We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel room was very creative and interesting, and the building itself is historic as well. It lacks unique ambience in the public area though, and the water in the room did not go down so well. Considering that our shower is IN the room (no separation between the shower and the bedroom), the water from the shower in the middle of the floor was a little inconvenient. But overall, the location was great, and the hotel was definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to tell us about your stay. We understand the inconvenience that the drain of your shower might have caused. We greatly appreciate it if you could notify us in which room you stayed so we can resolve this immediately. Please contact us again if you would like to stay with us in the future. We will make sure you will experience one of our different rooms with a different bathroom design.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    283
    112
    70
    71
See reviews for
96
243
56
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel has quite the history and quirkiness that we like about the Dutch! This hotel is nothing different. Me and my friend went here and went for a 2 star room. We got the one with the funky shower in the middle of the room....for a couple, great! For two friends, not so great. So we asked for another room and got one! Easy peasy! The room was clean, quirky and the beds massively comfortable. Clearly a place for people who want to go to Amsterdam to enjoy the city, not to go there for a hen party. Amsterdam Centraal is about 10 minutes away with the tram and the this little bit of the city had some nice cafes, bars, little shops and a grocery shop (Albert Heijn). We were being a bit tight with our money and bought foot at Albert Heijn and made lunchboxes.

The hotel itself has an expensive breakfast but the food there is actually really good and the staff are extremely helpful. There's also free coffee and tea on each floor, in the hallway, which makes up for there not being a kettle. I enjoyed my stay immensely and I will be returning there!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with separate bathroom if you are a bit shy and asking for a 2 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Anne,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had a really lovely time staying at the Lloyd Hotel. It was really easy to find from the tram stop as you can see the hotel clearly from the stop both day and night. About a minute walk.

We stayed on the 4th floor in one of the comfort double rooms. Quite a big room with open shower and sink (toilet is separate with a door to close!). However, we could have had a fully private bathroom if we'd wanted. There was also a table and chairs in there and a funky coat stand!

The corridors outside did echo a bit but we didn't find there to be any problem with noise. The bed was really comfy and everything was super clean.

We really loved the design of the hotel, particularly the central section with little art displays and the library. The restaurant/bar was really relaxed and comfortable. We ate there twice and food was reasonable in price and really tasty. On one of the nights we were there, there was a gypsy orchestra playing. They were great and there were a lovely mix of people there of all ages which made everything feel really inclusive. They organise a lot of lovely events there and it might be worth ringing ahead to see what's on if you're planning a visit.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and were really welcoming. All in all a good stay and I'd certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Beth,
Thank you very much for your review. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know that our staff and the quality of our food were very much appreciated by you. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

1st time in Amsterdam and me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights...WHAT A GREAT HOTEL!! staff friendly and helpful (they loved our Manchester accents!!), the rooms clean, had to share the bathroom/toilet faculties (this was for 1 star accommodation and we didn't have a problem waiting to use them), amazing building with it's own exhibition (within a stair way!) and great location away from the busy and noisy city centre!! WILL BOOK AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review! It makes us very happy to read that you appreciated our ongoing exhibition and that the staff treated you so well.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay in for a weekend in Amsterdam! Amsterdam is another review in itself... Me and my partner came here with some friends and we didn't really know what to expect with mixed reviews, you have to be very open minded to enjoy this hotel, there is so mmuch history and culture to this hotel and has kept some of the historic pictures and parts of the hotel. However, being a 1 to 5 star hotel is a bit confusing because I feel there should be the basic hotel facilities in every room! The rooms are very strange indeed, and we're cleaned every day we were there to a good standard with fresh towels, staff were also very lovely and so so helpful We had a very very good time I'm Amsterdam and will definitely be returning to this hotel. Brilliant... And thanks to all the staff at the Lloyd hotel for a great weekend :-) x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the culture and history of the Lloyd Hotel, as well as our wonderful staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked and 2* but upgraded to 3* room. I recommend 3* room because they are bigger and more practical. The shower was behind a large door and a bit too much design and little functionality. Hot water + coffee in the corridor, but a bit difficult to find.

Room Tip: Choose a 3 star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please contact us directly if you would like to try one of our other bathroom designs in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Lloyd hotel never disappoints, this was our 4th visit. A place full of character (and characters!) A little out of the way but not a long walk from Centraal. There is always the tram service which has a stop close to the hotel if your legs aren't up to the walk after a long day sightseeing. Restaurant choice a little limited, but great food. We will be there again this year - can't wait!

Room Tip: Room Price dictates which are the best rooms, lots of people stay here on a limited budget and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lloyd Hotel for the 4th time. It is very nice to read that you enjoy the hotel and the many wonderful characters. We are looking forward to your 5th visit!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.