We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peculiar and curious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“peculiar and curious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Usually we stay in hotels of a higher level in the center of the city. However, the trip was a budget, so we choose this hotel. Uniquely odious hotel. We are not in habit these days of the common bathroom on the floor, although extremely clean! Our room was so tiny, that it was a little more wide than a bed, standing in it. Actually if it were my husband with me, he couldn't feel himself comfortable in there. The location is not bad, quite close to the Central station, views of the canal is great. In general, for those who chose a travel budget, I recommend, at least for the first opinion!

Room Tip: don't forget to question which version of the toilet and the bathroom you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to tell us about your experience while staying in a 1* room. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you appreciated the clean bathroom. We hope to welcome you at the Lloyd Hotel again.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    295
    118
    74
    71
See reviews for
98
261
58
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We were slightley skeptical about staying here after reading some of the reviews on here, but in all honesty its completely fine! Short distance into central amsterdam- about €5.60 on tram for 1 hour, i would reccommend spending €7.50 for 24hours if your planning on going back and forth to get changed for evening etc. or you can get a taxi for around €15! The hotel itself, we did have to laugh when we walked into our room, well bathroom! Literally opened the door and bang there was the toilet! Then leads into bedroom which was quite small considering we we upgraded to a 2* for an extra €100 but we only upgraded because i wasnt too keen on the shared bathroom situation. The bar staff were lovely, friendly and always happy to help! Basically to some it all up- its fine to stay here, a cleaner comes daily and makes bed etc, its pricey but so is everywhere else!, there is no kettle etc in your room but go up to very top floor and there are facillities there. Dont judge this hotel from all the bad reviews because a lot of people over exaggerate!!! We were very happy customers :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Though on the 3rd floor I never found the lift but it didn't matter. The stairways to nowhere gave me a chance to discover this amazing and beautifully preserved building.
Restaurant serves an imaginative menu, I had good Monkfish and breakfasts (though dear for a buffet @€15) were enjoyable.
My room 318 had a lot of wasted space and few hangers in two double wardrobes.
But you star at Lloyd for atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed reading about your appreciation of the Lloyd Hotel’s history and building, as well as your appreciation for our menu. We do have an elevator, which we will be happy to show you if you choose to stay with us again. We hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is fabulous! Wonderful exterior and interior, great design, cosy living room feel to it with couches and rugs in one corner of the restaurant. Just beautiful, lots of character. The rooms are all unique and have great design features. Our beds were too warm for the time of year, woke up all sweaty. But there's a shower, so... The breakfast buffet is very costly but insanely nice. We decided to go for it after all, because it looked so good. Would absolutely book here again! Since all the rooms are different, let the personnel know if there's something you don't feel comfortabel with. They are super nice and will find another room for you with different features.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if you're NOT a couple, many rooms have a bath or shower facilities without p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Simone,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you would like to stay with us again in the future. Furthermore, we are happy to read that the staff treated you so well. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We (2 Adults and 2 Toddlers ages 2 + 1) stayed at the Lloyd hotel in room 607 which is one of the 5 Star suites, this room has a bath in the middle of the room, which the toddlers loved! and a swing which we had to take down to stop accidents.... The view of the clock tower in the morning is also very nice and the surrounding area was also very pleasant. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable beds I have laid in! So much so I think we need to change our mattress at home.
For a “5" star room we were a bit disappointed with the TV, lack of in room tea and coffee making facilities (or bigger cups at the on floor facilities would have been nice) and a lock on the bathroom would have been handy to stop little hands entering while you are trying to have a shower. If you want luxury surrounding this might not be for you. These were only minor things on an otherwise excellent stay.
There is some noise from outside from the trams and bars but no more then expected, and we had no problems with us or the toddlers sleeping through the night. I am quite glad we were out from the centre a bit as I believe it would have been noisier further in town.
The Hotel is a 20min walk with a pram from central station, or a quick tram ride, the I Amsterdam card was well worth buying for attractions and transport we used, saved at least 30 Euros per person.
The food from the Hotels restaurant was lovely, we really enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast was also great.
The hotel staff were very helpful and understood how much of a handful 2 toddlers can be and was very patient with us at times, the staff made sure that 2 baby beds were in the room and also a baby bath just little things that make you feel welcome. They were also very helpful with my questions over Facebook and responded very quickly.

In all a great stay at the hotel, we wouldn’t hesitate to use them again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel tries to sell a minimum of comfort and atmosphere as a "design experience". I got a room on the 6th floor that felt like a prison cell: small, cold, no decoration, worn furniture, a tiny tv set from around 1979 (vintage, I assume), no curtains, cables and pipes, concrete floor, poor lightning, no minibar, no water cooker/coffee, no safe, no,wardrobe, .... . Only two features were really top class: the bed was super comfortable and the free wifi was fast and immediately accessible (no password, ...).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Pascal,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to read that you thought the bed and the fast Wi-Fi network was top class. Communal tea and coffee facilities are available on the 6th floor. Guests are welcome to use the safes located on the ground floor. We regret not making these opportunities clearer to you during your stay. The Lloyd Hotel attracts a very diverse clientele, therefore none of the rooms are the same – each of them are entirely unique. We understand that you may have better enjoyed one of our other rooms. We are always happy to reallocate guests to other rooms if they are available. We hope to welcome you again in the future in a room you will surely love.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel room was very creative and interesting, and the building itself is historic as well. It lacks unique ambience in the public area though, and the water in the room did not go down so well. Considering that our shower is IN the room (no separation between the shower and the bedroom), the water from the shower in the middle of the floor was a little inconvenient. But overall, the location was great, and the hotel was definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to tell us about your stay. We understand the inconvenience that the drain of your shower might have caused. We greatly appreciate it if you could notify us in which room you stayed so we can resolve this immediately. Please contact us again if you would like to stay with us in the future. We will make sure you will experience one of our different rooms with a different bathroom design.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.