We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike any other hotel…to be experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lloyd Picnic Special
Ranked #127 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unlike any other hotel…to be experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The building had a Charles Rennie Mackintosh feel to it, slightly institutional but relaxed, quirky and welcoming.
Breakfast was good. Dinner was excellent. We stayed in the 2 star room which was exactly what we needed, basic, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    377
    139
    80
    82
See reviews for
125
335
77
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Tram 26 from Central Station - only a few stops. An unexpected and pleasant experience - this is not a "hotel" as one normally expects, but an interesting slice of history and I recommend walking up the stairs and to study the picture gallery. My room 524 was a dream! I certainly come again!

Jan Harlan

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms - breakfast and food in general was excellent - I can't say a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Lloyd Hotel is an innovative concept that offers the choice for a 1 to 5 star hotel room. Thanks to this you get a nice mix of people, especially in the lobby/restaurant - which also offers a variety of prices on the menu. When I was there there were musicians (with cool 1980s Mercedeses), bankers, teachers, artists: a pretty cool mix. The lobby is nice for chilling out, with big couches, a huge Christmas tree (when I was there) and really good apple pie. What I especially like, in addition to the mix of people, is the environment and the heritage of the building. When you walk around the KNSM island and IJ shore and check our the combination of old and modern buildings you get an idea what it was like here with ships arriving from other continents during the 19th century. The Lloyd hotel was a waiting place for passengers for ships that left only a couple times a month. It also served as a prison before being turned into this hip hotel. Located close to the city centre, central station and the zoo it offers a nice stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you enjoy a place that's unlike any other, then this is your hotel. Renovated from a youth prison, the place is filled with interesting and unusual design features throughout the building, from the stairs that lead to some floors but not others, to the inside stairway that connects several whimsically decorated meeting rooms that are perfect for exploring or just flopping down in. Be sure to sit on one of the "concrete" benches in he hall.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room tat meets your bathroom needs (ie:some rooms have shared baths, some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at the Lloyds on a business trip. Rather than moving around town I needed some meeting places and Lloyd offered ample space for meetings. The spacious center structure around and above the dining facility was excellent to conduct meetings.

Very conveniently located in Amsterdam and great access to the airport. I did not stay in the 1-2 * rooms so I can not speak for them but my room was very funky (no closet nor hooks/places to hang my coats) and quite pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The majority of the hotels that I stay at are rather dull and predictable. The Lloyd Hotel is decidedly different and is worth experiencing once even if it's not your cup of tea. I've stayed there twice in 2013 - once in a 4* room and just recently in a 5* room. This is not the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok but it has its own charms and fascinations. Both rooms I stayed in were very large and had interesting views of this up and coming area of Amsterdam. They both had the rather distressed floors and walls that you get in converted buildings as well as wonderful snug bedding and duvets that are so good that I bought one for use at home. The rooms have unusual features - both rooms I stayed in were long and had unconventional layouts for the bathroom, bedroom and study area. The 5* room had a hammock hung between pillars. Breakfast (€17.50) is excellent and the restaurant is one of the feature spaces of the hotel. The city centre is not far away - it's about €13 by taxi to the main railway station, for example. My advice is take a good look at the hotel's website and see if it looks promising. This is a unique hotel and it provides an opportunity to engage with part of the city's history and culture.

Room Tip: Look at the website before you book - this is not a typical hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#90 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#207 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#115 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.