We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose to stay in a 1 star room, and we got just that. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room, as a 1 star didn't have its own bathroom, which was not far down the hall, and also clean. The staff would see our confused faces and they were very friendly and quick to make sure we were on our way quickly.

Room Tip: 1 star rooms look like an old hospital room, (partially broken) tile floors and walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ariel,
Thanks for writing a review. We chose to keep the wording and signage in the hotel in Dutch, so I can imagine that it could have been a bit challenging to find the "badkamer" (bathroom). I am glad that we were able to point you in the right direction. Luckily there is a bathroom on every floor so you didn't have to wander too far!
For next time you travel to Amsterdam, you now know at least one important word in Dutch...
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Lloyd was impressive, if you are looking for something out of the ordinary and enjoy top service. If you like the big chain hotels with no personality then don't stay here.

The rooms are quirky but we loved the location and the staff were great. Breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. I hope you have a fantastic time in the Hague and hopefully you will visit us again. Anne sends her love!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is special, that is for sure.

My 2 star room was not nice at all. The shower in the middle of the room - freezing cold.

The bed and pillows was too soft and the quilt way too hot for June. No curtains so the sun will wake you up.

The room had no facilities - except the smallest TV I've seen since 1982.

Location not too great either. Best thing about the hotel is the spanish restaurant next door.which has great tapas.

Room Tip: Go for a 4 or 5 star room - my colleagues who were fortunate enough was happy with their (pricy) roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish that you had let us know at reception that you weren't happy with your room. We would have been more that happy to show you around and you could have chosen the room most suited! It is also never a problem to change the bedding if you would have preffered something lighter.
Hopefully you wil chose to stay with us again so that we have the opportunity to find the perfect room!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A wonderful hotel - friendly staff, went out of their way to provide me with an early check-in, and helped me when I left my laptop in the room at check-out! Highly recommended. The area is accessible and although a bit quiet, a very nice pub and restaurant just across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Daniel,
I am so glad that we were able to help in returning your laptop, I would be lost with out mine!
I will let our reception know that your laptop reached you, they will be relieved! Hope to see you again on your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel is super retro very chic very and minimalistic. Way better than staying downtown Amsterdam where all the noise is at. Roest bar next to the hotel is a must visit. Definitely one of the best bars I have been gone out to. Also super alternative/hipster much like Lloyd hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for your great comments! I am so glad that you understand our concept and that you liked the neighboorhood. Amsterdam East is really near us and some some great "off the beaten track" spots too! Please make sure to ask us for tips on your next stay.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Lloyd 6 times and I absolutely love it! You can choose between 1 and 5 star rooms, most of them being completely unique and modern. A wonderful change from cookie cutter rooms. The location is away from city bustle and only a short tram ride to Central Station or other spots in the heart of Amsterdam (the tram being a block away). The staff is always incredibly cordial and helpful in any way they can be. The restaurant serves excellent meals in a beautifully sunlit room as well as an outside patio area. If you're looking for a unique and enjoyable stay in Amsterdam, I would highly recommend The Lloyd!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel's concept of 1 to 5 star rooms all in the one establishment leads to an interesting and enjoyable atmosphere, with quite a mixed set of customers in age and approach to travel. It also gives you options. I had booked a 2 star room, found it a little cramped and upgraded to a 3 star room and was delighted with the new room, particularly its quirky architectural solution to fitting a good bathroom in to the existing space.

The internal and outdoor eating areas are delightful and the food is excellent without being expensive. It's a 20-30 minute walk to the city but easy access to trams and buses and the walk itself is great.

Room Tip: Go for the 3 star room. Worth the difference in price over the 2 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Jenny,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that we were able to find the perfect room for you! We only meet our guests on arrival, so it isn't always an easy task to fit the right room to each guest without knowing their tastes. So it always helps when our guests let us know what they are hoping for.
I hope that you chose to stay with us again if you decide to tour Europe again!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.