We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
1 review
“An awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A wonderful hotel for a wonderful experience. It's a unique, exquisite and charged-history building that you really need to know. The neighbourhood is a little bit quit, but it's too close to public transport and Central Station, so you can't blame about it. Breakfast is the best in town, seriously.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    299
    118
    74
    72
See reviews for
99
264
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel in an unique, historical building mixed excellent with design and architectural elements. Smart concept of the hotel: you can choose between a one or five star room. Even when you take the smallest room, which is very basic, you still can have a nice stay. There are many communal rooms that you can discover. We booked a 1 and 2 star room, but were giving a 3 star room: a very nice suprise. Friendly staff and relaxing hotel to come to after a busy day in Amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'd heard mixed reviews about this hotel and as we were only staying a weekend at one star I was prepared to accept it as long as it was clean. Well I have to say not only was it clean but it was a lovely and original place to stay!
The hotel is situated 3 stops away on the tram which is probably a little too far to walk but very easily accessible with trams every 5 minutes. I know others have complained about the location but using the tram its actually easier and quicker to get to than other city centre locations.
I found the website to be extremely helpful before arriving and the staff on arrival were also really helpful and friendly. Our room was tiled and basic, with the feeling of a cell or school toilet which initially was weird. It was small and only had a bed and table but the bedding was lovely and clean and there was extras such as a TV, hairdryer, bath robe and shower gel/shampoo which you don't usually get in a one star! To be honest for a couple on a weekend stay it was all you needed. Even the shared toilet and showers were clean and we never queued for either. The room was really warm despite the tiles and my only complaint was the high window as the view was lovely if you climbed up for a look!
We used the restaurant for breakfast, a snack and an evening meal and every one was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend eating there. It's a little pricey but no more than other places in the city and the quality was amazing. The burger and chips was one of the best I've ever had! The restaurant staff were really friendly and polite with excellent English making you feel really welcome. On Saturday evening there was even a live band to enjoy!
I would love to return to Amsterdam and I'll definitely use this hotel again when we come!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a little bit from the center, but really nice sorrounding, there is a tapas bar opposite the hotel, good food and the staff is so nice, they also have a bar on top, entrance on the side of the same building, really good Bartender, Pablo, so you need to go there.
Hotel is like you own apartment, some cool interial design and cosy.
You need to rent a bike or takle the train, little to far to walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All that a hotel should be in delivering comfort, style and service. Loved the energy of the spaces, the staff and design. Had a first class snack supper and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From guidance on the gift shop to loaning me adapters etc staff went beyond 'the call of duty'. Having worked in the hotel industry for some years this is 'best in class'. I had a 3* room which was perfect for my needs before a presentation to a retail group.

Room Tip: inspirational concept of 1-5 star rooms. Choose what works for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
What a fantastic review, than you so much. I am glad that we were able to accomodate you and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travel for a weekend with friends. We take this hotel and what's is a surprise when we opened the doors. Little room seems as jail.we are 2 and no place to move inside the room. Bathroom outside room. I will never go again on this hotel. Far of the town center.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! Our room categories are divided due to size and design. Whilst reading your review I realize that this might not have been clear to your group, otherwize you might have decided to opt for an upgrade. Should you decide to travel to Amsterdam again, please feel free to drop in so that we can give you a tour. Should you then chose to stay wth us again then you can chose your own room!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cool hotel in a beautifully converted building with remnants of its interesting history mixed in with modern, bold design ideas. Definitly unlike any chain. Staff were very friendly and there were lots of surprises: the sound of a hidden band drifted into the hall-like restaurant on Sunday lunchtime, I think they were on a mezzanine level high above. Interesting design and visual details, the large bedroom had a modular hinged wall that opened to reveal a shower. Direct tram connections to Central Station or the Museum district and there are several waterside bars and restaurants near by. Great stay

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Conrad, What a great review! Fantastic to read that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.