We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold reception. Unfounded hype. Last resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cold reception. Unfounded hype. Last resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I booked my hotel on the bus from Paris to Amsterdam. A tram ride away from central and next to the old port. Taxi is the only option for late nights. Pricey for a 1star room. However I had to work on a fixed budget. At the reception I was told about a 2 star available at double the price which I politely declined. Decor is a bit whacky and spooky. Our room won't lock from inside. Reception said they can't help. I had to remind them that they had a basement room where I got a free upgrade. On checkout I was charged the higher rate. I spent 20 mins explaining as the last person forgot to mention in the register. Finally got a refund after 3 days. Beds are comfy though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
What a shame that we weren't capable of offering you the level of service we are accustomed to giving all our guests! Our receptionists should know that it is possible to lock all our doors from the inside, safety is very important to us. I can fully understand your frustration that after changing rooms your invoice wasn't correct on check out. I am glad that we were able to sort the mishaps out. My appologies for the inconvenience. Hopefully you will chose to stay with us again so that we can convince you that the level of service you received was the exception and not the rule.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    389
    141
    84
    82
See reviews for
131
348
77
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed one night in the Lloyd hotel and it was fantastic! The staff in all areas of the hotel are friendly, efficient and interested in making your stay pleasant. I requested a room with a bath and we had a huge bath in a fun orange painted room. The food in the restaurant is excellent - we had a business dinner one night and an early breakfast before our flight home. The history of the hotel has been maintained with integrity but without compromising on comfort. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Easy to get to by tram and the staff are knowledgeable about getting to other destinations in the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for anything specific you require. The rooms are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad to read that you had such a good stay with us and that we were able to give you some insider information about the nice spots in Amsterdam. You definately stayed in one of our more quirky rooms! Having an orange room during the World Cup was good timing though... I hope to see you again when you next come to Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. It is a very nice and interesting hotel. Especially its history during the last decades. The rooms are clean. So is the restroom. Reception service is friendly and helpful. Besides the hotel is very close to the Centraal train station. Only two stations to go in each direction. Compared to some other hotels it is for quite moderate prices. When choosing to visit Amsterdam again I WILL take it again!!!

Room Tip: Take standard 2 stars room for a short stay. Absolutely satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Yulia,
It is so good to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you managed to find your way around the city with ease. I am glad that you were able to find some time to read up on our history. We are very pround to be able to house our hotel in a monumental building with such diverse history. Next time you visit us, we would be more than happy to give you a personal tour of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It's about a 30 min walk to Amsterdam Central train station, but if the weather's good then it's a nice walk along the river. I didn't take the tram but there's a stop a few mins away from the hotel. There are a couple of upmarket bars and restaurants in the close vicinity (it's a regenerated former docklands area, so feels quite trendy), as well as a supermarket over the road, so it's a good location as a base, and you can relax and unwind away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre.

The hotel itself has a wonderful central area with different lounges on different levels, and the whole building has quite an arty style. The reception is just a small desk in a corridor, so the entrance doesn't wow you, but you soon realise the building is quite special. I got a room upgrade which was a pleasant surprise and stayed in a 3* room. The staff were very friendly indeed. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
What a great review! It's good to read that you were able to discover the gems of the Eastern Docklands area. It is an area that some forget to put on their "places to see in Amsterdam" list, but definately worth while adventuring into. Next time you visit make sure to rent one of our bikes thats the best way to get around Amsterdam.
Thank you for you kind words about the feel of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a wonderful Easter 2014 in Lloyd Hotel. A very unusual hotel. Fascinating original story. Special interior. Great room with a harbour view. Nice beds. Good service, and all the help we needed. 2 min from the tram.

Room Tip: Give the hotell your details; what is your needs. We got a room with no door between the bathrom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us and were able to fully appreciate the hotel and its history.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose to stay in a 1 star room, and we got just that. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room, as a 1 star didn't have its own bathroom, which was not far down the hall, and also clean. The staff would see our confused faces and they were very friendly and quick to make sure we were on our way quickly.

Room Tip: 1 star rooms look like an old hospital room, (partially broken) tile floors and walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ariel,
Thanks for writing a review. We chose to keep the wording and signage in the hotel in Dutch, so I can imagine that it could have been a bit challenging to find the "badkamer" (bathroom). I am glad that we were able to point you in the right direction. Luckily there is a bathroom on every floor so you didn't have to wander too far!
For next time you travel to Amsterdam, you now know at least one important word in Dutch...
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The Lloyd was impressive, if you are looking for something out of the ordinary and enjoy top service. If you like the big chain hotels with no personality then don't stay here.

The rooms are quirky but we loved the location and the staff were great. Breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. I hope you have a fantastic time in the Hague and hopefully you will visit us again. Anne sends her love!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Volkshotel
#85 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#213 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#116 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.