We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel you grow to love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hotel you grow to love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in a 3* room. The room was light and spacious with a great open plan shower/wet-room and an AMAZINGLY comfy big bed. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel, simply because of the price (we were inter railing so tried to avoid paying for luxuries) instead getting up, getting into the city and getting some food in town.

This crazy concept hotel is not to everyone's taste, but I personally loved its wacky charm. The bar/restaurant area was really comfy and nice to relax in after a day in the city.

In terms of location, it was perfect for us - as, staying for a decent chunk of time, the fact that it was further out from the main sights didn't matter. The number 26 or 10 tram takes you straight into the city and is a great way to take in the sights of Amsterdam. Also - a bit of respite from the hustle and bustle is welcome at the end of the day!

Food recommendations nearby: 'de Cantine', a sort of gastropub right next door, does great food with a local and friendly vibe. Similarly, Odessa, a restaurant on a boat just outside the main entrance also offers some great food for a fair price!

I would definitely recommend Lloyd Hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam, but would suggest to go for a 3* room minimum!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Olivia,
Thanks for the lovely review. I know what you mean about the beds....I recently decided to buy one of our beds, including all the bedding :-). Our beds are from Auping and there is a great story behind that choice; The Lloyd Hotel was originally built as a hotel by the Royal Dutch Shipping Company in1920. When we were renovating the Lloyd Hotel (about 10 years ago) we came across a lot of paper work from the 1920's, amoungst that paper work we found a packing slip from Auping for the beds. We immediately decided that we had to use the same supplier!
Next time you stay with us check with reception and someone will be able to show you our history exhibition, where we still have a copy of the packing slip ons display.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed a few nights here whilst on business. If you want old school Dutch, this is your place. Rooms are fantastic, high ceilings, huge beds and immaculate. Food is great, breakfast is typical continental style. Highly recommended. Staff very friendly and inviting, you get the feeling nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
What a great review, thanks! I am glad that you had a fantastic time and that we were able to help where necessary.
I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The receptionists were friendly and helpful, but many of the rooms are absolutely horrible. We changed rooms a couple of times... the last one was ok, but not more than expected for a hotel. No air-condition, and some of the rooms with almost no possibility to open the windows what so ever. Not at all a family hotel. The hotel has a strange feeling about it, like an old psychiatric inpatient housing. The restaurant was good, and the staff very friendly. Nearby restaurants were great! ok transportations possibilities with tram to the city center.

Room Tip: stay far far away from room nr 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
So sorry to read that the rooms initially didn't live up to your expectations! We have so many different rooms it isn't always easy to find the perfect room straight away. I agree that air conditioning would have been nice during the warm days we've had in August. In general we don't have many very warm days (unfortunately), so the choice to place air conditioning wasn't that difficult to make. We do have fans on request at reception.
It sounds like you were able to enjoy our terrace. We've just placed an an outside shower, so I hope this offered you some extra refreshment!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Clean, easily accessible via tram from Amsterdam central which is roughly a 10 minute ride. Right on the waterfront. Rooms are ok, common toilets/showers which are reasonably clean. Overall will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for letting us and other travellers know about your stay. Good to read that you were able to find your way around the city easily. The tram system can sometimes be a bit confusing, I hope we were able to help you out with travel cards at the front desk.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here just over a week ago in the 2 star room. It is a spacious room for what you pay and had a lovely double bed. There is no aircon so it can be a bit hot in the summer but you can open windows to get a draught through. The main thing about the room was the toilet and shower were at the other end and threre was just a screen covering them - it's fine for a couple.

The main disadvantage of the hotel is the distance from all the attractions. It's a minimum of 30 minutes walk to the city centre and then more to get to other places! Definitely hire a bike if you are staying here.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want a double bed or twin with the 2 star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the room we allocated to you. Having so many differently styled rooms, this can sometimes be a challenge! I agree that discovering Amsterdam by bike is the best option.
Hope to see you again in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's my 4th time here & I've stayed in 1*, 2*, 3*, 4* star rooms - & each time has been a great experience. I like the location, the staff are friendly & helpful. We hired bikes this time from the hotel which worked well. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It's great to hear that you had another great stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Let us know if you have already found a "favourite" room so that we can make sure to book that room again for you!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.