendy. In fact this is a converted former prison that still echoes from the 1920's decor including the glazed tiles and dark and moody corridors. This place used to be a youth prison and it still looks like one. The rooms have toilets in the middle of the room with no privacy although you can open the wardrobe doors to form a screen of some sorts. The windows provide no sound proofing whatsoever so any noise outside comes in like the window was open. The furniture is very basic 1950's style, there is simply no comfort here at all.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mark,
So sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay! The Lloyd Hotel is a hotel in which we have many different elements of design throughout the ages, from the 1920's onward. The building itself was originally designed as a hotel to temporarily house immigants travelling to South America with the shipping company Royal Dutch Lloyd. I am sorry that we weren't able to find a room more to your liking during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was curious where is my shower in the room... I was about to call reception when noticed small thing on wall next to lavabo.That was it! In the middle of the room! So impressed, I opened the water and was waching it from my king size, very convenient bed in the same room for a while. Delightful stay, creative approach, enjoyable!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your room and stay with us!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a normal hotel don't book this hotel. But if you have an open mind, want to experience something unique and be surprised around every corner this is the hotel for you. I was given the Masterpeace exhibition room which was unlike any hotel room I have ever seen! I was also given a free upgrade from 2* to 3* and the staff were very friendly and happy to help. Would definitely stay here again to see what surprises the next room holds!

Room Tip: Expect the unexpected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so glad we were able to surprise you with the Masterpeace room. All our rooms are different, so there are a 116 more nights you can stay with us in different rooms.
See you next time!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Budget Places, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.